We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Conference Aston Hotel

Show Prices
GreenLeadersGold level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Conference Aston Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

405 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 388: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed here for one night. The hotel is about 25 minutes' walk from Birmingham New Street Station. Arriving at the hotel is a bit confusing, as even though there are street signs directing you toward it, the building itself is simply labelled "Aston Business School" - it's not at all obvious where the hotel reception is. I was greeted...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaymie T
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jaymie T Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Conference Aston Hotel and I am sorry to hear that you found us sorely lacking. I apologise that you haven't received a response on the comments you made on one of our Feedback Cards and have implemented changes with our internal recording and actions on how...

Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice rooms and you have access to one of the oldest pools in the UK. My room was comfortable and the bed was very good giving a great nights sleep the staff are very friendly. The location is great and 10 minutes from the centre on foot.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin G
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a stay at the hotel based on complimentary TripAdvisor ratings; reality was decent but not inspiring, so I would want to adjust others' expectations. Obviously, this is not a regular hotel, but a mini-hotel of a university, located in the university's business-school building. The location is convenient, and the surroundings are unobjectionable, in a contemporary-state-funded-architecture way. The advertised...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Demyan1
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have stayed here for three nights for my BSI training. My company provided the whole package (course, accommodation and full board). My hotel room was average, quite, basic accommodation, dirty carpet and very dirty tiles in the bathroom. I have survived three nights. My biggest complain is about food which was terrible. I have not had similar experience in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomasz T
Kent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

If you want a hotel last decorated in the 70's, where they can't serve you dinner because they're busy and there's no wifi, this is the ideal place for you... I have never stayed at a 'conference centre' before where they can't serve dinner because they're busy with a large group & the staff can't tell you when they will...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank markwood1973
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear markwood1973 It's a pity that you had such a terrible experience with us and I apologise for the manner in which your request for dinner was handled. We have implemented additional training and development for our Front of House staff to ensure that any delays with service are properly communicated and that our guests are kept fully informed during...

Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

If you book you have to book parking separately. The postcode for the hotel doesn't take you to the door and Car Park 12 is on another postcode. I didn't think it was well signposted particularly as I arrived in the dark. However once I found it the check in was efficient and the room was of a good standard...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David C
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David C Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Conference Aston Hotel and I am pleased to read that you would return. We are currently reviewing the directional signage across the campus and are confident that we will be able to erect improved signage within the next few months making it far easier for our...

Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had dinner in the bar on arrival and the burger was delicious. Staff were friendly. I had a single room and the bed was a 3/4 one which was a nice surprise! The room and bathroom were spotless and comfortable. Mini toiletries, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and shortbread biscuits provided which was lovely. Iron worked well and the shower had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily F
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Emily F Thank you for your positive and informative review of Conference Aston hotel and I am pleased to read that you had a lovely stay and would recommend us. It's unfortunate that you and your colleagues were disappointed with the sausages at breakfast. I have discussed this with our Head Chef and we unfortunately are at a loss...

bruton
Reviewed 7 January 2017

Excellent city position, close to centre and transport links. Good secure parking. Rooms clean and well looked after. The electric heater is a little tricky to get and set the right temperature. Giant bed and oh so comfy. The room was as silent as the grave! No disturbance from the outside or near rooms. Excellent breakfast choices and you can...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank adtelfer
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear adtelfer Thank you so much for your positive and informative review of Conference Aron Hotel. You stayed in one of our 'Executive City Double' bedrooms which have King size beds and it's pleasing to read that you found the bed to be comfy as these rooms were recently equipped with new mattresses and bedding. As you have stated, these...

Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 December 2016

Nice hotel to stay in when visiting the Christmas German market. Me, my boyfriend, my sister and my sisters boyfriend stayed here. We were looking for a cheap enough hotel for the one night whilst doing some shopping. Upon arrival we queued to check in. Check in was easy and quick. Staff were friendly enough. We would of liked a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jesfrizztalbot
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jesfrizztalbot Thank you for your review of Conference Aston Hotel and it is so unfortunate that your stay was spoiled by the lack of hot water and I apologise for the manner in which our Reception Team handled the issue. Engineers were called out to attend to a fault with the boilers supplying hot water to the hotel and...

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

This is the first time I've stayed at this hotel and was attending a conference in one of the university buildings next door. Room was cosy although they were clean. For one person the bed was fine but if this was for 2 people it would have been very cramped! Reception staff were very helpful. Food was good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillian F
Graham G, Guest Services Manager at Conference Aston Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gillian F Thank you for your review of Conference Aston Hotel and judging by your comments, you stayed in one of our single bedrooms which are fitted with 3/4 size beds instead of singles. This does compromise a bit on bedroom space but allows for a more comfortable stay for our guests. It's pleasing to read that our staff...

94 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (78)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
1:46
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Snow Hill
Hotel La Tour
#9 of 115 in Birmingham
2,232 reviews
The Royal Angus Hotel
#58 of 115 in Birmingham
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 115 in Birmingham
794 reviews
Edgbaston
Hallmark Hotel Birmingham Strathallan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A stylish city centre hotel, based on the Aston University campus in Birmingham. Located within the Aston Business School building, the hotel offers 163 four star standard bedrooms, a mix of single, double, twin rooms and suites, all ensuite with free WiFi, LED televisions and all of the comforts you would need when you're away from home. The hotel is perfectly situated for Birmingham and Midland attractions with the city centre within walking distance and other Midland regions close by. The hotel is approximately 20 minutes' walk from New Street, Moor Street and Snow Hill train stations, 9 miles from Birmingham Airport and less than a mile from Junction 6 of the M6. Pay and display parking is available onsite. As part of Birmingham's largest residential conference centre, the hotel is ideal for business travellers. Hotel guests also have free use of the adjacent Woodcock Sports Centre, housing Birmingham's oldest swimming pool within a stunningly restored Victorian sports centre. An extensive gymnasium, squash courts and fitness studios are also available. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Conference Aston Hotel

Address: The Aston Triangle | The Aston Triangle, Birmingham B4 7ET, England (Formerly Aston Business School Conference Centre)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $122 - $872 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Conference Aston Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 163
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Conference Aston Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Business School Conference Centre Hotel Birmingham
Aston Birmingham
Birmingham Aston
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Luxury Hotel in Birmingham
#38 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Conference Aston Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Leicester England Uk
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Conference Aston Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Request a room facing the square rather than the main road, if you must stay here”
 of 5 bubbles fussfilter, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“According to fellow guests, all good, I was on U3”
 of 5 bubbles adtelfer, 7 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Good value, brilliant staff”
 of 5 bubbles Turky_FG, 9 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Lovely being on floor 5 for the views!”
 of 5 bubbles MRB01, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Generally very good”
 of 5 bubbles SimonW114, 9 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5