We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
77 Caroline Street, Birmingham B3 1UG England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (286)
360
Panoramas (7)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 26/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Updated 26/05/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#41 of 129 hotels in Birmingham
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Bloc hotel is located in Birmingham's Jewellery Quarter. The village atmosphere created by its cafes-bars and restaurants is complemented by the business-shopping-arts and sports facilities that are also on its doorstep. We have taken loose inspiration from Japanese pod style hotels which means much larger rooms more akin to a cabin on a luxury yacht with finishes and fittings to match. The rooms are equipped with a King Size Double Bed-luxurious linen-climate control-wet room with monsoon drench shower-Samsung 42inch led flat screen TV and high speed WIFI. Birmingham is of course a centrally located travel hub and for many of our visitors that will be the most important factor in just how quickly and conveniently they can access the motorway network-national rail and international flights.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Street parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Taxi service
24-hour security
Baggage storage
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Wifi
Non-smoking hotel
Show more
Room features
Allergy-free room
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Centrally Located
Languages Spoken
English, Russian, Spanish, Latvian and 2 more
1211Reviews23Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 484
  • 434
  • 185
  • 55
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Paul W wrote a review Dec 2021
3 contributions
Stayed over 1 night to attend a work event in the city. I received an unexpected upgrade to apartment, and was very happy with the room, and it's mini kitchen etc. The room was very quiet, barely heard anything while I was there. The staff were extremely pleasant and professional, and the covid measures were also good. I know some of the rooms are small, but when you are there to sleep and base yourself in the city for a short stay, they are just the job. My colleagues did have the smaller rooms, and all said they were adequate for their needs. Relatively cheap, central, clean and quiet. Job done
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Seymour wrote a review Mar 2020
Woodbridge, United Kingdom50 contributions43 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
We have stayed at the Bloc on several occasions. The pod style hotel is superbly located and is clean and well run. Sensibly priced and highly recommended. There are plenty of places for food and it is a short walk to the city centre.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Connor, Guest Services / Front Office at Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Dear seymour63, Thank you so much or a great review. I'm so pleased you love the brand and that you've found we have struck that balance between pricing and value- that's really important to us. With your high recommendations I do hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you and any of your friends and family back to Bloc soon :) Kind Regards, The Guest Experience Team
Read more
London, United Kingdom446 contributions147 helpful votes
The room looks very well online but the room was so so small. There was a bed squashed between walls. No space to move around. Very poor designed room. I couldn’t breathe inside the room easily. Housekeeping is also not good. Asked couple of times to have new towels but no response on time. There is also no cafe or eatery on site. The nearest about 20 min. away
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Connor, Owner at Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Responded 5 weeks ago
Hi there, thanks for letting us have this feedback. Our standard rooms are very compact, all the photos on the website show them exactly as they are, also included are dimensions for the room. You booked one of our very budget-friendly compact Vista rooms, we also have bigger rooms with more amenities, take a look at our Apartment rooms for example, it sounds as if one of those may have been more to your taste. You're right there aren't any food and beverage facilities on site except for the hot drinks vending machine but we're right in the middle of the busy St Paul's area where there are still (in spite of Covid), a lot of good cafes and eateries. There are some only a minute or two away from us, the Reception team's always happy to advise. Apologies if the Housekeeping team was slow to get back to you with fresh towels, I'll be following this up as we really do want all our guests to be happy with the service they receive here. I'm sorry you didn't love your stay at Bloc, if you're ever thinking of coming back, contact me at guestrelations@blochotels.com first and I'll do what I can to make your stay a better one. All the best Sarah I hope we'll have the chance to welcome you back to Bloc again. Best wishes Sarah
Read more
jamesjeffery1 wrote a review Dec 2021
Coalville, United Kingdom5 contributions
Room was bijou but adequate. Overpriced for what is offered. Wet room means wet feet after taking a shower if you need to re-enter. Comms was terrible, never-ending up-selling right until my stay and repetitive 10,000 word essay messages which masked an important detail about my stay, which cost me money. Annoying. Won't be visiting again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Bring flip-flops and a Costa if you're on a budget
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Connor, Owner at Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Responded 5 weeks ago
Thanks for your comments in this review. I'm sorry you thought what we offer is 'over-priced'. Rooms are available from just £69 which we're sure represents good value for money in our great location in St Paul's. You're right about the wet room, after a shower the floor will be wet until it dries naturally but you can put a towel on the floor to avoid this if you'd prefer. We're always happy to let you have extra towels for this. Thanks for alerting us to the fact you felt you received too much pre-stay communication from us, this is of real concern and we're actively looking into it. I'm so sorry you won't be back to stay again but you'll always be welcome should you change your mind. With best wishes Sarah
Read more
Fi06 wrote a review Dec 2021
4 contributions3 helpful votes
This is perfect for a 10 min walk to centre of Birmingham or a two minute walk to the jewelry quarter. We had an apartment, not as big as it sounds more like a large suite. Sink, fridge, cutlery and delph for 2, dining table and chairs, 2 seater sofa, tv in living room.King size bed, TV in bedroom. Also touch screen remote in both rooms to control heating, lighting, TV. Also one handheld remote control for TV. Bijou toilet/shower room. Lovely shower!! Great helpful staff, 24 hour reception.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: The hotel has a discounted car park behind their building.
See more room tips
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sarah O'Connor, Owner at Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Responded 7 Dec 2021
Dear Fi I'm so pleased you had such a good stay with us here. We're in a great location for access to the City Centre without being smack bang in the middle of it. The St Paul's area where we are is a bit quirkier and quieter. It's also good to know that the Apartment room was just what you needed, it's our most spacious room type so ideal for a weekend or longer. Thanks for mentioning our 'great helpful staff', I'll pass your lovely compliment back to the team. Very much look forward to welcoming you back to Bloc in the future. All best wishes Sarah
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$54 - US$130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWest MidlandsBirminghamLadywood
NUMBER OF ROOMS
105
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Bloc Hotel Birmingham
Which popular attractions are close to Bloc Hotel Birmingham?
Nearby attractions include Clue HQ - The Live Escape Game (0.4 km), Bar Ikigai (0.3 km), and Escape Reality (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Bloc Hotel Birmingham?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, reduced mobility rooms, and baggage storage.
Which room amenities are available at Bloc Hotel Birmingham?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and blackout curtains.
Is parking available at Bloc Hotel Birmingham?
Yes, paid public parking nearby and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Bloc Hotel Birmingham?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Wilderness, Restaurant Folium, and 24 Carat Bistro.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Bloc Hotel Birmingham?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, Russian, Portuguese, Polish, and Latvian.
Are there any historical sites close to Bloc Hotel Birmingham?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Birmingham Back to Backs (1.5 km), Steelhouse Lane Lock-up (0.8 km), and Winterbourne House and Garden (4.0 km).
Is Bloc Hotel Birmingham accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.