We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Severn Street, Worcester WR1 2NF England
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$120
eDreamsUS$120
Agoda.comUS$120
TripadvisorUS$120
ZenHotels.com
FindHotel
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (240)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (36)

About

#2 of 11 hotels in Worcester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
A Country House Hotel in the heart of the city. We are a Grade II listed building and you will find us located on the Riverside with a spectacular view of the River Severn. From Diglis House Hotel there is easy access on foot to the shops, cafes & tourist attractions that Worcester has to offer. We have superb rooms throughout our hotel buildings with many Superior Rooms & Junior Suites offering a River View. Food is available 12pm - 9pm in our Conservatory Restaurant, Bar and Garden Area. The extended bar area and new William Leader room provides ample space to enjoy a relaxing drink or snack. As Worcester's premier wedding venue, we have three rooms licenced for civil ceremonies and the magnificent backdrop of the River Severn for those special photographs. We also have a selection of meeting rooms that can accommodate meetings up to 100 people. Proud to be the only hotel in Worcester with complimentary Wi-Fi and parking.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Coffee / tea maker
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Romantic
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
1016Reviews5Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 519
  • 267
  • 113
  • 65
  • 53
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Eileen V wrote a review Yesterday
Oxford, United Kingdom2 contributions
Contentment Always wanted to stay at after spending many delightful summer evenings on the Terrace with friends. I loved every moment of my short stay - from the excellent and prompt response of staff to questions at Reception and answers to queries during my stay. My room was elegant, very comfortable with direct access to the Lawns and river. I spent a perfect sunny summers evening there plus a morning run round the river. I enjoyed my healthy tasty breakfast of Birchers Muesli plus slices of all varieties of freshly sliced fruit.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: Rooms with direct access to Lawns overlooking the river.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
DAVID L wrote a review Sep 2022
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom11 contributions6 helpful votes
Stayed for a couple of nights to coincide with Cricket at New Road. As a regular at The Diglis, we weren't disappointed. Staff are always friendly, & efficient in their duties. Food was very good, cooked exactly as requested. Would always recommend & can't wait to return..
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Jules Neal wrote a review Sep 2022
Bishops Stortford, United Kingdom11 contributions2 helpful votes
The hotels location is right on the river and our rooms (had a split reservation as I messed up the booking) both overlooked the river. Room 15 was ground floor with doors onto the garden, room 28 was a junior suite on the second floor and definitely worth paying extra for as much more roomy. Both were lovely and relaxing. Every member of the staff was friendly although I have to commend Gabriella for her patience and sense of humour in sorting out my booking mistake. What a star! Breakfast was extremely tasty. Buffet style for fruit, cereal and toast/pastries and hot food ordered. I would definitely recommend a stay at this city gem. You would not know you were in a city yet Worcester centre is just at the end of the road.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
Room Tip: Junior suite is worth the extra
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Jules. WOW 5*****. Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay, including breakfast, your room, the location, and of course Gabriella. She will be so pleased at your comments. Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ChrisWrig wrote a review Sep 2022
5 contributions1 helpful vote
If you are happy to pay standard rates for a small room where the management do not respond to your complaint and literature in the room threatens a £75 cost if you loose your key then this hotel is for you.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Do not have room 11
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear ChrisWrig. Thank you for your review. You and your colleagues booked 2 standard rooms. You complained to the receptionist about your rooms as you felt one was different to the other. My receptionist passed it to the Head Receptionist who spoke to you about your complaint. As she explained, the hotel was full and we were unable to upgrade you on this occasion. It was left that you were going to write a review about it, but did not ask for any other management involvement. I am so sorry we were unable to upgrade you, but should you be in a position to stay with us in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me and I will personally endeavour to look after you. Kind Regards. Debra JOnes. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Trevor P wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
Once found, the Diglis was as good as I remembered it being from many years ago but one way traffic systems and obstructive bollards proved a dilemma initially for this elderly traveler and vehicle with no satnav! All was well once a viable route was established and the staff could not have been more helpful at reception and in serving the still excellent breakfast. Many thanks.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Some rooms may have a view of the river, as mine did.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trevor. Wow 5*****. Thank you so much for your wonderful review, we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff helpful Of course, a great breakfast helps too. We look forward to welcoming you again soon. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TwoCountryMice wrote a review Sep 2022
Scotland, United Kingdom82 contributions75 helpful votes
I stayed overnight as part of my cycle group on a 4 day tour.Others had chosen other accommodation. The female receptionist Jamie? was most helpful I arrived after a 50 mile ride and was tired. She led me to my room in the annexe….upgrade at no extra cost, thank you…..and helped me install my bike in the ballroom for the night. Lovely quiet room overlooking the lawn and river. I would have enjoyed a luxurious bath but had to meet the rest of the group for dinner, so quick shower etc. Room was perfect. Breakfast offered a wide choice. On leaving I had trouble in getting my bike up the ramp to the car park and road and one of the waitresses willingly came and gave me a push! Great staff and warmest of welcome to 76 year young cyclists on her own. Go there!
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Annexe provides access to lawn and view of river.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
DearTwoCountryMice. WOW 5*****. Thank you so much for your wonderful review. Thank you also for your lovely comments about our staff, Jamie and Rachel in particular. It is always a great feeling to be personally thanked. We do hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
CHRISTINA G wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We stayed st the Diglis House Hotel for two nights. Our room was in the cottage and was large with an adequate seating area with views over the river. The setting is perfect especially on a sunny day when you can sit in the gardens watching the swans, barges and canoeists. It is easy to walk along the river into the city centre (about 10 mins). All the staff were very helpful, friendly and competent which shows that they have had good training from the management. The meals we had were very tasty and our full English breakfast was beautifully presented. Another bonus for us was the free parking. Keep up the good work and thank you for a great stay.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Christina. Thank you for your lovely review. We have to agree, the Diglis has the most beautiful setting and we are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you also for your kind words regarding our staff, it is a real morale boost for the team. With good food and free parking, it sounds like we have ticked all the boxes for you and we look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TrailBlazer798406 wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
The hotel is in a beautiful setting overlooking the River Severn with easy walking in both directions along the towpath. The beer-garden is large and spacious; the staff friendly and attentive. The restaurant, again with fabulous views over the river, serves good-value and tasty food. The only downside for us was the rather cramped size of the bedroom - no surfaces to put things on (iPads etc) and nowhere to sit down. I made this observation to reception when checking out and was advised next time to pay extra for a larger room. Probably good advice.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Trailblazer. Thank you for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff friendly and attentive and the food good. Should you be in a position to re-book, we do have a variety of rooms, from single beds to large suites and we would be more than happy to discuss the options with you so you can make an informed choice on your preferred room so we can ensure you have a room that meets your needs. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jacklyn M wrote a review Sep 2022
1 contribution
We had booked the afternoon before… on arrival the waitress stated that she wasn’t informed about our booking. We enquired about the wine and whiskey selection, however the waitress lacked any knowledge about either and had to visit the bar a couple of times. Our starter (the bread and olives) took quite a while to be cleared, although there were only a few tables in the restaurant. Fortunately our food was decent, however no member of staff check on our table. In addition, when our coffees arrived, one cup had coffee spilled all over the crockery. It was disappointing as we heard such pleasant things about the Diglis prior to our visit, We will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Jacklyn. Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to read your comments, and I can understand you would be disappointed. This is not normal Diglis service and I apologise. Obviously, these issues need to be investigated and reported to the Food and Beverage Department as a priority. Through ongoing training my aim is to ensure outcomes such as this do not happen at the hotel and I take complaints very seriously, constructive criticism is the only way we can improve. Again, I thank you for your email and should you return please make yourself known to the staff so I can personally apologise and endeavour to make your visit far more pleasant. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mark L wrote a review Sep 2022
18 contributions2 helpful votes
Although we did not stay overnight at this hotel, we visited for lunch and enjoyed a lovely fish & chips outdoors, overlooking serene views of the beautiful River Severn. Watching boats, paddle-boarders and swans float past majestically, our lunch was served swiftly and professionally. Top class staff and very attentive. This really is a very pleasant location.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
Location
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Debra Jones, General Manager at Diglis House Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Mark. Thank you for your review. We have to agree, the Diglis is in the most beautiful location. We are thrilled you enjoyed your lunch, and thank you for your kinmd comments about our staff, such a morale booster. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards. Debra Jones. General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$138 - US$149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
diglis hotel worcester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandWorcestershireWorcester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
28
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Diglis House Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Diglis House Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Worcester Cathedral (0.3 km), Tudor House Museum (0.5 km), and Museum of Royal Worcester (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Diglis House Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Diglis House Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Diglis House Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Diglis House Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Globe Modern Bistro, G&Tea, and Thai on 7evern.
Is Diglis House Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Worcester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Diglis House Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Diglis House Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Diglis House Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Diglis House Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Worcester Cathedral (0.3 km), The Firs: Birthplace of Sir Edward Elgar (4.4 km), and The Guildhall Worcester (0.6 km).
Does Diglis House Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the river view available here.