We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

986 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 966: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC
 Click to rate
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

I stayed 1 night for business nearby. Hotel is modern, clean and comfortable. Wifi was good quality. Plenty of parking but daily charge is quite expensive. Decent pub next door for beer& food. Breakfast was free and a better variety than normal in HI Express hotels.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank The_Rochdalien
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon the_Rochdalien Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are delighted to see the location of the hotel suited your needs and that you enjoyed breakfast the following day. We are also thrilled to see you made use of the free WiFi at the hotel. We look forward to seeing...

Hereford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed with my family for 2 nights when going to the Genting. Was very impressed. The room was spotless and well maintained. The staff were very friendly. The hotel is located easily for all the amenities. There is a pub right next door to the hotel. Was very impressed will definitely be going back when going to the NEC again

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nuge11
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Nuge11 Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed different aspects from your staff, from the staff members to the cleanliness of the bedroom. We are also delighted that our hotel location was perfect for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel was selected as a park and stay in respect of a family holiday to Tenerife and turned out to be exactly what we required. The rooms are comfortable, car parking is on site and part of the package and it is only a £7.50 taxi ride to the airport. An overnight stay and 8 days parking cost about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank paulthered2016
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Paulthered2016, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see you enjoyed your overall stay here with us and that you felt that parking at the hotel was significant. We look forward to seeing you again soon Many Thanks Jamie-Jordan Guest service Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a mad week. Black Sabbath meet and greet on 29th January at the 02 London. Back again on 31st January at the 02 with 'normal tickets'. With both shows being superb and our credit cards already suffering, Mrs. Electric suddenly decided that we were going to see them AGAIN at their final ever show at the Genting arena...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Electricwarrior
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon ElectricWarrior, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see from the moment you checked into the hotel to the moment you left we made you feel welcome at the hotel, We are also delighted to see the bacon on the breakfast menu made you feel happy...

Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly & helpful receptionists, nothing was to much trouble. Breakfast was nice and again the people working in the restaurant were very friendly. Close enough to walk to the NEC. Room very clean and tidy on arrival and the bed was comfortable. Would recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank evilc72
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Evilc72, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see you was welcomed into the hotel and that you enjoyed breakfast with us in the morning, We look forward to seeing you again soon Many Thanks Jamie-Jordan Guest service Manager

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

57 minute wait for chorizo pasta alfredo (with non-existent chorizo) and what turned out to be chicken fillets covered in BBQ sauce and cheese (Chicken New Yorker!) with wilted salad, cold chips on a cold plate. We will certainly not be having dinner here again. There was hardly anyone in the restaurant and apparently the chef didn't realise that we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lozzat66
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Lozzat66, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We apologise that you was firstly not informed of any wait on food whilst dining in our restaurant, we also apologise that you had to wait up to an hour for your meal. We will investigate this further to see what happening...

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

We stayed over for Crufts as nice and easy access to the show. We have stayed at the hotel before but we were very disappointed with the food served at the bar in the Sunday evening, this was actually noted as the gentleman saw how much food was left on the plates. I did actually email the hotel but no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy D
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Dorothy D, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see you stayed with us again over the crufts period, however we apologise that you feel your evening meal was not to standards. We will investigate this further to see what happened on that evening. We also...

Reviewed 19 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed here last night whilst seeing Russell Howard at the Genting Arena. We went into Birmingham in the afternoon, taxi to Birmingham International train station was £5 and the train into the city was less than £10 for two of us. Taxi back from Genting Arena to hotel after the show was about £5 again. Good standard and what you'd...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Kirsty F, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay here with us, and that you found your stay a good standards. We apologise you feel disappointed when paying for car parking, however due to the location of the hotel; we do...

Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Just like to thank Liam for his exceptional service tonight. Having spend a day working at the Photography show we were tired and hungry. We had left a nearby restaurant after too long a wait and no food. Liam went beyond what we would have expected to make the rest of our evening worthwhile. Thank you.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hazelmason39
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Hazelmason39, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see staff members made your stay here with us memorable and you feel they went above and beyond for you. We will pass these comments onto the staff, We look forward to seeing you again soon Many Thanks...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 March 2017

Liam was excellent. Having waited an hour before walking out of the Little Owl Restaurant, Liam made us feel special and provided a faultless, personal service. I would recommend this restaurant over the impersonal, inefficient Little Owl next door.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jamesfrost11
JCH1709, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Jamesfost11, Many thanks for reviewing your stay here with us at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC. We are thrilled to see staff members made you feel welcome and that we delivered exceptional service to you on your stay here with us, also we are delighted to see you would recommend our restaurant to your peers. We look forward...

140 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (116)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (22)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Other (58)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Birmingham Nec/Airport Hotel
1.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Birmingham NEC
1.3 km away
Ibis Styles Birmingham Airport NEC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Holiday Inn Birmingham Airport
1.7 km away
Novotel Birmingham Airport
Novotel Birmingham Airport
#22 of 118 in Birmingham
2,265 reviews
1.7 km away
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
Ibis Birmingham Airport - NEC
#20 of 118 in Birmingham
1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC is a modern hotel located in the grounds of the UK's largest exhibition centre, the National Exhibition Centre, 10 minutes from Birmingham International Airport and Train Station. Our modern rooms feature comfy beds, en-suites with power showers and air-conditioning. The rooms are kitted out with everything you need for a relaxing stay including free Wi-Fi, 32-inch TVs with Freeview and a choice of pillows. Tasty evening meals such as pastas, curries and burgers are served in the Great Room daily and you can grab a pint or glass of wine from the bar after a busy day. Our Express Start breakfast is included for every guest. Help yourself to toast, pastries, cereals, porridge, bacon bap or a helping of scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The hotel has ample parking and is charged at £8 per night for residents. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC

Address: Bickenhill Parkway, Birmingham B40 1QA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $81 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Nec Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#49 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and other travellers.
18 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (18)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham NEC staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There are no "best" rooms. Think they are all the same.”
S4954LTdavidm, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“You will need to get a taxi if visiting the NEC or airport.”
VeryWhiteBrit, 1 Feb 2017 | Read review
“add in the cost of the taxi to your stay £ 13.00”
yaeman, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance”
6papahotel, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Probably all the same rooms. No views to speak of.”
stevelU427MH, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5