We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel du Vin & Bistro
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel du Vin & Bistro
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,448: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

This is a lovely hotel, our "standard" room was a great size and had a massive bed and nice bathroom with bath and separate monsoon shower. The room was well equipped and very clean. There were a few signs of tiredness but to be honest I have paid more for a more tired room in a lot newer hotel. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrjb2
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Mr JB, thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin. I'm delighted you enjoyed your room, service and Bistro experience. My team and I look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Best regards, Tony

Liverpool
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We had a Sunday lunch today and all I have to say is that I rebooked for my birthday and also booked a room in the hotel. The quality of the food and service was second to none, coupled with the building makes this an automatic choice in my opinion. I had the Sunday lunch 4 course set menu for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NBrown113
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear NBrown113, thank you for such a fantastic review. My team and I were over the moon to read your kind comments. You certainly embraced Hotel du Vin life whilst you were here with Sunday Lunch and Spa Treatments. I know I'm a bit biased but I also think we do the best Sunday Lunch in town. We look forward...

Dudley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We stayed for one night after our visit to the nearby Purnell's. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfy and spacious. We managed a couple of drinks in the pub and the bubble bar. The pub is very cosy and the cocktails went down well in the bubble bar. There was plenty of choice for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank s-jstevens
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm so pleased you had a great stay, enjoying cocktails in the Bubble Lounge and drinks in the Pub. It was also very kind of you to mention how friendly you found my team. I wonder if you wouldn't mind letting me know which room you stayed in so that I can...

Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Decided to stay in the hotel a second time after a stay 5 years ago as we were up for a visit to the NEC. Last time we had the benefit of a suite, which was glorious. This time, on more of a tighter budget we'd booked a standard room. Check-in on a Friday evening was rather delayed as there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DDH64
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear DDH64 Thank you for your honest feedback. I would invite you to get in touch next time you return and I will personally ensure you are well looked after. I will also follow up on the points raised in your review straight away. Kind regards and many thanks once again, Tony

Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

We visited this place early one evening and were the first people to sit down. We waited ages for someone to take our drinks order. And then the drinks took ages to arrive. We asked for a bread basket, again a fairly long wait. We asked for olive oil & balsamic dip. They gave us butter. We had to again...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alison M
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Alison I'm very sorry to read of your disappointing experience and would ask you to get in touch when convenient. Hopefully speak soon, Tony tony.elvin@hotelduvin.com

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Hotel du Vin is my favourite place to stay when on business in or visiting Birmingham. Rooms are very spacious with impressive bathrooms (not plush but all one needs and impressive bathtubs). Beds are comfortable and the selection of the minibar out of the ordinary with yummy snacks. The Nespresso coffee machine is a welcoming bonus. Staff are always friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PhilippeNorre
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Philippe Thank you for your kind review. I'm so pleased to hear that you think so much of Hotel du Vin, we are certainly very appreciative of your repeat custom. Please do say 'hi' next time you arrive and I will be delighted to come and say hello in person. Many thanks once again, Tony

Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

The hotel charged me with a Hilton price but it's not even as clean as ibis. The bathroom looks uncleaned for ages. The dust made me feel like the last time someone stayed in this room was last century. The reception was super rude. When I couldn't connect to the Internet, I called the reception and the guy there told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Zhao P
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Zhao Thank you your review. I'm sorry to hear it was so disappointing. Please get in touch so that I can follow this up with you. Best regards, Tony. tony.elvin@hotelduvin.com

Reviewed 24 February 2016 via mobile

Nice hotel, friendly and welcoming staff. My room was very well presented and spacious with a very comfortable bed, I had a great nights sleep. My bathroom however was rather disappointing and could have done with a good clean, all in all a good hotel, just needs a bit more attention from the cleaner. I would certainly stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Stephen Thank you for your review, it's great to hear you had an enjoyable stay. I have taken on board your comments and like all feedback; positive and negative will share it with our team to make improvement. Please say hello next time you return. Best regards, Tony

Hitchin
Reviewed 24 February 2016

I stayed here a couple of weeks ago for a business event in the city. I have to say the reception was a good experience, welcomed in a friendly and professional way and great valet parking experience which was well worth the £20 charge. The room was large and spacious but with a terrible outlook on to what looked like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MumamiaHitchin
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear MumamiaHitchin Thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel du Vin. I'm pleased you enjoyed it overall and found my team to be friendly and professional. I'm sure we can find you a room that ticks all the boxes next time, so please let me know when you book and I will personally assist. Best regards, Tony tony.elvin@hotelduvin.com

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2016

We have just had the worst possible meal and dining experience at this appallingly overpriced bistro. It was supposed to be a special occasion for our daughters birthday, we had emailed ahead and asked for a candle to be added to dessert. the Maitre D' knew this as she mentioned this on our arrival but the night turned out to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mandy P
HdVMgr, General Manager at Hotel du Vin & Bistro, responded to this review

Dear Mandy Thank you so much for your time on the telephone last week and for our subsequent email correspondence. I really appreciated you getting in touch and look forward to welcoming you back for a more enjoyable experience next time around. Kind regards, Tony

317 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (273)
Viewed
Room/Suite (54)
Viewed
Bathroom (37)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (19)
Viewed
Other (142)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Dining (22)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Malmaison Birmingham
Malmaison Birmingham
#24 of 118 in Birmingham
2,159 reviews
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 118 in Birmingham
2,317 reviews
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 118 in Birmingham
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#6 of 118 in Birmingham
2,814 reviews
Hotel Indigo Birmingham
#27 of 118 in Birmingham
945 reviews
Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
The Edgbaston
#4 of 118 in Birmingham
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Hotel du Vin & Bistro

Address: 25 Church Street, Birmingham B3 2NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $156 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel du Vin & Bistro 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel du Vin & Bistro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Du Vin And Bistro
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Birmingham
#19 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#23 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#30 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
Birmingham, United Kingdom
13 days ago
over a year ago
Devon
over a year ago
Birmingham
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel du Vin & Bistro staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“BROWN Brothers very spacious”
Lolly1952, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't stay here!”
SirBTreacle, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“'Harvey's' has steps down into bathroom, avoid if this doesn't suit you.”
IndiraKH, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The suites give you loads of space with sitting areas and squishy leather furniture.”
extramilecomms, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Most rooms are noisy because of its central location and nearby major building work”
GWH_12, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5