We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Thames Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
The Thames Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

202 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 199: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

One of the good hotel i stayed in UK and the only one for which I am writing a review. First of all the location which is bang on the banks of Thames. The rooms are really cosy. Although don't take room 113 because nothing works properly there. Breakfast have quite a good option though same option every day. Staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank VikrantRoy
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear VikrantRoy, Thank you for taking the time to write a review I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we provided you with a good breakfast which is always included in the room rate. I am pleased you found the staff helpful, we do try and go the extra mile for all our customers to ensure...

Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Terrible. . From the start...- receptionist could not find our reservation. ...btw- it is a really a small hotel.. She told my friend- that he has to go to another hotel..across the road...With a similar name....oops.. Never mind. ..she eventually found reservation. . I got to the room later....to find out- that hot water comes out of the tap ...only...no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yelena22
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Great location, overlooking the Thames and good parking. Hotel is of the "old school" type, no lift and rather dated. Our room was fine and the bed very comfortable, once the obligatory incontinence sheet had been removed! Unfortunately we could not get the TV to work, despite following the instructions to the letter. We didn't call for assistance because I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RLG324
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

My first visit to the Thames hotel. Hotel needs some investment and refurbishment. Room would benefit from deep cleaning. Breakfast is served only between 7 am and 9 am. Coffee was not drinkable and bacon tasted like sated wood. On positive side, not very expensive place, staff was friendly, fantastic location, nice bar and restaurant.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WitSka
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Witska, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always value guest feedback. We are currently in the process of refurbishing our rooms however as we are an independent Hotel this does take time. Our full English breakfast is served from 7am-9am Monday to Friday and then 8.30am -10am Saturday and Sunday. I'm glad our staff...

North Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2016

Stayed last. Friday (02/11/2016) and was delighted. It was 42-43 years ago since. I stayed here and. I still got the same thrill having a room with a balcony overlooking the. Thames. Waking up on Saturday morning to the sounds of the rowing teams in training was great. It was only a one night stay but. I enjoyed every minute.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shorty44
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Shorty44 Thank you for your review Its amazing to know the Hotel has been here for soo many years. I'm so glad you were just as thrilled this time around. It is a lovely setting on the river watching the Boats, rowers, ducks and normal River life. You will have to come back in the summer when the Area...

Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 November 2016 via mobile

Lovely friendly staff, very helpful. Nice clean room with private balcony overlooking the Thames.didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment. Couldn't fault hotel at all really would recommend for sure

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wendy, Thank you for your lovely review. Although it is short we do value your feedback. I'm glad you found the Hotel clean and the staff were friendly. Hopefully we will see you again soon Kind Regards Emily

Carlton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 October 2016

Very conveniently located for trip to visit family. Staff very friendly, helpful and welcoming. Free private parking a big asset. Room was very clean and had tea/coffee making facilities, t.v. and wifi if required. En suite had both bath and shower and was a decent size. Poor quality toilet paper, though, and bath plug was unattached! Breakfast was included and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ColinandPauline
chester
Reviewed 16 October 2016

Clean and tidy room very comfy bed, great hotel bar and very pleasant staff, all friends and willing too help, we eat in the Italian restaurant (part of the hotel) this was the best meal of our trip, cooked to perfect and tasty as it comes, lovely staff and we just sat there eat and enjoyed wine long meal with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank axeltramp
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

I love the Thames hotel bar great staff and a lovely atmosphere. .. I'm so happy I live 2 mins away from here. ... the best place for a drink in maidenhead 😆 I would love to stay here one night. .............

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank elga_stroud
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 October 2016

Very basic hotel rooms however, bed was very comfortable & the bathroom very clean (recent refurb). Bar was warm & welcoming with lovely decking area which spills out onto the walkway along the river Thames. Receptionist was jolly & very helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BruceCharlieCharles

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#6 of 11 in Maidenhead
635 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.4 km away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Travelodge Maidenhead Central Hotel
2.6 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
548 reviews
1.3 km away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#4 of 11 in Maidenhead
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Address: Ray Mead Road, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range: $90 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead
The Thames Hotel Maidenhead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thames Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Thames Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for room. TB1. This is the large room with a balcony overlooking the. Thames”
 of 5 bubbles Shorty44, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front are spacious and have a lovely river view.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinandPauline, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Please note stairs no lift at the property,”
 of 5 bubbles axeltramp, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views are at the front but these are on a main road so higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles solo51, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a double room with river view”
 of 5 bubbles W3735NCdianas, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay