We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,398 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,356: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2016

The hotel is undergoing significant building work which affects the entrance, lobby, and dining areas. The work is causing several issues: To get from the car park behind the hotel to the entrance is a walk round the block of about 400 yards. There is nowhere near the entrance to drop off passengers and luggage. The breakfast room is very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralDewey
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear AdmiralDewey, Thank you for sharing your thoughts about our hotel. We rely on guest feedback as this will allow us to improve wherever possible. Our hotel is committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities and I am truly sorry for the disturbance caused by the renovations that prevented you from having a pleasant stay....

Nottingham
Reviewed 8 March 2016

We stayed in room 124 on Friday night .We didn't know about the building work going on but it wouldn't necessarily have stopped us from booking as we we chose it because of the location close to Alexandra theatre. The room was lovely , light and spacious and bathroom was nice . However it got very cold by early evening...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NottinghamJeF55
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear NottinghamJeF55, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with your feedback. I sincerely apologize if you may have experienced any inconvenience with our air conditioning system, bar services, the noise levels and breakfast area. I would have preferred you had a more enjoyable stay. Nevertheless, I truly appreciate your comments. Rest assured that it is in our...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 March 2016

Now I liked this hotel (past tense) OK, bit dated but overall OK and location wise, great if you're a train traveller. In my case VERY close to the offices I attend so overall should be good? NOT!!!! The first surprise was the entrance I normally use (closest to the station) was blocked off for refurbishment - OK no big...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith W
Fethi H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Keith W. Thank you for your review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

I stopped here overnight yesterday for a work function. I'll start with the positives which are as follows; the room is clean and the reception staff are friendly and polite. The negatives are that there is one lift for several floors as the other is out of order. The dining room and the bar is in one room which is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carl S
JanaGo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Carl S, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. If you wish to discuss your experience with in details, please do not hesitate to contact hotel directly and ask for...

Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2016

Reception very good, we were allowed to book in an hour early. However, en route to bedroom very noticeable that carpets were very worn and stained as they were in the bedroom, top clean only. Room very cold on arrival until I figured out how to work the outdated noisy heating system. Behind wooden shutters at the window very dirty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Deirdre W
JanaGo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Deirdre W, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions and temporary bar area. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. If you wish to discuss your experience with us, please do not...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 February 2016

I managed to get a good discount on a overnight business stay in the Holiday Inn, but the standard matched the price unfortunately. The room was in very average condition and the service i received lack-lustre, but i did not really expect much else from a chain hotel. Overall, a forgettable experience

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sassy2Lil
JanaGo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Sassy2Lil, Thank you for your candid review. We apologize that your recent stay did not meet expectations. We appreciate your comments and will share these with our team so that we can continue to improve our services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience....

Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Arrived at 2130, Restaurant closed. Bar menu poor. Room on 7th floor with one lift out of order had to wait 10 minutes! Room is a shoe box, dirty, very smelly and probably has not had fresh air for months as right on the front of hotel on busy and noisy road. Tried to open window and almost fell out!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil H
JanaGo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Phil H, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the disturbance you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. Should you wish to discuss your experience with us, do not hesitate to contact hotel directly...

Cardiff, Wales
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The exterior of the building gives a bad first impression - it's ugly and very scruffy around the edges (although to be fair it appeared to be under renovation). Once you get inside everything's fine. Check-in was efficient. Room 104 was very clean and spacious and had all the facilities that you'd want. The decor is standard chain hotel style....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rich J
JanaGo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Rich J, Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. Sincerely, Jana G Assistant Lobby Manager

Reviewed 23 February 2016

Hotel is being renovated. Don't go there if you are disabled, it is a nightmare. No proper entrance. Only one lift in operation and no toilets in the restaurant. Sent a feedback form and hope they read my comments.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janedingdong59
JanaGo, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear janedingdong59, Thank you for your feedback. We understand and apologize for the inconvenience caused by the construction. We are currently working to make enhancements to deliver a more comfortable stay for all of our guests. Should you wish to discuss your experience with us, please call hotel directly and ask for duty manager. We hope for the opportunity to...

Hinckley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 February 2016

My partner & I spent one night here as we were in Birmingham for a concert. We were given a room on one of the top floors which meant we had to use the lifts, as we weren't able to figure out where the stairs to the floors were as they weren't sign posted at all which isn't good for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte S
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte S, Thank you for being one of our valued guests and taking the time to leave feedback about your stay. We appreciate that you have regarded our staff friendly. However, we are very sorry you did not experience an exemplary hotel stay due to the slow elevators, noise issues and cigarette smoke in the room. Please know that...

325 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (278)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (102)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Other (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (47)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Comfort Inn Birmingham
#92 of 115 in Birmingham
483 reviews
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Birmingham
#21 of 115 in Birmingham
3,319 reviews
Ladywood
pentahotel Birmingham
pentahotel Birmingham
#12 of 115 in Birmingham
2,184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A modern 3-star Hotel located in the Smallbrook Queensway area of Birmingham. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre

Address: Smallbrook Queensway | Birmingham City Centre, Birmingham B5 4EW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $112 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 280
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn City Centre Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#32 Family Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Birmingham City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any of the executive rooms are well worth the small increase in room rate.”
 of 5 bubbles DUpstone90, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If a light sleeper avoid rooms facing main road”
 of 5 bubbles moiraj327, 10 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for low floor, lifts can be busy”
 of 5 bubbles StanleyBumfluff1, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“No comment.”
 of 5 bubbles johnhE356ST, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms have a better view”
 of 5 bubbles christophersawyer, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5