We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Village Hotel Cardiff

Save
Share
Hotel Cardiff Hotel Cardiff 29 Pendwyallt Road Coryton, Cardiff CF14 7EF Wales
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
US$111
View deal
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Official Hotel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (397)
Room & Suite (166)
Dining (40)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitised in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitiser available to guests & staff
  • Stay-at-home policy for staff with symptoms
Read more
Updated 29/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 29/09/21 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#33 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Village Hotel Cardiff is just off the M4 - Junction 32 and is conveniently located 4 miles from the hustle and bustle of the City Centre and the Cardiff Bay area. Cardiff Train Station and Cardiff Airport or just 4 miles away. Nearby attractions include Caerphilly Castle, St Davids Dewi Sant and the Red Dragon Centre. Village Hotel Cardiff has 130 bright and modern bedrooms, uber stylish dining at the all day pub and grill, Starbucks Coffee Shop, a state-of-the-art Health and Fitness Club, Swimming Pool, Meeting and Conference Centre and Business Club, Live Party Nights, Wedding Licence, parking and free wi-fi throughout the hotel.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Indoor pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Aerobics
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Sauna
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Complimentary instant cofffee
Kids' meals
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Desk
Housekeeping
Room service
Clothes rack
Flatscreen TV
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Iron
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English
3698Reviews29Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,256
  • 1,077
  • 720
  • 365
  • 281
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Daniel wrote a review Today
107 contributions31 helpful votes
+1
Absolutely brilliant from start to finish, all staff in all areas very friendly. App is probably essential, when booking tables etc (makes sense with current restrictions in Wales?!) The rooms too warm??? There’s a thermostat, turn it down?! But food was reasonably priced, certain people expect the ritz. Pool was really nice, not much if anything to complain about!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Room 255 Book in advance for restaurant online or via app.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Anonymous wrote a review 8 Jan
1 contribution
We arrived at the hotel after being reassured TWICE before our arrival that there was no need to reserve a table to dine in the hotels restaurant and that there would be plenty of tables to accommodate us. Because of such reassurance, we arrived at the hotel smartly dressed and ready for an evening of relaxing/eating/drinking and not having to worry about leaving the hotel for the remainder of our stay. Once we’d checked in, we asked about eating in and the lady on reception rudely replied that we were not going to be able to eat at the hotel at any point of the night as they were fully booked. She turned us away with no empathy or apology. She had no interest whatsoever in prioritising us as overnight guests and was very abrupt, only offering room service! We were very disappointed and disheartened as it was our first night away in a long time and we sure didn’t want to spend it stuck in the room... something which we could have done at home for free!! We wasn’t even allowed to sit down in the bar to grab a pint. Luckily, we found a local pub to get a meal and a few drinks in but this wasn’t the night we’d had planned. We wasn’t prepared for walking so didn’t take suitable wet weather/winter clothing as we were told that there’d be no need to leave the hotel so we got wet and cold walking to and from the pub. Once we’d got back to our room which was around 9pm, we fancied a few more drinks. Room service was on until 9.30 so we thought we’d give that a try. The drinks menu on the room service app consisted of about 5 drinks in which 3 of the drinks were “not available”. This left us with the choice between Magners cider or Camden Hills. We opted for the Camden hills and patiently waited for our room service. Half an hour went by with no show so I gave reception a ring to ask where the drinks were. The man said he’d chase this up and give me a call back. Another 30 mins went by, with no phone call back. The drinks arrived after just over an hour!! By the time they came we could have easily settled for a cuppa tea and bed. We paid £16 for 4 warm pints which we had to wait an hour for. There was no apology from the waitress at the door which really put the icing on the cake! We won’t be rushing back to this place in a hurry. It’s probably the worst hotel experience we have ever had. What a disappointment for a night we had been looking forward to. Incredibly slow service and poor people skills from your staff. I wouldn’t recommend to anyone.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Beattie, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to feedback your experience. I will ensure it is picked up with the team in regards to communication prior to arrival, we have recently had new restrictions applied via the Welsh Government, which means that we have had to run at half the capacity in our pub and grill, meaning that we are having to control covers as best we can, whilst try and accommodate as many residents as possible, we always encourage our prospective guests to book a table, because we are incredibly busy with residents, leisure members and locals, and we wouldn't want you to be disappointed. Having debriefed with the team, it is evident they tried to accommodate as many walk ins as possible but in doing this, took too many covers, that directly impacted service delivery. We have put a new process in place, where anyone who books the dinner inclusive add on, will be contacted directly by our reception team, and a table booked for them. All other residents will be taken on a walk in basis, but we cannot guarantee that you will get a time that is suitable for you. We sincerely apologise for the experience had, and would like to assure you that this is not something we wish to make a repeat of, and we are actively working on bettering the service levels, and would hope that you would reconsider giving us another chance again in the future. Thanks again for taking the time to feedback your experience and we do hope we can welcome you here again in the future.
Read more
clipper1981 wrote a review 3 Jan
Liverpool, United Kingdom357 contributions60 helpful votes
My stay was fine. I had a room that felt like it was bigger than a standard room (it had a sofa bed too) and was away from the main part of the hotel so was nice and quiet. Full Sky TV (including sports and movies), which is good when you’re bored and away by yourself. I’ve seen a few people comment on cleanliness and I tend to agree that it wasn’t 100% clean but my room felt more like it hadn’t been used for a while rather than simply not cleaned. I’d probably stay again given the convenience if I can’t find a better option.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled on business
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Beattie, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to feed back your experience. It is likely you may have received a complimentary upgrade to one of our club rooms, it's a shame my team didnt' make you aware of this gesture on arrival, but I'm glad the size and the addition of sky tv was of benefit to you. In regards to the cleanliness, this is something we are reviewing day to day, I can assure you our bedrooms are cleaned following any departure, but it may be likely your room hadn't been utilised for a few days prior due to lower occupancy levels, however this is still not acceptable of us here, and the room should always be showcased to a high standard. I will pick up with my team on this. We do hope you will continue staying with us, we are working tirelessly during challenging times, and only wish to better ourselves.
Read more
lisa wrote a review Dec 2021
Swansea, United Kingdom2 contributions
Food came out okay. Not brilliant. Have sat for over a hour with leftovers in front of us. No one has come to ask if food is okay or to take away plates. Really bad service! Went to bar to order food. No problem but kitchen staff need to step up. It’s not even busy. 6 tables of people….really?
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Beattie, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review. I sincerely apologise for the lack of service throughout your dining experience. I will ensure this is picked up with the F&B team.
Read more
KC wrote a review Dec 2021
1 contribution
+1
This hotel is digusting for hygeine. I worried considerably about our health but had little choice to stay. Both of our rooms were absolutely vile, as shown in the pictures. Spoke to management who refused to refund one of the rooms despite both being unfit for human habitation (in fact I wouldn't let an animal stay there!) - AVOID AT ALL COSTS!
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms were vile, exceptionally poor hygiene!
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Carly Beattie, General Manager at Village Hotel Cardiff
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. The reason the second room was not refunded is because the issues were communicated in regards to only one room. We have looked into this issue and would like to assure you that this is not the usual standard from us here. We are an older build, and we have some maintenance work to do in rooms where we wish to freshen up silicone, paintwork, and some furniture that has perhaps become slightly worn, unfortunately this is not a quick fix but we have an ongoing plan and trying to get through this as quick as we can. We would hope you give us another chance in the future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$73 - US$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
village cardiff hotel cardiff, village hotel cardiff
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
De Vere Village Cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
130
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Village Hotel Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to Village Hotel Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Forest Farm Country Park (0.9 km), Whitchurch War Memorial (1.2 km), and Glamorganshire Canal (0.9 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and a desk.
What food & drink options are available at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Yes, paid private parking on-site is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Village Hotel Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Hollybush Stonehouse Pizza & Carvery, Pantmawr Inn, and Verve Grill.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Village Hotel Cardiff?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Does Village Hotel Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to Village Hotel Cardiff?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.7 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.6 km), and Mansion House (6.4 km).
Is Village Hotel Cardiff accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.