We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Map
Satellite
Map updates are paused. Zoom in to see updated info.
Reset zoom
Updating Map...
29/10/2017 30/10/2017
    There are no pins in your viewport. Try moving the map or changing your filters.
    • {providername} {price}
    {providername} {price}
      {listitems}
    {sold_out_text}
    We can't find prices for this accommodation
    From {rate_price} {rate_periodicity}

    Menai Bank Hotel

    North Road | Gwynedd, Caernarfon LL55 1BD, Wales
    Save
    Lowest prices for your stay
    29/10/201730/10/2017
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    Traveller (26)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Dining (3)
    Overview
    • Excellent51%
    • Very good34%
    • Average12%
    • Poor2%
    • Terrible1%
    Travellers talk about
    “attic room” (7 reviews)
    “b b” (33 reviews)
    Wifi
    Free Parking
    Non-Smoking Hotel
    Family Rooms
    Bar/Lounge
    Breakfast included
    Restaurant
    2.5 Star Hotel
    All hotel details
    Deals
    29 Oct30 Oct
    |
    1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
    View all 0 deals
    Write a Review
    Reviews (203)
    Traveller rating
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    Language

    1 - 5 of 191 reviews

    Reviewed 1 week ago

    Arrived at the hotel to a freindly welcome i had two rooms booked a king room on the ground floor and a king room on the first floor the ground floor had no radiator but did have a heater large rooms but to be honest...More

    Thank 24,240,070
    Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 1 week ago

    I suppose ok is ok! However it's difficult to know how to respond sometimes to some observations. e.g. here...about the radiator? It was I recall mentioned once before. Since then I try always to point out to anyone upon checking into that room (and I...More

    Reviewed 2 weeks ago

    Lucky us, we had room #2 with a very good view down to the river. Room was big and light, clean but old. It really needs lots of TLC through out. Nice bar, with an attentive owner Patrick who served us over the 2 days...More

    Thank MozziL
    Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 2 weeks ago

    Danke viel mals! or Vielen Dank in proper German!! My Swiss German is a bit rusty now. Yes the hotel is old (1860)...a bit like ourselves and we both need TLC and updating here and there. Every year we rejuvenate some areas and some rooms...More

    Reviewed 4 weeks ago

    Spent a very pleasant night at this hotel. last minute booking. Patrick was a good host. we were given the attic room which was great, very clean. shower worked well. very close to five stars and would have got the five stars if he supplied...More

    Thank martdodd08
    Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 4 weeks ago

    Glad you enjoyed your stay. Don't know how you missed Breakfast?? Perhaps you might enlighten me with a quick phone call or email? Look forward to seeing you again...and making sure you have Breakfast :-) Many thanks for the review.

    Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

    Central to the town centre. Ideal for touring snowdon etc Clean hotel with a lovely comfy bed. Close to Morrisons and Asda. Views over to Anglesey if you're lucky, which we wasnt but we were out and about most of the time. Helpful owners and...More

    Thank kazablanc
    Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 11 September 2017

    Glad you enjoyed your break. The sea-views over to Anglesey change constantly with the weather :-). Even in Winter they can be spectacular especially the sunsets. Thank you for the review.

    Reviewed 23 August 2017 via mobile

    Now I don't believe in bad reviews, it's disrespectful to the establishment and childish. If I enjoy a stay they get a review if I don't we take our custom elsewhere. We came here for a few day's break, and after reading some reviews I...More

    Thank poppie1960
    Response from PIPCaernarfon, Owner at Menai Bank HotelResponded 27 August 2017

    Thank you for a fair and balanced review,- and for restoring our faith in our reviewers :-) Not sure but I think that old large wardrobe might be called an armoire? TIP: If it looks like we are full on line try telephoning (the old...More

    Black Boy Inn
    1,327 reviews
    #1 of 8 hotels in Caernarfon
     
    Celtic Royal Hotel
    1,042 reviews
    #2 of 8 hotels in Caernarfon
     
    Chateau Rhianfa
    1,039 reviews
    #1 of 5 hotels in Menai Bridge
     
    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,619 reviews
    #2 of 7 hotels in Llanberis
     
    About
    Awards & Recognition
    Certificate of Excellence
    Amenities
    • Top amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Bar/Lounge
    • Hotel Amenities
    • Free Parking
    • Things to do
    • Bar/Lounge
    Details
    • Price range
    • US$76 - US$119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
    • Hotel class
    • Hotel Style
    • #5 Business Hotel in Caernarfon
    • #5 Romantic Hotel in Caernarfon
    • #6 Family Hotel in Caernarfon
    • Room types
    • Non-Smoking Rooms ,
    • Family Rooms
    • Number of rooms
    • 10
    • Reservation Options
    • TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Menai Bank Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
    • Location
    • United Kingdom >
    • Wales >
    • North Wales >
    • Gwynedd >
    • Caernarfon
    Add Photo Photos
    Traveller (26)
    Room & Suite (20)
    Dining (3)
    Hotel & Grounds (25)
    Bathroom (2)
    Nearby
    Celtic Royal Hotel
    1,042 reviews
    .36 km away
     
    Chateau Rhianfa
    1,039 reviews
    13.33 km away
     
    Black Boy Inn
    1,327 reviews
    .60 km away
     
    The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
    1,619 reviews
    10.67 km away
     
    Nearby Restaurants
    Ainsworths Traditional Fish & Chips
    555 reviews
    .56 km away
    The Black Boy Inn
    2,367 reviews
    .61 km away
    Curry Scene
    220 reviews
    .46 km away
    Fu's Cantonese Restaurant
    492 reviews
    .40 km away
    Nearby Attractions
    Caernarfon Castle
    3,075 reviews
    .79 km away
    The Royal Welch Fusiliers Regimental Museum
    228 reviews
    .76 km away
    Caernarfon Town Walls
    205 reviews
    .61 km away
    Redline Indoor Karting
    134 reviews
    1.56 km away
    Ask a question
    Questions & Answers
    24240070
    17 December 2014|
    Answer
    Response from PIPCaernarfon | Property representative |
    There are 3Bfs.. options. 1. £5 from the Buffet (All usual juices,cereals,fruits,toast,teas,coffee etc. 2. FOC for the self service kitchen. 3.Traditional Cooked £8 You don't have to book Bfs. until you check in. Gluten... More
    0
    Votes
    Room Tips
    "Our room was Room #5 with good views and was nice and big"
    Read review
    "Pay the extra few pounds to get the sea view"
    Read review
    "Not telling as I don't want everyone getting our favourite room"
    Read review
    "Request a front room, stunning view."
    Read review
    Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
    Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing