We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

King's Head Inn

Traveller (162)
360
Panoramas (29)
Room & Suite (208)
Certificate of Excellence

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The site of this Wetherspoon pub has been occupied by an inn since the 15th century. By c1520, it was known as the King's Head, and it retained that name until it was rebuilt in the 1880s. The County Hotel was, itself, a change of name some time during the 1880s or 1890s. Before then, it was the Kings Head and Brewery. We have 33 individual bedrooms. All of our rooms are en suite and include tea- and coffee-making facilities, air conditioning, a hair dryer, TV and free Wi-Fi, also available in the pub. Please be aware that we are a Lloyds No 1 bar so we will be playing music in the pub from Thursday to Saturday nights. Limited quiet rooms are available so please telephone in advance to request one. We have no onsite parking but there is a city centre car park we recommend that is only a 3-5 minute walk away. You are able to stop on the pub entrance to unload your luggage before you go and park.
Read more
Property amenities
Free Internet
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Breakfast Available
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Room features
Air conditioning
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
River View
HOTEL CLASS
959Reviews
337Photos
19Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 382
  • 388
  • 125
  • 28
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Situated in the heart of old Salisbury so convenient to the Cathedral and shops. The menu is the usual excellent value Wetherspoons, with something for everyone. We chose the mixed grill and vegetable lasagne.Very tasty and freshly cooked. The Abbot ale was as ever excellent
Read more
+2
Amazing!! A beautiful hotel with character and spacious room. Very nice decorated, comfortable bed with great sleeping quality, and a bathroom that was renovated and very spacious. WiFi is available. There is no breakfast included but you can have delicious breakfast at the inn
Read more
Booked due to proximity to the city hall. Clean rooms, a bit noisy in some areas but we were ok. 5 min walk to the city hall and playhouse. Perhaps a little pricey just for a room but would probably use again for the location.
Read more
Lovely old building with lots of character. Hotel staff very polite, friendly, helpful & welcoming. Great room with sumptuous bed, tea, coffee, biscuits & bottled water of which you can request more from reception. Nice big bathroom and everything was spotlessly clean. Pub
Read more
Response from Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn
Responded 24 Jan 2019
Dear Passenger662178 Thank you for leaving a fantastic 5 * review. We try our hardest to provide quality service and standards throughout, therefore we are delighted to hear the staff throughout our establishment were friendly, helpful & welcoming to you during your stay with us and that the rooms and the pub downstairs were well equipped and up to a high standards. Our central location is something we pride ourselves on. Salisbury is a beautiful City and has a lot to offer all year round. The car park we recommend is the central carpark which is situated just behind the building over the road from the hotel itself. It is good to hear feedback about other parking facility that our guests use. We thank you again for the 5* review and for recommending us to others. We look forward to you returning in the future. Kind regards Heidi Hotel Team Leader.
Read more
Can’t say how great this place is as my friends and I had a blast. Service was excellent and the prices were unbeatable. We all used their App which was a blast as it amused us for hours and also our friends who weren’t even there. They were ordering from all over the UK drinks,
Read more
Response from Ami_SPrice, Manager at King's Head Inn
Responded 24 Jan 2019
Dear 1964MH Thank you for taking your time and leaving us a fantastic 5* review. We try our hardest to provide good quality service throughout, therefore we are delighted to hear the service your received was excellent and our prices were unbeatable. We are glad to hear yourself and your friends made good use of the Wetherspoons app and had some enjoyment using it. Salisbury is a beautiful City and we take pride in how central we are to all it has to offer. We hope you return to one of our many establishments and have just as much fun and good quality service as you have at The Kings Head Inn, Salisbury. Kind regards Heidi Hotel Team Leader.
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & Beach
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Accessible King Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Twin Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Single Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The King Room at the King's Head Inn
Professional photo exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisorKing's Head Inn
The Family Room at the King's Head Inn
PreviousNext
12345636
Dear Jessica S, Thank you for your query. Our Hotel does not have on-site car parking, but the closest long term stay car park to our location is Central car park and the postcode is SP1 3SL. Please contact our Reception Team if you require further information about Central car park. We do not provide fridges within our rooms, however we are happy to refrigerate guest medications or other items at Reception upon request. Kind regards Gina Hawkins Hotel Shift Leader
0 votes
Dear Jessica S, Thank you for your query. Our Hotel does not have on-site car parking, but the closest long term stay car park to our location is Central car park and the postcode is SP1 3SL. Please contact our Reception Team if you require further information about Central car park. We do not provide fridges within our rooms, however we are happy to refrigerate guest medications or other items at Reception upon request. Kind regards Gina Hawkins Hotel Shift Leader
1 vote
Show all answers
May I ask what is the name of the closest train station?
Dear Forrest W, Thank you for your query! The station is called Salisbury train station and is a short walk from our location. Please do contact us if you need any further information. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist
0 votes
Show all answers
Do you have any interconnecting rooms?
Dear livetotravl1950, Thank you for your query. Unfortunately we do not have any interconnecting rooms within the Hotel, however we do have Family rooms (which are suitable for 2 adults and 2 children under the age of 16) and rooms that are next to each other can be requested by contacting us on 01722 438 400. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist
0 votes
Show all answers
Dear hksh2014, Thank you for your enquiry! Unfortunately we do not have any room types suitable to accommodate 3 adults within the same room. However we would suggest a Double room, suitable for 2 adults at £79 per night or £158 for a two night stay, as well as a Single room for your son at £69 per night or £138 for a two night stay. At present we have this availability for the dates you have mentioned. Please do contact us directly if you have any further queries. Kind regards, Gina Hawkins Hotel Receptionist
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
1234
"Ask for a quiet room away from the road"
"Its a Wetherspoons so Food is Excellent and inexpensive"
"might be best at the back for a quieter sleep?"
"We were on the lower floor room 118"
"If you are a light sleeper ask for a quiet room at reception."
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$64 - US$105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
king`s head hotel salisburykings head hotelkings head salisbury
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandSalisbury
NUMBER OF ROOMS
33
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing