We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

435 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 429: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night for a Star Trek convention. Perfectly located distance from the NEC and cadburys world. Short walk to Star City or as the locals call it Stab City. Its a nice complex lots of choice! Hotel has a good breakfast very friendly staff, other conventionists stayed here too. We are coming back for an event in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain F
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Not the cleanest ever Holiday Inn Express hotels, you are not the only thing alive in the bed, also carpets and walls really dirty, not nice. Windows do not open, fixtures and fittings broken or cracked, telephone will cause someone a shock. Bare wires, smells of damp and all in all a very poor if not the worst possible example...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank musicstu
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here for three night a couple weeks back for a show at the NEC, my mum stayed for two night and my dad stayed for the other. Overall the staff were very friendly and helpful! The rooms we're pleasant, might not be the greatest but you get what you pay for. Breakfast was lovely and filling too, they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma S
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

As everyone else has said. Tired, noisy, stains, no hot water pressure, a printed note at reception saying aircon may not work please come tell us, we can't be bothered to actually test them for you. How this is still considered acceptable is beyond me, its basic stuff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karl A
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Karl A, Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have noticed with the quality of our facility and the room you received. We also apologize for the level of service you had and the cleanliness of your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like...

London
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Disgusting! Last night I had the misfortune of being booked into this hotel for three nights for work. It's filthy! The rooms are filthy, the carpets are filthy, the chairs in the rooms are filthy, even the monitor on the reception desk is filthy. On my first night I was checked into room 302 - I came back to find...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 1AceTraveller
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear 1AceTraveller, Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean, and superior accommodations. However, it is disappointing to know we did not meet your expected stay due to the quality of cleanliness in...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed here for 1 night at just £45 including breakfast. I thought this was a great price! The rooms are good and spacious, the breakfast was good as much as you need. Wouldn't say its a big fry up but the basics are there and its help yourself. The rooms have plug in heaters in case it gets cold...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank chloelargue
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel ok but probably just had the worst burger and chips ever in the bar. I've had much better from burger vans at car boot sales!! How they can justify a £10.95 price is beyond me. Steer clear of the very limited menu here and find somewhere else to eat.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Mark C
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Mark C, Thank you for writing a review on our hotel. Our goal is to deliver exceptional service and comfortable accommodations, however, it is disappointing that your stay was let down by the quality of food served. Pleas accept our apologies for falling below your expectations. IHG sincerely cares about your experience, and what you described certainly isn’t what...

Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We were allocated a very spacious room, it was however a bit cold but there was a fan heater supplied ( which indicated there was a heating problem) and it was soon cosy and warm. Had a good sleep, no disturbance at all. We had an early flight from BHX and the hotel very kindly arranged for an early continental...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank westmorland
Reviewed 1 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely bad service. I arrived at the hotel to find a sign that said they were having problems with their heating system, It was a very cold night. Tired I was given a room with no heating. After complaining. I was moved to another room with a small electric heater because the heating was also not working in that room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonie01
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Dear Leonie01, Thank your for staying at the hotel and for sharing your experience with us. Guest satisfaction is of utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to provide comfortable and superior rooms. I completely understand your disappointments for the lack of adequate heating in the hotel. Please be assured this problem will not happen again. Nevertheless, I...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 19 February 2017

Dislike: The hall way always smelt of cigarettes/others even though it's a non-smoking section The heating wouldn't work, a small heater was provided on the 3rd day. No varieties in the breakfast, don't get me wrong theirs might be suitable for the grade of hotel but I fill all hotel should have fruit salad 🥗and yogurt cause theses are basic...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gladys A O
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City, responded to this review

Hello Gladys A O, Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience with us. I am glad to read your positive comments regarding our accommodating staff, that our location worked for your travel needs. It is always motivating on our end to receive commendations from our valued guests like you. On the hand, I want to sincerely apologize...

162 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (109)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (42)
Viewed
Bathroom (16)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (27)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Birmingham
#100 of 118 in Birmingham
501 reviews
Ladywood
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
ibis Styles Birmingham Centre
#32 of 118 in Birmingham
1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City

Address: Cuckoo Road, Heartlands Parkway Nechells, Birmingham B7 5SB, England (Formerly Hampton by Hilton Birmingham Star City)
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Birmingham
Price Range: $88 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton By Hilton Birmingham Star City Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Blueberry Hotel
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Birmingham
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Birmingham - Star City staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Try another hotel..”
musicstu, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Rooms away from the road are quieter. (Weekend stag/hen dos)”
emmas481, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Choose another hotel”
1AceTraveller, 21 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Just find a different hotel”
915alanp, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Dont stay on the second floor”
JaneD252, 19 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5