We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ty Helyg Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Ty Helyg Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

85 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
There are newer reviews for Ty Helyg Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 83: English reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2016 via mobile

Just spent long weekend at Ty Hellyg. Fab time. The room was clean with items and small touches that would not look out of place at a 5 star hotel. Fresh milk for your tea and coffee in your room, hairdryer etc. Christine and John were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble, with good advice on food in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mikeviewingtheworld
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Look forward to seeing you again soon. All the best Christine and John

Reviewed 20 October 2016

We spent three days at this lovely B&B where the owners couldn't have been nicer and nothing was too much trouble. They were so helpful telling us the best walks and how to get to them and lent us maps and printed us out directions of how to find them. Very comfortable and clean rooms and delicious breakfasts. It was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Bridget, Thank you so very much for taking the time to leave a review of your visit to Ty Helyg. John is always pleased to share some of his newly acquired knowledge of the local area and advise on places to visit and walks to take and as you know, there are heaps of maps etc for our guests...

Reviewed 19 October 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay for visiting this beautiful part of Wales, comfortable rooms with good breakfast. Easy parking and very easy to book with great communication. We had a walking weekend, this is a great base for the many local activities. Would stay again and highly recommended this very near to town centre guest house

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John2210
Christine C, Manager at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

We always try to make the booking process as straightforward as possible and are always happy to do what we can to make our guests stay as comfortable as possible. Thanks you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us, we're very pleased that you enjoyed it. Best wishes Christine and John

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We stayed here back in may for a walking holiday. So cosy and so welcoming, the rooms are spacious and really clean, the hosts are really friendly and helpful. the breakfast was also above and beyond and very impressive s they use local produce. Best place to stay in brecon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Soph_Explore
Christine C, Manager at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for such a lovely review. Kind regards Christine and John

Preesall
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Stayed here for one night, with my dog, in a lovely, comfy twin room. Christine, the owner, provided me with water bowl, towels and a duvet cover - just incase my girl should decide to hop on the other bed in the night.....but she did stay in her own bed ☺ The toiletries were devine, and had everything you need....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Papique1
Christine C, Manager at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

Well we thought you may have got lost - you had such an awful journey to us so we were so pleased that we were able to make you feel comfortable and relaxed when you arrived. It's a real bonus being so close to the canal but even more so for dog owners like yourself I'm sure. We'd be delighted...

Barry, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Very nice place to stay. The place has been totally renovated to a high standard. The couple who own and run this place are very friendly. Only literally 59 second walk to to the town center and a couple of minutes away from the canal and theater. I would definitely come and stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Antony G
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you Anthony for your lovely comments, they are really much appreciated. Very best wishes Christine and John

Reviewed 29 September 2016 via mobile

We were recommended Ty Helyg and we're not disappointed! Christine and John were perfect hosts. Delicious breakfast. Late night chatting with hosts and another guest over teas and coffee. Loved it! Brecon is beautiful! A lovely restaurant recommended by hosts.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Barbara, We had a thoroughly enjoyable time chatting with you and the other guest that evening, rare but wonderful evenings like that are treasured and one of the reasons we love what we do so much. A total pleasure - thank you so much for staying and for your lovely company Warmest regards Christine and John

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 September 2016

Nicely furnished room with and excellent bathroom and as walkers, a big plus was a bath! Brecon is a lovely old town with plenty of places to eat and drink and (obviously) top walking. We'll definitely be back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 865PhilR
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

Absolutely delighted that you appreciated the bath and the rest of the furnishings too - although I suspect that the bath was your preferred place to be after all your walking! We look forward to your return visit. Very best wishes Christine and John

Cotswold
Reviewed 25 September 2016

The B&B is well located and a good value. The building has been extensively redone and is warm and comfortable. The hosts , John and Christine, are extremely helpful and kind. They provided service above and beyond . Breakfast was quite good.We only booked one night but would definitely recommend this B&B for a longer stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sarabL3129KJ
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind and glowing review - it's very much appreciated. John and I are delighted that you enjoyed your visit with us and look forward to mybe seeing you for a longer stay in the future. Kindest regards Christine and John

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 September 2016

My cousin visiting from Brooklyn and I stayed here earlier this week and decided it was the best place we'd stayed in Wales, having toured from the north to south for several days. Christine and John made us feel at home immediately on arrival. The decor, cleanliness and comfort and breakfast is superb. We'd just been to Islay sampling at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ruth D
Christine C, Owner at Ty Helyg Guest House, responded to this review

What a happy coincidence for your cousin to find the Penderyn here in our honesty bar, it was so nice to see it being enjoyed so much. Now John just loves an excuse to light the log burner and to discover that it made such an impact for you both has made his day. We're both delighted that you enjoyed...

60 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (53)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (28)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brecon hotels
0.8 km away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
440 reviews
4.2 km away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
835 reviews
0.9 km away
The Coach House
The Coach House
#2 of 45 in Brecon
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Borderers Guest House
Borderers Guest House
#7 of 45 in Brecon
102 reviews
0.2 km away
The Grange Guest House
The Grange Guest House
#9 of 45 in Brecon
35 reviews
0.3 km away
Markets Tavern Hotel
Markets Tavern Hotel
#20 of 45 in Brecon
66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable 4* guest house (B&B) in Brecon in a characterful Georgian Townhouse. All rooms are en suite. Wifi, guest lounge, drying room and licensed bar. Lovely selection of cereals, fruit, yoghurt along with traditional cooked breakfast packed with local ingredients. Dog friendly. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ty Helyg Guest House

Address: 39 The Watton, Brecon Beacons National Park, Brecon LD3 7EG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Brecon Beacons National Park > Brecon
Price Range: $131 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ty Helyg Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ty Helyg Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ty Helyg Guest House Brecon, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ty Helyg Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Westerham, United Kingdom
3 months ago
Beith, United Kingdom

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ty Helyg Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at front can hear road”
 of 5 bubbles netball25, 30 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Book a room facing the back if you need quiet. The main road can be noisy early in the morining”
 of 5 bubbles hilarypeters1, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Only two rooms are available for dogs, so better to book direct to ensure a room is available”
 of 5 bubbles Papique1, 2 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rear rooms are best during the Brecon Jazz weekend due to revelers.”
 of 5 bubbles peterw935, 21 Aug 2016 | Read review
“First floor”
 of 5 bubbles hazelp961, 27 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5