We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Waterloo Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Waterloo Hotel
Waterloo Hotel
Panoramas (20)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

591 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Waterloo Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 586: English reviews
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2016

stayed here for 2 nights with my mum and sister and we had 3 rooms in the main building next to each other.The rooms were quite spacious and there was plenty of tea and coffee and a kettle. We booked direct with the hotel on a bed, breakfast and evening meal basis. My only complaint was that my bed was... More 

Helpful?
Thank jacsMaryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed in one of the deluxe lodges behind reception, very nicely decorated inside rooms, bathroom clean, nice outdoor sitting area. Use of the gym and pool included. Excellent facilities, breakfast was fantastic, good quality produce from local area. Great hotel!

Helpful?
Thank Elvis4444
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

This place came highly recommended from a friend but to say I was disappointed was an understatement. On arrival we checked in to be told kitchen was shut but could book in for the evening so we did so. Found our room to which backed on to the main railway line just what we wanted not. So we ate in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Chunky1874
Ambassedor, Manager at Waterloo Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr Kennerley Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. I was dissapointed to see that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I will be addressing the issues raised regarding breakfast with the kitchen and front of house team. The different eggs on offer are instead of the fried eggs... More 

Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016

We were out the back of the hotel, which to begin with we thought was a little odd as we were away from the hotel itself but on reflection it was great. We could park out the front of our room and we had our own front door. The room was a good size, very comfortable bed, bathroom was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sianiewarnie
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2016 via mobile

We booked in advance for lunch on a Sunday and we're looking forward to it. The Yorkshire puddings were microwaved to warm them up, only new potatoes available. Gravy was like water, meat wasn't great. Disappointed to be honest.

Helpful?
1 Thank teithiwrjones
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 October 2016

I booked myself and my son into the Waterloo Hotel last week for his 21st Birthday - following on from a trip to Zip World. I paid £200 for a Luxury Lodge on the Dine in Snowdonia deal. The restaurant and bar area are lovely, and look recently refurbished. Breakfast was amazing - plenty of choice and great quality. Great... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank TracyShillitoe
Rockingham, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2016

The town/location is just amazing. So gorgeous and lovely to be in after busy cities. The hotel is towards the end of the main street which makes in it feel relaxed and quiet but an easy walk into town. We did dinner and breakfast in the restaurant and very much enjoyed the food and feel of the experience. For the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kira C
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016

That there was an on site Jacuzzi, Sauna, Steam room and indoor pool was a godsend for my friends and I after our ill prepared, but albeit successful, ascent and descent of Snowdon. To have come back to our hotel, with its free parking for our 12 seater, and be able to use the spa facilities, including complimentary towels, was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kamtona7
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Visited for the carvery and was suitably impressed. After struggling to find somewhere who could cater for intolerances we ended up here. The carvery is probably the best I've had, largely down to the relatively small amount of food out for customers. This ensured everything was so fresh and tasted great. Lovely staff too. Definitely recommend a visit for a... More 

Helpful?
Thank richc5683
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2016 via mobile

Would have given 5 stars if there hadn't been delay at check in. Everything was spotless, staff welcoming and helpful but not intrusive. Breakfast was fab with a good selection and had the best bacon ever! Bar prices reasonable, would love to stay again

Helpful?
1 Thank Anne c

419 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (42)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (272)
Viewed
Amenities (16)
Viewed
Deluxe Lodge Room (40)
Viewed
Pool (23)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Second Deluxe Lodge Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Lodge Room (30)
Viewed
The Hotel (66)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Betws-y-Coed
0.7 km away
Royal Oak Hotel
Royal Oak Hotel
#2 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
629 reviews
0.4 km away
Ty Gwyn Hotel
Ty Gwyn Hotel
#1 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
621 reviews
0.5 km away
Craig-y-Dderwen
Craig-y-Dderwen
#4 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.8 km away
Bryn Eglwys Country House Hotel
0.6 km away
Swallow Falls Hotel
Swallow Falls Hotel
#6 of 7 in Betws-y-Coed
466 reviews
21.6 km away
The Royal Victoria Hotel Snowdonia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The WATERLOO HOTEL and STATIONS leisure complex is the ideal base for discovering the endless array of what beautiful North Wales and its coast has to offer..... mountain biking on the famous Marin trail, summiting the heights of mount Snowdon, sitting still and taking in the breath-taking scenery, adventure days caving or cannyoning, building sandcastles on one of the many golden beaches or leisurely strolls around lakes and woodland....there is something for everyone... and at the WATERLOO HOTEL our aim is to help you bring your holiday to life.............. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterloo Hotel

Address: Holyhead Road, Snowdonia National Park, Betws-y-Coed LL24 0AR, Wales (Formerly Best Western)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Snowdonia National Park > Betws-y-Coed
Price Range: $162 - $281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterloo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Waterloo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Betws y Coed
Betws-y-Coed Best Western
Waterloo Hotel Betws-y-Coed, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterloo Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Durham
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Waterloo Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Lodge no 60 - end of terrace, quiet, and nearest to walk to hotel”
 of 5 bubbles jdybnsn, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Get a room at the back in the main hotel if you don't want traffic noise.”
 of 5 bubbles 6blairp, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We stayed in 42 but I think all room are the same”
 of 5 bubbles diane123helsby, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
“One that doesn't face the main road.”
 of 5 bubbles RossW72, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Choose a room in the grounds”
 of 5 bubbles KenCS46, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay