We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Britannia Hotel Birmingham
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,282 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,212: English reviews
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone... cards to get into room didnt work so had to go back down reception at least 5 times to even get into our room!! Freezing cold in our room as window didnt close properly and looked like it was about to fall out! Changed rooms and it was just as bad, beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank branger1
Oswestry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This place is poor to average Im afraid. The room I was in had no windows at all. Felt very claustrophobic! Saw a rat in the bar area. I cant say anything positive apart from its right in the city centre. Will I stay here again. Erm no! Not on your nelly!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MB123England
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel. As I would advise any guest(s) we do have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them at any time during your stay, they would have been able to address any issues first hand allowing you to have a more comfortable...

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Only negatives for this stay was customer service and smell on the landings. We asked about dinner and was told it was between 7-9 then when we got to the restaurant was told no restaurant service. Wasted time waiting then had to put coats on to venture out! The room was ok and warm right in heart of the German...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Simondo44
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am sorry on the evening of your stay that you were unable to use the restaurant. I can assure you that when you were told by reception that the restaurant would be open, they would not have known that this would not be the case and would not have advised you otherwise. Regards

Scotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This hotel wasn't cheap. Akin to the price of a nearby 4* hotel. The cramped and dingy reception area should give you advanced warning of what to expect in the rooms The room was an adequate size , the bed linen clean . The bed itself however felt like the mattress itself was screaming to be put in the waste...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank camster66
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel. As I would advise any guest(s) we do have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them at any time during your stay, they would have been able to address any issues first hand allowing you to have a more comfortable...

Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

It beggars belief that this place runs as a hotel. The floor I stayed on stank of smoke, my room stank of smoke, the general area toilets were out of order, the staff were unable to speak English, it was expensive and I was charged extra to pay by credit card. This is the most dilapidated and run-down hotel and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank str0mmy
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel. We do have a small number of rooms in the hotel where smoking is permitted, signage is displayed within the reception area and guests are advised on check in if these rooms are the only ones available at the time of arrival, therefore guests can make...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Arrived at this hotel to find it was not near the venue as highlighted. I had been placed in a 'smoking room' and asked to be moved. At the second room there was ice on the inside of the windows and the room was freezing cold. During the night the curtains that were held up by a single screw fell...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank carleneamos
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

I am sorry to see that there are some in accuracies within this review as it was not yourself who stayed with is at the hotel. Fortunately following the guests own arrival at the hotel, we were able to move him into another room type which was more suitable for him. We do have staff on duty 24 hours per...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Ridiculously overpriced for the state of the hotel. Wallpaper peeling off walls 2 singles beds pushed together Bathroom was filthy. In desperate need of a full refurbishment room was dark dingey and very grubby. Absolute rip off for the quality of hotel - would advise to stay elsewhere for value for money could of had a lovely hotel in city...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
Birmbritannia, Front Office Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel. As I would advise any guest(s) we do have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them at any time during your stay, they would have been able to address any issues first hand allowing you to have a more comfortable...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

stayed at this hotel on Saturday 3d dec,terrible terrible place.our room was horrible,dirty and smelly,the bed was uncomfortable,the quilt was paper thin and the rug by the bed looked more like a door mat.The bathroom was dated,hair in the bath,the flush packed in next morning and we had one hand towel and one bath towel between us.this hotel should be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathy P
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest Please accept my sincere apologies for any problems encountered at the hotel. As I would advise any guest(s) we do have a manager on duty 24 hours per day and had you approached them at any time during your stay, they would have been able to address any issues first hand allowing you to have a more comfortable...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for a weekend having found that this was pretty much the only centrally located hotel with availability. Downstairs the hotel looks nice. Fantastic location, slap bang in the middle of New Street, 3 minutes walk from the station. Sadly our first bad experience was hearing a female member of staff drop the F bomb from the office behind...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jacki B
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to read that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations All comments, both good and bad are discussed with the relevant departmental managers as it is only through receiving feedback from guests that we are able to monitor the level of service we provide thus enabling us to make improvements where...

Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived at check in...there was two members of staff who was checking ppl in..we went to our room and was big enough.and clean...everything you expect tea making facilities...but there was only a few coffee sachets and milk...we stitched on the lights near the door and the TV switched off. There wasn't any spare pillows in the room..

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sharon e
Birmbritannia, General Manager at Britannia Hotel Birmingham, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am sorry to read that certain aspects of the hotel did not meet with your expectations All comments, both good and bad are discussed with the relevant departmental managers as it is only through receiving feedback from guests that we are able to monitor the level of service we provide thus enabling us to make improvements where...

647 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (623)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (191)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (38)
Viewed
View from Room (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
1:34
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (307)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#101 of 141 in Birmingham
465 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#30 of 141 in Birmingham
2,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Nitenite Birmingham
Nitenite Birmingham
#55 of 141 in Birmingham
990 reviews
Ladywood
Hotel ibis budget Birmingham Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Britannia Hotel Birmingham is situated in the very heart of Birmingham city centre. The famous Bullring shopping mall is within walking distance and Primark and other high street stores are right next door to the hotel. The hotel's 214 en-suite bedrooms are tastefully furnished, all with tea and coffee making facilities, ideal for cost effective city centre accommodation. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Britannia Hotel Birmingham

Address: New Street, Birmingham B2 4RX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $57 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannia Hotel Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Britannia Hotel Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Birmingham Britannia Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
2 months ago
London, United Kingdom
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Birmingham
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Britannia Hotel Birmingham staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Book somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles 109kevanw, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“A good all round dissapointment”
 of 5 bubbles 251tw, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Unless there is nowhere else to stay in Birmingham , be very wary of what you are booking. Go anywhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles Juggler123, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Stay Away!!!”
  • The last tenants knickers left hanging
  • No emergency instructions
  • Single mattresses in a double room
  • Ammonia
 of 5 bubbles CLions, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room away from the front of the hotel, as the shopping area is exceptionally loud.”
 of 5 bubbles swarve247, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay