We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Coventry City Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Coventry
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Coventry City Hotel
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

54 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 51: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 July 2015

I've stayed at this hotel several times over the past ten years due to being booked in there on business trips where every expense is spared. If you're planning on getting drunk on a massive night out in Cov and don't care where you end up, this place is ideal. If you are aware of your surroundings, however....you'll find this...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank PrideWrestling
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2014

Most awful place I've ever stayed! Rooms tiny, smelly, warm, with views of a carpark. Toilets tiny, smelly, wet floors. Dodgy location. Poor service-reception staff don't look professional and clearly don't care about customer service. Has a reputation as being somewhere people take others for a one night stand as it's so cheap. Also tends to get a lot of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travelling M
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2014

A qualified fire safety inspection of the dining room would close this hotel. The split upholstery was showing the stuffing or patched with black masking tape. this was also evident in parts of the bar The staff were very helpful, but the meals were well below the standard I expect for the cost. I would certainly read the reviews of...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Chris T
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I went and stayed here on saturday 23rd of feb have to say was very pleasent the staff were all great and friendly especially kate what a very pleasent woman she was made our stay enjoyable defo will go back again has had a great night out and the 24 hour bar was even better thank you for a welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott H
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for posting your review. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found our bar available 24/7 convenient. I will share your feedback with Katie in particular. I am sure that she will very much appreciate your comments. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Joanna Torbus...

Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 March 2013

The rooms are nice and good quality with regards to the price. Toilets are self-cleaning porta-loo models, very small and quite often are either dirty or have very wet floors. These are down the hall along with showers so expect cold corridor runs. The beds are very hard and uncomfortable to sleep in but are clean. During our stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Whitea9
Reviewed 19 March 2013

I wouldn't inflict a place like this on my worst enemy. The room was unsanitary, to say the least, there were brown marks on the bed sheets. When I peeled back the sheets I found several pubic hairs. The TV didn't work, and after visiting the communal showers, I discovered a friendly welcome of a puddle of vomit. Then, when...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank RitzToFormuleOne
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I went and stayed here on saturday 23rd of feb have to say was very pleasent the staff were all great and friendly especially kate what a very pleasent woman she was made our stay enjoyable defo will go back again has had a great night out and the 24 hour bar was even better thank you for a welcomed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Matt W
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir, I would like to thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. I am sure that Kate will be delighted to see your feedback. It is always very pleasant to see receptionist name mentioned. I hope to welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Joanna/ General Manager.

Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

We booked this "hotel" before we read the reviews!!! Big mistake. We ended up paying extra to stay in the ibis, as this place was a complete and utter doghole'!! We walked round the whole building looking for a reception desk, until we had to call them to ask where we could check in.. People staying in the ibis were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura-x-h
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Madam, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am sorry that Formule 1 hotel did not meet your expectations. Please, let me assure you that the hotel front door is equipped with security system allowing the door to be open only with bedroom key card. Therefore the hotel bathrooms are not accessible to general public. Kind regards,...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Complete budget hotel, very good of value is important to your travel itinery, otherwise you could you stay in the Ibis next door. Location is very good, 10 minutes walk from travel connections. The hotel itself could have a little more TLC and tending to a couple of decor issues, rooms was otherwise hygenic fairly clean and well maintained. On...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bunnyslaw
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sir/ Madam, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Formule 1 Coventry. We hope that our central location gave you opportunity to visit the area. Ibis Reception Team will be very happy to hear that you value our customer care. We hope to welcome you...

Reviewed 11 February 2013

The hotel looks ok from the outside.inside its way different the first room we was put into had a horrible smell the television was broke aswell as the blinds. The second room was a bit better but still not very clean floor was filthy with hairs all over it and a stain onn the wall behind the bed that looked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bubblegumbumm
IbisCovManager, General Manager at Coventry City Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, thank you for posting the review. I am sorry that you were dissatisfied with your stay in Formule 1. I am glad that you were moved to another room after reporting the problems but very sorry that the second room pre assigned was not up to the standard. I understand it may be tiring to report the problem...

1 photo of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Coventry hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Coventry Centre
Ibis Coventry Centre
#15 of 39 in Coventry
478 reviews
1.5 km away
Days Hotel Coventry
Days Hotel Coventry
#28 of 39 in Coventry
418 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Earlsdon Park) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 km away
Ramada Hotel & Suites Coventry
1.8 km away
Ibis Coventry South
Ibis Coventry South
#30 of 39 in Coventry
339 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Coventry City Centre (Belgrade Plaza) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Coventry City Hotel

Address: Mile Lane, Coventry CV1 2NN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Coventry
Price Range: $77 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 86
Also Known As:
Formule 1 Coventry City Hotel Coventry
Formule 1 Hotel Coventry
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Coventry City Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Go elsewhere!”
 of 5 bubbles 534travellingm, 22 Sep 2014 | Read review
“Don't stay here.”
 of 5 bubbles christH8765OH, 16 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Rooms far away from toilets will in theory be quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles craigj854, 9 Dec 2012 | Read review
“Ask for one far from the bathrooms, as you'll get less traffic in front of your door that way.”
 of 5 bubbles PastryNinja, 6 Feb 2012 | Read review
“Don't stay there END OF!”
 of 5 bubbles SAP91, 22 Jan 2012 | Read review
5 of 5