We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Thames Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Thames Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

209 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Thames Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 206: English reviews
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016

The good bits were the location, easy accessible parking, and friendly, welcoming staff. Our son had booked for us online when we arrived they said that room was not available so we had to 'upgrade', at extra cost. As we had not booked it ourselves and it was late into the evening we accepted it. We were given a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Vicky, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we do appreciate customer feedback. I am slightly confused about the charge for an upgraded room as we would usually just upgrade a guest free of charge I would really appreciate it if you could email me the details/date of your booking so I can look further into...

Surrey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

We stayed here due to the location. The room was ok, decor is dated and the room was small. The bed was hard and uncomfortable so a goods night sleep was not had. To top it off the fire alarm went off a little after 08:00 in the morning, having a little one we were looking forward to a lay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank crystald2017
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Crystal, Thankyou for taking the time to write a review we always value guest feedback. We are in the process of upgraded our rooms at the moment, however this is a long process as we are so busy we can only do 1 room at a time. I am glad you enjoyed your breakfast and that our friendly staff...

Harrogate, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 May 2016

Clean linen and location over looking the Thames are the only positives I can find. As others have said the hotel requires a complete refurbishment. The room and toilet were not clean and the breakfast was sadly lacking. The pump pot of water for the tea was cool despite breakfast only just commencing. Toast was brought fresh from the kitchen...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Harrygate1
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 April 2016 via mobile

I stayed here while on a course nearby my room had excellent views of the River Thames. This was the best thing about the hotel the reception staff were always friendly and helpful. The rooms were very tired and dated with creaky floorboards which meant that sleeping wasn't always easy. It was clean, however on one day wasn't house keeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz5004
Maidenhead
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
 Report
Helpful?
Thank dominique347
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Reviewed 19 April 2016

Starting with the positives: The hotel is in a lovely location on the Thames, the staff are friendly polite and welcoming, also there is free WiFi with no need to mess about with passwords etc. Now on to the negatives: The hotel is extremely tired looking from the outside and it looks like nobody cares about it anymore. We stayed...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frazer M
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Frazer M Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us if you had informed us you were unhappy with your room we would have quite happily moved you. The rooms are currently being refurbished but this is a slow process and we will...

Reviewed 29 March 2016

Booked this hotel last minute, I parked in the wrong hotel first, both called Thames Hotel or something very similar, eventually found car park, you have to walk out of the car park, up the road for 10 metres or so then into the hotel. Waited for a bit whilst the guy at check in finalised some bits and pieces...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AwesomeJon
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Awesome Jon Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We value guest feedback. It's great to hear that you had a good stay and enjoyed the stunning views of the Thames I will pass on your lovely comments to the team. We will look forward to welcoming you back to the Thames Hotel Soon Kind Regards...

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Location is the best part about this hotel. I stay in quiet a lot of hotels through work, and I can differentiate between the various grades, confuses me how some people can class this as a 4/5* hotel. The hotel Class is 2*. Breakfast wasn't the best, but then again suited to a 2* hotel. Service was reasonable, no complaints....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rees27
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rees27, Thank you for taking the time to write a review we always value guest feedback. I would like to confirm that we are a 3* Hotel and reviews/ratings on trip advisor are based on customers experiences. A lot of our customers have had a very enjoyable stay and have rated us 5* on trip advisor as that was...

Reviewed 20 March 2016

We only stayed for one night, I was in the area for a meeting, but we could happily have stayed longer. We had a room on the first floor with a view over the river. The staff were all very helpful, the room was spotless, the Italian food was very good, as was the breakfast. Free Wi-Fi and private car...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret L
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margret, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad you had a lovely stay we will hopefully see you again soon for a longer trip Kind Regards Emily

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 February 2016

If you like to wake in the morning to the sound of running water and the quacking of ducks, this is a great place to stay - provided you get a front room that is. It is a nice large riverside place, though not too big to be overwhelming. The attractive old road bridge is nearby and just a bit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert E
ThamesHotel, Manager at The Thames Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Robert, Thank you for taking the time to review the Thames Hotel we greatly appreciate guest feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards Emily

132 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (83)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maidenhead
0.3 km away
The Thames Riviera Hotel
The Thames Riviera Hotel
#8 of 12 in Maidenhead
654 reviews
2.9 km away
Holiday Inn Maidenhead / Windsor
2.4 km away
Fredrick's Hotel Restaurant Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Grovefield House
Grovefield House
#1 of 3 in Burnham
560 reviews
0.6 km away
Norfolk House Hotel
Norfolk House Hotel
#5 of 12 in Maidenhead
103 reviews
0.8 km away
Taplow House Hotel
Taplow House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Taplow
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry

Additional Information about The Thames Hotel

Address: Ray Mead Road, Maidenhead SL6 8NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Maidenhead
Price Range: $94 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Thames Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your The Thames Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thames Hotel Maidenhead
The Thames Hotel Maidenhead
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Thames Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Thames Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“There is no lift so if you can't manage too many stairs take a 1st floor room”
 of 5 bubbles LancsDuo, 4 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Ask for room. TB1. This is the large room with a balcony overlooking the. Thames”
 of 5 bubbles Shorty44, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at front are spacious and have a lovely river view.”
 of 5 bubbles ColinandPauline, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Please note stairs no lift at the property,”
 of 5 bubbles axeltramp, 16 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Best views are at the front but these are on a main road so higher floors are better”
 of 5 bubbles solo51, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5