We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Briar Rose Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
The Briar Rose Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

888 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Briar Rose Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 877: English reviews
Puy-l'Eveque, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2016

It's a Wetherspoon pub which was not made clear on the booking website. Well positioned in central Birmingham, close to the New Street railway station, the single room that I had was comfortable, clean and equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. It was however quite dark and sombre.

Helpful?
1 Thank grumpymikefrance
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear grumpymikefrance, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will be looking into the points you have made to make improvements. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

Borehamwood
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2016

The reception staff were excellent. Only two minor gripes - the shaver socket light was not working and in the morning hot water came out of the cold tap and it took a long time for the water to turn cold. Excellent value for money

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank jerrytBorehamwood
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jerrytBorehamwood, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and we will be looking into the points you have raised. We hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Had an enjoyable evening staying and staff were very helpful and friendly . Even though we arrived on the wrong day they gave us a room so that we didn't have to go back home. Lovely food but breakfast wasn't the best

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank juliewP1431XG
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear juliewP1431XG, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. We have taken your feedback on board and will be looking into this. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Very dated hotel booked double room for 2 people double bed was a joke 3/4 at most bedside table too far away as bed was too small pillows folded in half to fit side by side. Light in bathroom not working very dark room not good for make up and no plug sockets next to bed. Bathroom also not the... More 

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sarah K, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear you was disappointed with your stay, your feedback is important to us and all of your observations have been taken on board and we will be looking into this for improvement. We hope to welcome you back and hope this hasn't... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Do not stay here on a Saturday night. Noise from pub next door is ridiculously loud. You can't open the windows on the first floor and no fan is provided unless you ask. Radiator was on upon arrival - in May...! Room smelt of damp and clearly needs a thorough clean. Avoid!

Helpful?
Thank sarahl0u3
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

Hotel was excellent very reasonable but of a high standard. Staff were very helpful. Shower was amazing. Room clean and tidy. Tv recepetion good Weatherspoons downstairs was utilised fully would recommend excellent location.for theatre

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank Latson
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Latson, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great 5* review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

One of the best hotels I have stayed at, the staff are very helpful and friendly, location is great! Love that it is attached to a bar, it was very convenient and surprisingly, no noise! Will stay here again! A big thank you for making my stay great and helping me find my way around the city!

Helpful?
Thank JDC453
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JDC453, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

bedford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2016

The staff excelled in helpfulness and friendliness. We had our evening meal and breakfast there which was great value. The rooms were well equipped and comfortable. The hotel is in an excellent position for all city centre activities and we will definitely stay again

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank peeteeBedford
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear peereeBedford, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here in April time for a weekend with friends. The room was fantastic. Clean smart. Exceptional value for money. The lady on reception have great advice on parking (cannot remember now where we parked but it was only a 10 minute walk). This hotel is attached to a weatherspoons pub which only adds to the experience. Breakfast is excellent... More 

Helpful?
Thank David W
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear David W, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

Longford, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 11 May 2016

Myself and my husband have stayed in the Briar Rose on a few occasions. Location is excellent. Friendly receptionist and very helpful. The bedroom was clean and comfortable and the food/breakfast was very good. No complaints and we will be staying there again.

Review collected in partnership with JD Wetherspoon

Helpful?
Thank katebZ9160ZZ
BriarRosehotel, Receptionist. at The Briar Rose Hotel, responded to this review

Dear katebZ160ZZ, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a lovely 5* review. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon. Many Thanks The Briar Rose Hotel team. More 

84 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Other (31)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Ladywood
Premier Inn Birmingham City Centre (New St Station) Hotel
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 141 in Birmingham
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel La Tour
#7 of 141 in Birmingham
2,154 reviews
Ladywood
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
Staybridge Suites Birmingham
#3 of 141 in Birmingham
768 reviews
Ladywood
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
Hyatt Regency Birmingham
#5 of 141 in Birmingham
2,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally located right in the centre of the vibrant city of Birmingham, The Briar Rose welcomes business and tourist visitors alike. We have 40 individual bedrooms, many with high, vaulted ceilings. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea and coffee-making facilities, a hair dryer and TV. FREE Wi-Fi is available in the bar area. Irons and ironing boards are available upon request. Dental hygiene and shaving kits are available to purchase from reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Briar Rose Hotel

Address: 25 Bennetts Hill, Birmingham B2 5RE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham > Ladywood
Price Range: $93 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Briar Rose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Briar Rose Birmingham
Briar Rose Hotel Birmingham
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
#35 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Briar Rose Hotel staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
6 months ago
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Derby, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Briar Rose Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Dont have a room in the front of the hotel if you are a light sleeper due to road noise first thing in the morning.”
 of 5 bubbles 647Mark, 2 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Top floor, quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles trevor205, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“always read the reviews before booking a hotel”
 of 5 bubbles sandra22465, 18 Oct 2016 | Read review
“avoid room 202”
  • Disability access room 202 lift shaft right outside window.wakes you up 4-45am, sounds like jet
  • Broken back of chair. Dangerous regardless it's in room 202 disability access room.
 of 5 bubbles tsniggyCheshire, 14 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at the rear are quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles janetp493, 7 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay