We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Friar Street, Worcester WR1 2NA England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$57
View deal
Expedia.comUS$57
TravelocityUS$57
Hotels.comUS$57
PricelineUS$57
Agoda.comUS$57
Orbitz.comUS$57
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (161)
Room & Suite (76)
Dining (7)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Regularly sanitised high-traffic areas
Updated 11/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/08/22 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#7 of 11 hotels in Worcester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value

Welcome to Ye Olde Talbot, your Worcester “home away from home.” Ye Olde Talbot aims to make your visit as relaxing and enjoyable as possible, which is why so many guests continue to come back year after year.

While staying at Ye Olde Talbot, visitors can check out Edward Elgar Statue (0.1 mi) and St Swithun's Worcester (0.3 mi), some of Worcester's top attractions.

Ye Olde Talbot offers guests an array of room amenities including a flat screen TV and a desk, and getting online is possible, as free wifi is available.

The hotel offers room service, baggage storage, and newspaper, to make your visit even more pleasant. The property also features free breakfast. Guests arriving by vehicle have access to paid public parking available nearby.

During your visit, be sure to check out one of Worcester's popular lobster restaurants such as Browns at The Quay, Miller & Carter Worcester, and The Olive Branch, all a short distance from Ye Olde Talbot.

If you’re looking for something to do, Worcester Cathedral (0.1 mi) and Tudor House Museum (0.1 mi) are a nice way to spend some time, and they are all within walking distance of Ye Olde Talbot.

Ye Olde Talbot puts the best of Worcester at your fingertips, making your stay both relaxing and enjoyable.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Kids' meals
Show more
Room features
Desk
Room service
Telephone
Iron
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
827Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 217
  • 294
  • 178
  • 80
  • 58
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Becky wrote a review 20 Sep
18 contributions16 helpful votes
We had to wait a while at the desk before checking in due to staff shortages, although apologies were given. The room was basic as expected, clean, comfy mattress, powerful shower, plenty of space. We were slightly disappointed that the booking said a double bed however it was definitely a small double. 'Small double bed' on the booking page would be more appropriate, just like many other hotels do. Fine for one night but had we known then we wouldn't have chosen it due to personal preference. The windows in our room faced Nandos and the main street, so we had to keep the curtains closed most of the time, although these were very tatty, worn and left gaps due to not staying together, so we had to get changed in the bathroom. Church bells and road noise early on a Sunday so would advise earplugs - I came prepared and they worked a treat. The bar didn't have any draught beers working so we went elsewhere. We didn't have breakfast so can't comment on the food. Mostly okay but unlikely we'd stay here again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Heather C wrote a review 20 Sep
Gwithian, United Kingdom79 contributions40 helpful votes
This could be such a goldmine given it’s age and history. Staff were pleasant,although the restaurant staff need to smarten up , press their uniforms ,wear clean shoes and have their hair tidy. The room and corridors are so tatty ,grimy and dated ,badly lit and the carpet was dirty. I don’t think the place has seen any paint or new fittings since Adam was a lad. The wardrobe didn’t have a floor in it, probably the only clean bit of carpet in the room. The bar and restaurant floor was so sticky you could hear shoes leave the floor each step , and no better in the morning. It’s no excuse saying it’s an old building, we’ve stayed in many old places and never one so grubby and tired as this one. It needs a lot of love ,a complete sympathetic refurbishment and a decent cleaning staff and regime. There was no body to speak to to voice our concerns to .
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 2 days ago
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. Our team are very approachable when it comes to feedback whether positive or negative and there is always a duty manager on shift who would have been happy to talk to you at the time
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
c9007rsh wrote a review 20 Sep
Singapore, Singapore74 contributions45 helpful votes
This is the kind of place where you have to be very aware of where you are and what your profile is. You are staying in a medieval guest house with a very long tradition. That is very charming, but it also comes with some peculiarities. I appreciate that every room is different, so my review can only reflect the one I had the pleasure of staying in. First off, the staff are absolutely wonderful at any time. That is a major plus! I arrived late at night following a flight delay and had a hunch that reception may not be 24 hours (though neither the website nor the booking confirmation seem to make mention of that circumstance). I tried to inform the Front Desk about my arrival time, however there is no email address listed on the website so I had to use the contact form - sending my message to the chain headquarters which did not bother forwarding the email to the property until a day after I had checked in. So beware of that when you plan your trip! Nonetheless, luckily Google lists a phone number (and luckily my phone had battery) so I was able to reach someone even that late and was checked in within five minutes. Even then, and throughout, everyone on shift was just lovely and pleasant. The location is fantastic, the price is very attractive; and the breakfast is a small spread but truly outstanding in taste. Breakfast hours are a little short by comparison to the industry, but they coincided well with the time I had to step out anyway. After all, for such few rooms keeping the buffet stocked and staffed for the whole morning would be unsustainable. As for the room, like I said, one needs to be very self-aware. As a business traveller, I missed a few details in my particular room (that were in no way critical): a coat hanger/hook would have been good, a desk and chair to work on, and stable WiFi would have been quite desirable. The lack of a safe meant that I had to leave my valuables out in the open and keep the room on DND for the duration of the stay; well noticing that the doors and locks are quite old, hence not particularly sturdy. That said, the bed was exceptionally comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. Some guests may find the narrow passageways and high steps difficult to navigate - older and less mobile travelers would possibly have some issues. It is, of course, a super old building from a time when nobody lived to be 60 anyway and elevators were still half a millennium away. One can't possibly blame the operators for that and I hope no Karen thinks of doing so. The walls are also very thin and not soundproof, so this is probably not the hotel one should bring their girlfriend to for Valentine's weekend. The windows are - from a continental perspective - almost of illegally poor energy efficiency and high overdue for replacement. So it might get a bit drafty in the deep of winter; or quite hot in the summer. Energy costs must also be insane, which will ultimately reflect in the room rate. With relatively small investments, the place's charm could be quite enhanced. Finding a discernable interior design language and, with reference to the above, some practical considerations would immediately boost the guest experience. Though we all know about the state of British craftsmanship, the one or other renovation works could nonetheless have been done with more precision and eye for detail. Everything works fine though (including the quirky contraption for manipulating the shower tap) and there are no safety concerns. In conclusion: if you are not on your honeymoon and do not need to work intensively in our room, but are looking for a reasonably priced place to stay in a convenient location in Worcester, the Ye Olde Talbot is absolutely recommended. To be fair to the owners and operators, one should however be very aware that this is not, could not and ought not be a Hilton or Holiday Inn Express. It is a cute, charming old English Inn, and as such it is fabulous.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Daydream814346 wrote a review 19 Sep
4 contributions
Excellent hotel right in the centre. Pub was always busy with a great atmosphere. Staff couldn't do enough to help and always happy to recommend places to visit. Loads of choices for breakfast and everything was fresh and hot. Room was large and clean.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Thai Gallery restaurant was amazing.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 4 days ago
Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to all the team who will be delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit, take care!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Worcester Paint Festival wrote a review 4 Sep
1 contribution
I run an event in Worcester called Worcester Paint Festival and have booked several rooms at Ye Old Talbot for artists. Lorna has been AMAZING helping me with this, sorting changes and making sure everything is correct ahead of my guests arriving! Big thanks for being fabulous!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Service
Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 2 weeks ago
Lovely to read your comments about your experience, I'll make sure to pass them on to Lorna. We look forward to welcoming your guests soon.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Relax306182 wrote a review 3 Sep
4 contributions
Lovely service today by Lorna and Vince at Ye Olde Talbot in Worcester. Very Friendly, welcoming and great atmosphere. Would definitely recommend a visit. Excellent wine and great pub with lots of character. Perfect for a glass of wine before going to Vue cinema directly opposite X
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thanks for taking the time to let us know how we did. Have a great day!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Stephen M wrote a review Aug 2022
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom47 contributions52 helpful votes
The only good thing to say is the friendliness of the staff (Lorna) and the central location. My room hadn't seen a coat of paint or a new carpet for 30 years or more. Peeling wallpaper, holes in the walls, battered doors and windows which were virtually opaque due to their dirtiness.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Check out the parking as the NCP next door is £16 per day.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 16 Aug 2022
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
amadoldwoman wrote a review Aug 2022
Cornwall26 contributions5 helpful votes
+1
Bedroom we were shown , didn’t match up to the bedrooms shown on booking.com, far from in, awful room , asked to change, but they said they were full and no other rooms available. We had booked fir two nights and paid on arrival, but asked the lady in charge whilst the actual manager was away, if we could have a refund for the second night and leave. She was vey nice and sympathetic and agreed. The room, was so bad . Food was ok, typical chain choices , breakfast mediocre.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2022
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 5 Aug 2022
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. As requested a refund was given for the 2nd night as you no longer wanted to stay. We are disappointed to hear your comments regarding breakfast as a great breakfast and friendly team are what we are so well know for. Being a 13th century building our rooms come in all shapes and sizes having reviewed the photos booking.com use following your visit we can see that they do have photos of some of our current rooms however with 29 bedrooms in total not all rooms are featured on the site.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jenh207 wrote a review Jul 2022
Birmingham, United Kingdom8 contributions4 helpful votes
How anyone can slate this hotel must be on a different planet Its clean warm the shower is amazing and the food is incredible All those leaving bad reveiws must be snobs of the highest kind Dont listen to the negative posh idiots Bed was comfy shower was the best ive ever had in a hotel and lasagne in the pub was superb
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Hi Jenh207, great to hear you enjoyed your visit to our pub. Hope to see you again soon!
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul M wrote a review Jul 2022
7 contributions2 helpful votes
We booked in to room 21 for two nights. First thing we noticed as we walked into the bathroom was a strong smell of sweat. I switched the extractor on to try to clear the smell but had to turn it back off as it gave out a loud shrieking sound. The reception staff came up to the room on the first night to spray the bathroom and attempted to fix the extractor without success. We raised it again on day 2 and they agreed it needed fixing but did nothing about it so it was still defective when we checked out this morning We were offered a change of room as they had a cancellation but when we went to look at room 25, it had a strong musty smell and a large crack in the plasterwork in the bathroom. With no other rooms available, we remained in room 21. We were disturbed throughout our stay by noise from passers by, cars (some travelling at some speed) and a number of delivery trucks and various bin and rubbish collection services. Not a hotel we could recommend if you want a reasonable night sleep.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Greene King, General Manager at Ye Olde Talbot
Responded 26 Jul 2022
Due to our excellent location right in the heart of the city centre some external noise may be heard especially at weekends which is beyond our control. We apologise for the issue with the extractor fan as explained at the time for non urgent repairs our repair company have 24-48hrs to respond meaning they came after your departure we are pleased to say that the engineer rectified the issue as soon as he came out to site. An alternative room was offered but was declined so it was agreed that you were ok to have the room with the extractor switched off.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$69 - US$85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ye olde talbot worcester, ye olde talbot hotel worcester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorcestershireWorcester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
30
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ye Olde Talbot
Which popular attractions are close to Ye Olde Talbot?
Nearby attractions include Worcester Cathedral (0.1 km), Tudor House Museum (0.10 km), and Greyfriars' House and Garden (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Ye Olde Talbot?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ye Olde Talbot?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Ye Olde Talbot?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ye Olde Talbot?
Conveniently located restaurants include Globe Modern Bistro, Friar Street Kitchen, and Anatolian Palace Turkish Mediterranean Grill Restaurant.
Is Ye Olde Talbot located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.5 km away from the centre of Worcester.
Are pets allowed at Ye Olde Talbot?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Are there any historical sites close to Ye Olde Talbot?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Worcester Cathedral (0.1 km), The Firs: Birthplace of Sir Edward Elgar (4.6 km), and The Guildhall Worcester (0.3 km).
Is Ye Olde Talbot accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.