We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

NosDa Hostel & Bar

Hostelworld.comUS$35*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
NosDa Hostel & Bar
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

206 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for NosDa Hostel & Bar
See the most recent reviews
Showing 177: English reviews
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Lovely budget hostel in an excellent location in Cardiff. The breakfast was excellent, staff were helpful and it's right on the river. Unfortunately my bed was extremely uncomfortable, otherwise it was great.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ola a
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Great review, thank you very much for that! It's lovely to hear you had a nice time with us and that our staff was helpful to you. We have replaced a lot of mattresses over the last couple of months, but some still need replacing which we are looking to do in the near future. Sounds like our free...

shrewsbury
Reviewed 4 May 2016

great place, accommodation was clean and as described. Staff are brilliant, very helpful, nothing was too much hastle, including making 10 pizzas for us! couldn't ask for more! Highly recommended for groups wanting to stop in cardiff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mightyme247
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor, we really appreciate it. Amazing rating, thanks again. It was lovely to have your group stay with us, and as you had pre-ordered the pizzas it wasn't a problem at all to prepare them for you! We hope you enjoyed it. If you have any...

Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 1 May 2016 via mobile

This place is excellent, do not be deceived by the looks of the entrance. Well kept, spotless clean. I stayed in a single room. Very spacious. The place is full of young people. So expect some noise late night, but it is a hostel, not the Sheraton! No wifi in the room, just in the lobby. They make many tasty...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Luke_1979_Lux
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hello Luke, Thank you very much for your 5* rating! We've recently renewed our menu so it's good to know that you're loving our new pizzas, as well as our selection of local ales. We hope you liked Cardiff and will stay at NosDa again in the future!

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 25 April 2016 via mobile

Being a former hotel, the Nosda hostel is a very spacious and friendly hostel! Warm showers, warm staff and nice rest area where you can watch tv or enjoy a lovely craft beer! Over all, an enjoyable stay!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brian H
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Brian, Thank you for your lovely comments! We enjoyed having you here as well and are glad to hear you had a nice time in Cardiff

Reviewed 24 April 2016 via mobile

Called in for coffee and a snack after visiting Cardiff farmers market this afternoon with friends. I'd ordered coffee and asked if food was being served at around 12.15. The lady was a bit off and had to ask a colleague if they were ok to serve food and to put the oven back on as they'd only just finished...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kerri A
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Kerri, thanks for your comments. You noted that we had not long finished serving breakfast, on Sunday this was to over 130 people. That's why we don't open to the public until 12 noon. The oven isn't used for breakfast, and takes a while to heat up, which is why food can sometimes take longer when we first open....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 23 April 2016

Close and easy to find from the train station and a great price. Had a nice view of the stadium and river from my room, which was huge. Close to the castle and city centre and lots of information on what to do in the area. The wifi worked okay in the room sometimes, but was quirky and sometimes wouldnt...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Johnna R
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Johnna, Thank you very much for your nice comments! We hope you'll stay with us again the next time you're in Cardiff!

Reviewed 21 April 2016 via mobile

A great place to stop on a budget! It's possible to get a private room, and I was fortunate to have one with a balcony overlooking the river and millennium stadium. Breakfast is very basic, so don't rely on it too much. Use the money saved on the room to get yourself a decent breakfast!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank beardie_traveller
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 April 2016

We were a large group and NOSDA accommodated us all 5 minutes from Cardiff City Centre. Rooms were clean and the Staff very friendly and helped us make the most of our stay. The complimentary breakfast went down a treat. Nosda was very welcoming and we would recommend them to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank iuswacommittee
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi Connor, Thank you so much for your kind words and 5* rating! We had a great busy weekend, and lovely to have your group staying with us. Good to hear our continental breakfast was sufficient and our staff friendly & helpful!

Wiltshire
Reviewed 28 March 2016 via mobile

This place has a great location, 5 minutes from the station and from the centre and it overlooks the river which is nice too. The staff are great and really friendly and it has a lovely atmosphere down in the bar. Me and my friend went over the Easter bank holiday weekend and had a private room on the top...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tjs2408
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, We are always happy to hear any customer feedback, good or bad, so thank you for leaving a review. We do apologise for the situation, but unfortunately as you've said, the behaviour of other guests is sometimes out of our control. Thank you for all positive comments about our hostel, but we are very sorry to hear that some...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2016 via mobile

I walk past this place often, and everyone always seem to be enjoying themselves, but this is the first time I've been in. The bar staff were polite and friendly. The furniture/decor is really comforting and relaxed. I like all the local interest magazines spread around. Lovely pint of Amstel that is about 50p less than the norm. Will definitely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IOT78
NosDaCardiff, Manager at NosDa Hostel & Bar, responded to this review

Hi, Thanks for stopping by and taking the time to review us. Lovely to hear your comments and hopefully we will become your new local pub to go to!

91 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (60)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.7 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.6 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#22 of 73 in Cardiff
807 reviews
1.3 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Novotel Cardiff Centre
#11 of 73 in Cardiff
2,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Cardiff
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#25 of 73 in Cardiff
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
NosDa has the best location for a hostel in the Welsh capital. On the River Taff, NosDa is opposite Wales’ most iconic building, the Millennium Stadium (Cardiff Castle and Cardiff Central Station are just a stone's throw away). NosDa means 'good night' in Welsh and that is exactly what we are promising. We are the only hostel on the River Taff with a licensed bar and not only that, NosDa is an established live music venue too. What better place to stay than a typically Welsh hostel with local bands, Welsh food & drinks, and local artists bringing you closer to the Welsh culture. We regularly organise beer festivals and Open Mic nights, and all Rugby World Cup and 6 Nations games are featured on our big screen. On a match day you can hear the crowd going wild at the Millennium Stadium, that's how close we are! Even though NosDa is one of the largest hostels in Cardiff, it is proud to have the reputation of being friendly and personal with well-travelled international and local staff on hand 24/7. We are also proud to be a member of Europe's Famous Hostels, which stands for quality and great customer service for an unbeatable price. We welcome international backpackers as well as Stag & Hen parties, rugby teams and school groups. NosDa is experienced in group accommodation and offers a variety of room types to suit all needs. We have a great communal kitchen and plenty of common space to chill out, watch TV, read a book or catch up on emails. Meet your fellow travellers whilst tasting some of our local ales and ciders! ... more   less 

Additional Information about NosDa Hostel & Bar

Address: 53-59 Despenser Street | Riverside, Cardiff CF11 6AG, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $33 - $247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — NosDa Hostel & Bar 2*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your NosDa Hostel & Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
NosDa Hostel & Bar Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from NosDa Hostel & Bar staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from NosDa Hostel & Bar staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Great location”
dnsn63, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“Quiet room is on the top floor number 50”
Carol2Aberystwyth, 7 May 2017 | Read review
“book early... There are loads of room options but Cardiff is a popular destination for groups.”
davidsU3889EV, 29 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room #30 or #12 are decent sized and offer good storage for when room is full!”
274allyb, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Book in advance, cheaper away from Fridays and Saturdays, enjoy the party atmosphere”
mjws1968, 28 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$35* /night
View Deal
Expedia.com
Priceline
Hotels.com
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates