We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Old Rose and Crown Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Rose and Crown Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

219 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 218: English reviews
Start your review of Old Rose and Crown Hotel
 Click to rate
Wolsingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Nice rooms in a lovely setting. Staff very friendly and a cracking breakfast in with the price. I booked last minute for an overnight stay and arrived quite late. The welcome was very good and efficient. I'll go back if I need to stay in Birmingham again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stevie W
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a fantastic review - I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything ran smoothly. We very much hope to be able to welcome you again

Saintes, France
Reviewed 1 week ago

First time here ,will definitely be using again hotel was very clean and comfortable , friendly welcoming staff,excellent breakfasts, quiet and comfortable bedrooms Location is good and there is easy access to all routes

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ellie17977
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am so pleased that you had a good stay with us - as you said, our location is perfect for routes onto the M42 or M5 - we look forward to seeing you again.

Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have stayed at this hotel on a couple of occasions for work and have found it to be a very nice place to stay on both occasions. The rooms are large, well furnished and very clean and a couple of small toiletries are provided for the bathroom which is a very nice touch. Towels are nice and thick and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MCFC_MassiveClub
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving such a good review and I am delighted that you would choose to stay with us again. Of course we would have moved the extra bedding if you had asked - I am sorry if it was a nuisance. I hope next time everything will be perfect and you will be able to award us 5...

Reviewed 17 February 2017

A Really great Day although the weather that day was not very good ....When we arrived at around 11.30 am for a three course lunch and entertainment , the warmth of hospitality we were greeted with, we all could see it was worth the visit The Staff were Excellent and from our entrance to our leaving around 4.00pm were amongst...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barrie W
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

I was delighted to read your review and see that your group had enjoyed such a great afternoon with us. Our entertainer is always popular, and I am so pleased that your meals were good too. I will pass on your kind words to the team and look forward to welcoming you all again soon

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 February 2017

I was visiting for a weekend workshop where food was provided so this Hotel worked well for me. It was very close to the venue. The hotel staff were also very helpful with information about taxis and local places to eat.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JoHarold
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your response and I am pleased that the hotel worked for your visit and that the staff were helpful. We really pride ourselves on this and it is good to hear we are getting it right

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 February 2017

We have been to the Old Rose and Crown a few times for their excellent Sunday lunch. Have always had excellent service and really good food. Would recommend this for special occasions also. They have a private dining room for parties.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trifle46
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and I am glad that you enjoyed Sunday lunch. We are adding different things to the menu all the time so please do keep coming. Our private dining is really popular in the Beacon Suite for groups of 20-35 but must be booked in advance. We look forward to seeing you again soon

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2017

Great little hotel within easy walking distance of2 nice pubs and restraunts. Beautiful country walks on the doorstep and friendly staff made my stay more enjoyable. Easy to get to the city centre and wounderful surroundings

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank brenntagjohn
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and pointing out what a great location we enjoy. Although we do not serve food, as you say, we are in easy walk of a choice of pubs and restaurants. We hope you will stay again next time you are in the area

Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

Stayed here on business with my colleagues & the hotel was ideal. So well priced. In addition the staff were so helpful! The car park was very spacious. Walking distance to local pubs and restaurants. Will definitely use again when in the area.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank chrismB1010WS
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave this great review. I am so glad you had a good stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 February 2017

Although the hotel is well placed and the setting is pleasant, they do not offer lunch or dinner they are just a B&B which is confusing because they have menus on display and even send you an email stating good food and great service. After a long journey I did not want to go looking for somewhere to eat, disappointing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bachgenboy
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review and I can only apologise that you weren't aware that we do not offer a restaurant or bar. We do specify this on both our website and at Booking.com. We also now send an e mail to guests before arrival reminding them of this and directing them to pubs and restaurants close to the...

Bournemouth
Reviewed 30 January 2017

this is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. We had the same room but the staff assure me all the beds are the same. I find them extremely comfortable, second only to those found in the best American hotels. Our family room cost £95 for the 4 of us and included a breakfast cooked to order. Can't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gaynor787
Andrew5752, General Manager at Old Rose and Crown Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for leaving such a good review - I am glad your family had a good time and that you felt you got good value along with a good nights sleep! We hope you will come again soon.

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:21
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
Hotel La Tour
#10 of 117 in Birmingham
2,286 reviews
Westmead Hotel
#41 of 117 in Birmingham
612 reviews
Edgbaston
Eaton Hotel
Eaton Hotel
#7 of 117 in Birmingham
556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Staying Cool at the Rotunda
#1 of 117 in Birmingham
887 reviews
Hillscourt
#1 of 1 in Rednal
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Golf Course
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Old Rose & Crown Hotel is set in 400 acres of beautiful Lickey Hills Country Park and yet only 5 minutes drive from M42 J1 and M5 J4. With free parking and free Wifi and 11 ensuite bedrooms including double twin and family rooms the hotel is perfect for any kind of acassion including weddings, christenings and parties ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Rose and Crown Hotel

Address: Rose Hill | Lickey, Birmingham B45 8RT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $82 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Rose and Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Old Rose and Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Old Rose and Crown Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I found the bedroom lighting rather dim especially for reading otherwise very comfortable”
 of 5 bubbles ellie17977, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“It was a Day outing”
 of 5 bubbles barriew2017, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 9 - Nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles JoHarold, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Plan your stay and arrange for food beforehand, breakfast was satisfactory.”
 of 5 bubbles bachgenboy, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Quiet room away from road !”
 of 5 bubbles juliagudge, 23 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5