We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Lygon Arms Hotel

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveller (1094)
360
Panoramas (2)
Videos (3)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#5 of 5 hotels in Broadway
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Imagine a hotel where roaring log-burning open fireplaces hint at its roots dating from the 1300's, with a vaulted ceiling and original wood panelling built in the seventeenth century. Visit a hotel that has been coloured by the characters of history. At The Lygon Arms, with its 86 rooms you can stay in the suite that King Charles I once met with his supporters. See the carvings of John Travis' name on the arch of the front door, etched into the hotel's history in 1620 and many other original features. Dine in Grill or our traditional Tavern with menus created by celebrity chef James Martin, or enjoy a coffee or a Cotswold Gin and tonic in one of our many lounges. Lygon Spa has a swimming pool, sauna, steam room, jacuzzi, fitness studio, nail bar and 7 treatment rooms. Enjoy the Lygon gardens, a stroll down the High Street or adventure into the rolling Cotswolds hills. Perfect for romance, family, teams, outdoor activities, country pursuits, shopping, history, arts and culture, garden tours.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Children's television networks
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Solarium
Steam room
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
First aid kit
24-hour front desk
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Seating area
Telephone
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Private bathrooms
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Classic
Quaint
Languages Spoken
English
1,830Review22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,085
  • 331
  • 206
  • 120
  • 88
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Wayne O wrote a review 14 Apr
1 contribution2 helpful votes
The hotel restaurant experience was truly awful. The service ( lack of it) was appalling . After I complained about the poor service at breakfast the response from the breakfast manager was truly shocking. Won't be returning. 3 star place at best !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Nesbitt, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Dear 839wayneo I was disappointed to read your review, please accept my sincere apologies for the poor service you received. It would be most helpful if you could call me directly on 01386 852255 as I am keen to understand when you stayed with us, which in turn will allow me to speak with those team members who were on duty throughout your visit.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Couver257 wrote a review Aug 2023
St. Albans, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Hotel's Favourite
I had read quite a few reviews before taking the plunge and booking a 3 night break at the Lygon Arms for me and my friend. I nearly booked a different hotel as some of the reviews that we had read were quite negative however, we were limited with the dates we could get away so we decided to go and try for ourselves. Parking was easy, we used the car park at the back of the hotel and walked through the courtyard to the reception. Directions for the car park were emailed to me after I had booked. Remember to put your number plate details into the tablet in the hotel reception. The check in process was straight forward and we were shown to our rooms by Seth who did a great job of effortlessly carrying our overpacked and rather heavy suitcases! We did point out a few problems with the room that we were shown, this was quickly escalated to the duty manager (Noel) who visited us and agreed that we could change rooms. There was a snag that the hotel was nearly at capacity however Noel did his best for us and moved us to a temporary room for the night until another became available the following day. The room that we were moved to was very quirky but we appreciated the effort made to move us and made the most of the experience. We ate at the Grill and to be honest were not expecting much due to several reviews that we had read however, we had the most delicious meals. I had the prawn cocktail followed by the Halibut and my friend had the Burrata and then the lamb as a main course. Others have mentioned James Martin in previous reviews as his name is attached to the Grill but we think that the chef and kitchen staff need a shout out for sending out such great food. The staff in the restaurant were attentive without being intrusive, not that we would mind that kind of thing but I understand that some people would. Rebeca looked after us very well. We had another chat with Noel and mentioned a few items that we felt were missing from our temporary room and on return to our room were very pleasantly surprised to find these items waiting for us. Breakfast was as you would expect. Plenty of choice. In our experience the cooked breakfasts were plentiful and again, delicious. The French toast was just scrummy. not at all stodgy but very light with a sprinkling of honeycomb. My friend liked that there was an option of having mugs instead of tea/coffee cups. We were shown to our new room which overlooked the courtyard and were delighted with it. We didn't book any treatments in the spa so can't comment on that. We pretended to use the gym for all of 5 minutes before heading to the pool, jacuzzi, steam and sauna rooms. These areas were very clean as were the changing rooms. The hotel itself is very beautiful, full of character and warm/inviting. It is genuinely dog friendly, so much so that I felt quite guilty for not bringing my dog with us on this occasion. The hotel has some darker areas and wonky floors as you would expect but this just adds to it's charm. There are also stone flooring in some areas but plenty of rugs/ carpets so walking in heels shouldn't be too much of a problem. I managed although I had to hold on to my friends arm once outside the hotel as the pavements aren't too heel friendly. We were given recommendations on other places for dinner and tried the Indian restaurant near the green, the food there was also delicious. I would suggest booking a table in advance as they seem to be very popular. We ended up back in the Grill on our last night where we both ordered the prawn cocktail again and some fries as we weren't too hungry. My friend doesn't often eat fish/prawns but she had tried my starter on the first night and agreed that it was delicious which coming from her is praise indeed! All in all our experience was very positive one despite our initial disappointment and this was thanks to the kindness and efficiency of the staff. We were made to feel welcome and were not made to feel at all daft even when Noel attended our new room to help with a rather silly scenario for which I thank him! We tend not to go back to the same hotel as there are so many other places to visit however, we both agreed that we would stay at this hotel again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2023Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Dogs will be just as welcome as they’re owners.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Nesbitt, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 1 Sept 2023
Dear Couver257 Thank you for leaving such a detailed review after visiting the Lygon Arms and I am delighted you have highlighted so many of thew team by name, which allows us to ensure they are recognised for delivering amazing service. I am so pleased you had such a wonderful time when with us and your kind words about our delicious food at dinner and breakfast are truly appreciated as is the fantastic feedback on the service you experienced throughout the hotel. We are thrilled that you will buck your trend of not going to the same hotel twice and will revisit us soon. Please ease your guilt and bring your dog with you on the next time too! Thank you once again and we will look forward to welcoming you back soon. We will look forward to lweocming you back soon and with your dog too!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
UkBobbin wrote a review 9 Apr
uk282 contributions79 helpful votes
What a truly wonderfully friendly high end hotel. Everything was beyond helpful and not too much trouble. Highly recommend it to everyone. Staff are to be commended on their cheerfulness and attention to detail. Let’s not forget house keeping and staff who changed our duvets. Go ! And Enjoy !
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Nesbitt, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear UkBobbin I was delighted to read you found our hotel and team friendly and that you would highly recommend us. Thank you for highlighting our team as being cheerful and attentive, your kind words are truly appreciated and will be shared with all our team. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
David R wrote a review 8 Apr
2 contributions
The suite we booked was just wonderful. The bed very comfy, the sofas and chairs in our lounge were excellent, the bathroom for very clean and warm. We had afternoon tea, breakfasts and evening meal. Unable to fault. Breakfast buffet was extensive. Service was impeccable , it’s our favourite hotel!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Step into the hotel and just relax! The staff will find you and attend.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Nesbitt, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear N1150IGdavidr Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read you found our food offerings delicious and that the service you received from the team was impeccable. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Wendy T wrote a review 7 Apr
1 contribution
Had a wonderful stay for a birthday treat to see my daughter who works at the Lygon arms spa. The beds were so comfortable and the food was amazing with exceptional service from Seb in the Russell’s restaurant!! He was helpful, friendly and funny! Thank you for a lovely stay.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Graeme Nesbitt, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear L6370YEwendyt Thank you for your lovely kind words following your visit to see your daughter. I was delighted to read the team looked after you so well. Thank you once again.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Jonathan J wrote a review 5 Apr
Hereford, United Kingdom12 contributions3 helpful votes
Very comfortable, well appointed, spacious bathroom and nice room. Attentive staff, cosy atmosphere and good food. We stayed with a party of friends for a special birthday and while The Lygon is not a budget hotel it is value for moneygiven the location and style it is in.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Connor, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear 612jonathan Thank you for writing your review of your recent visit to The Lygon Arms and thank you for your lovely words. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the room, the cosy atmosphere, the food and that the team looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mrs Bucket wrote a review 2 Apr
32 contributions40 helpful votes
We stayed for four nights in a beautiful courtyard room at £365 a night bed and breakfast, with our little doggie Our car was parked for us on arrival, and luggage carried to our room. The room was very nice, with good toiletries, bottled water and good quality bed linen We ate dinner each night in the Russell room, food was lovely, attentive friendly service. All staff were friendly and professional.. really looked after us The reason for two stars is this… When we arrived we used the bathroom. The lavatory would not flush… embarrassing… had to phone reception. A gentleman arrived shortly after, and took about fifteen minutes to repair.. I then went to use the iPad in the room. That didn’t work either. Reported it. Noel quickly came and replaced for us. On the morning we went home, the flush had stopped working again. We were not happy at all… A flushing toilet is a basic requirement in your room.. The next day I completed the feedback form from the hotel, and explained about the difficulties with our lavatory and that we were not satisfied.. I got a simple email back from the hotel offering their sincere apologies… Really….? Do The Lygon Arms really think it’s acceptable to pay £365 a night for b and b, and have to use a dog bowl of water to clear away toilet waste!! They wrote” We hope you come back” I don’t think so….
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
3 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Connor, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Twinkletoes44 Thank you for taking your time to write your review after your recent stay at The Lygon Arms. I am pleased to read there were a number of positives during your stay including the room, the food, the service and the team. My apologies there was a challenge with the toillet flush, which the team had repaired and tested once it was brought to our attention, however, clearly there was a bigger issue as this stopped working again come the morning. Thank you for bringing this to our attention in the morning as your husband wanted to ensure we knew that this was still an issue so the next guest would not be affected. This resulted in us getting a plumber out that day to swap out some parts to repair the toilet flush. I know when your husband spoke to the team on the departure day, he said he had a fabulous stay and that the toilet issue would not stop him from coming back. Thank you for highlighting Noel by name, which in turn allows me the opportunity of ensuring Noel is recognised for his prompt resolution in replacing the tablet.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
99PSB wrote a review Mar 2024
Bristol, United Kingdom793 contributions238 helpful votes
Visited on Easter Sunday for lunch in Grill. Service from Petra was excellent! As I tend to have the same main dish each week this was the best ever chicken Caesar salad! Top marks to the chef who prepared it! My wife adored her lamb shank too. Our starter were also faultless!
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Connor, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 99PSB Thank you for taking the time to write your review and I am delighted you enjoyed your Sunday lunch at the Grill. I will pass your feedback on to the team. Thank you for highlighting Petra by name, which in turn allows me the opportunity of ensuring Petra is recognised for her excellent service. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Debbie W wrote a review Mar 2024
Reigate1 contribution
We had a wonderful stay at the Lygon Arms with family, the history and location of the hotel is ideal. We enjoyed using the indoor pool, hot tub and steam room. The food was delicious and staff were all so kind and helpful. Definitely recommend staying here, plus check with reception as you get a discount of some of the local shops.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: If you like a newspaper, don’t forget to order at reception, it’s included. Enjoy your stay.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Connor, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear DebbieandRoger Thank you for writing your review of your recent visit to The Lygon Arms and thank you for your lovely words. I was delighted to read you enjoyed the Spa, your meals were delicious and that our team looked after you so well. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Derek L wrote a review Mar 2024
5 contributions3 helpful votes
The Lygon arms in Broadway, is a fantastic hotel in a stunning location. The old building is full of contemporary design and is simply a delight. All the breakfast, lunch and dinner food that experience was of the highest standard and all the staff made my stay amazing, nothing was too much trouble for them
Read more
Date of stay: March 2024
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Darren Connor, Innkeeper at The Lygon Arms Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear derekIF7110SU Thank you for writing your review of your recent visit to The Lygon Arms and thank you for your lovely words. I was delighted to read you had a wonderful experience, your meals were of the highest standard and staff were amazing. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Broadway area.
PRICE RANGE
S$354 - S$521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
barcelo the lygon arms hotel broadway, barcelo lygon arms, barcelo hotel lygon arms, lygon arms broadway
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsBroadway
NUMBER OF ROOMS
86
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE LYGON ARMS HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 1,221 Photos (Broadway, England) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Lygon Arms Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Nearby attractions include High Street Broadway (0.01 km), Gordon Russell Design Museum (0.1 km), and Broadway Playground (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Flipside, Market Pantry, and Leaf & Bean Tea and Coffee Lounge.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Is The Lygon Arms Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Broadway.
Are pets allowed at The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Lygon Arms Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to The Lygon Arms Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Snowshill Manor and Garden (3.7 km), Snowshill Manor (3.8 km), and Stanway House & Fountain (6.2 km).
Is The Lygon Arms Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.