We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,558 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,477: English reviews
devon
Reviewed 1 January 2015

Kettle not working; TV control (held together with Sellotape) not working; bedside lampshade torn; carpet dirty; stale smell. Just a few of the faults in the bedroom. Hotel generally very tired: needs to be brought up to the standard this lovely old building and excellent location justify. But must say the breakfast was excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank devonshireantiques
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear devonshireantiques, Thank you for your review and comments which I was very disappointed to read please accept my apologies for this as it is not our normal standard. Please could I ask you to email through to me directly on david.hayden@accor.com the bedroom in which you stayed so I can personally follow this up with the team and ensure...

Berkshire, England
Reviewed 29 December 2014

We stayed for the Christmas break and were pleasantly surprised. The rooms are a fair size although they could benefit from the addition of a safe. The beds were comfortable and the food was of a good standard. The position is perfect, close to the castle and shops. The Christmas Day quiz was an interesting mix of the odd and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PavlH
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear PavlH, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. I was delighted to read you had an enjoyable festive stay with us and hope we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind Regards, David Hayden General Manager

Windsor and Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 December 2014

Had Xmas lunch here 10 years ago & all went well. So decided to try it again. To be honest wasn't very good at all. Food was cold, main meal served before starters. I feel that waiting staff was agency & did not seem to have a clue what was going on. Saving point was that the senior staff was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Brian W, Thank you for your feedback and please accept my apologies for your experience which is very disappointing after we received some excellent feedback from many others on our package. I am aware we are already in further communication with you separately to this and I am sure we can resolve this to your satisfaction. I hope you...

Berkshire
Reviewed 17 December 2014

We booked afternoon tea at the Castle Hotel as part of a 50th birthday present. Although the ambience and location of the hotel is very nice the Afternoon tea served was disappointing and extremely expensive! Two of us were on a prepaid gift voucher but two others paid separately. £20 per head gave you three small fingers of sandwiches and...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank kazzie4
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear kazzie4, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. I was disappointed to read you did not enjoy your experience with us. I will follow up the comments you have highlighted with the team and review our offering. We are very comparable on prices and offering within our local market place and do often receive excellent feedback on our...

Richardson, Texas
Reviewed 14 December 2014

From the rooms, to the friendly and very accommodating staff, to the lovely, relaxing lounge, really enjoyed the stay. Location is superb on High Street and perfect for walking, exploring, discovering the area's photo ops day or night, Just down and across from Windsor Castle/Castle Hill, the Crooked House, Guildhall, Three Tuns pub (best fish and chips by the way),...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank tthoman
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear tthoman, Thank you for your recent review and feedback following your stay with us. I was delighted to read you had an excellent stay with us and found the staff to be accommodating and friendly, feedback I will delighted to share with them. I hope we can welcome you back to Windsor in the near future. Kind Regards, David...

Cardiff, UK
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We stayed in a Privilege Double for just the one night at the end of a short city break when flying out of Heathrow. When we arrived, we thought it was strange that reception was at the back of the hotel accessed from the car park where many of the parking spaces, for which you’ll be charged £12 a night,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MandH-eurotrippers
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear MandH-eurotrippers, Thank you for your recent review and feedback which I will discuss with the team and action the relevant points that you raise. During next year we have already planned a programme to enhance and revisit areas of the hotel to give them an uplift. I hope we can welcome you back in the future once these works...

Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2014

We stayed at this hotel in April 2012 to be near the castle for a variety of reasons. The car park is a little overcrowded but the 'man' looked after us. Reception was fine and our room was at the rear. The room itself was good but it's fitting were in need of TLC. Hot water was OK after a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 332Traveller
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear 332Traveller, Thank you for your review following your stay with us in April 2012. I appreciate your comments and feedback and hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future. Kind Regards, David Hayden General Manager

Milton Keynes,
Reviewed 9 December 2014

The hotel is lovely, in a great location. I had one of the premier rooms as my colleague was a loyalty card holder. Lovely old 4 poster bed and a view of the castle. Only thing is as it is so old...the walls / ceiling / floor are so thin. Admittedly whoever I could hear at 1am were talking loudly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Claypole
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Claypole, Thank you for your recent review and positive comments about your experience with ourselves. Please accept my apologies that other guests caused some noise issues for you and be assured I will discuss with the team about placing ear plugs in the rooms as standard in December when it can get a little louder in the hotel as...

Guildford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2014

I have just had the most wonderful stay at the Mercure Windsor Castle hotel with my family and friends. We had seven rooms booked and they kindly ensured they were all on the same floor and close together. This Hotel probably has one of the best locations in England, situated directly opposite the Castle. Parking is cheaper than the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Rosie186390
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear Rosie186390, Thank you for your recent review and positive comments which I will be delighted to share with the team. I beleive you were linked to a party where an individual was celebrating recieving an OBE and I'm sure this was a fantastic experience for you all. I'm delighted that we were able to play a small part in...

Surrey
Reviewed 5 December 2014

I attended a works conference with overnight stay and dinner. Both the conference facilities and room facilities were good, basic but comfortable and clean. I have to say the staff in the hotel were exceptional, from the lovely man in the carpark to the barstaff and hotel receptionists. Everyone was cheery, very efficient and nothing was too much trouble. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EscapedNorthernBird
GMMercureCastle, General Manager at Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection, responded to this review

Dear EscapedNorthernBird, Thank you for your recent review and feedback. Thank you for your comments about the staff across all areas of the hotel which I will be delighted to share with them. Please be assured I will follow up on your comments in relation to the shower pressure in your bedroom and have the maintenance team address this. I...

385 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (333)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (70)
Viewed
Bathroom (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (58)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (158)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Windsor hotels
0.0 km away
Macdonald Windsor Hotel
4.6 km away
The Oakley Court
The Oakley Court
#2 of 17 in Windsor
2,092 reviews
0.4 km away
Sir Christopher Wren Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Clarion Collection Harte & Garter Hotel & Spa
0.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Windsor
0.7 km away
Christopher Hotel
Christopher Hotel
#1 of 1 in Eton
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection is a 108 room, 4 star hotel located in Windsor, close to the main gates of Windsor Castle and grounds which is only a few minute's walk. Your hotel booking can include traditional or contemporary rooms, all with internet access and minibar. The Eighteen Restaurant has an award-winning a la carte menu, and Bar18 is perfect for coffee or cocktails. There are 12 fully-equipped event spaces for weddings or presentations. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection

Address: 18 High Street, Windsor SL4 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Windsor and Maidenhead > Windsor
Price Range: $191 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Castle Windsor Hotel Windsor
Accor Castle Windsor
Mercure Windsor
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Windsor
#3 Romantic Hotel in Windsor
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question
Dover, United Kingdom
Melbourne, Australia
Saltash, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
5 days ago

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Castle Hotel Windsor MGallery Collection staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“I believe we had the John Clode room if I remember rightly. Beautiful!”
 of 5 bubbles traveller_fran84, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with view of the Castle”
 of 5 bubbles 1K, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you can get a room overlooking the castle that would be great as we overlooked the car park, not so good.”
 of 5 bubbles juliegA2083IY, 7 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we have found the rooms in the main building are quite cold when checking in early. though I am assured that they warm up later.”
 of 5 bubbles Linmo, 21 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view of the castle”
 of 5 bubbles katrinah725, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5