We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,334 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,291: English reviews
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a night on business - THE WORST HOTEL IN THE WORLD! Very dirty room, human hair all over the room, sick on the floor, stained beds. I checked out and slept in my car! Hotel charged £68 and that was £68 too much!

Helpful?
Thank Rhys M
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay at the hotel. The hotel would not knowingly sell any room to a guest... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Had to remove all international guests from a number of rooms booked as it was so filthy - dirty beds, mould in bathroom, disgustingly dirty curtains, pubic hair all over the bathroom. The rooms weren't cleaned - any of them!! At all!! Absolutely shocking and there was no acknowledgement by management. Please do not stay in this flea pit. I... More 

Helpful?
Thank holibob69
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you your group were not happy at the hotel. If this is the group we believe it to be, we... More 

Travellers are raving about these Cardiff hotels

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stayed for one night on 26th November for the boxing at the Motopoint arena. Unfortunately this clashed with the autumn internationals so the prices all over Cardiff were grossly inflated and this was about the cheapest hotel we could find at £179 a night. Despite the slightly tired looking exterior we were pleasantly surprised by the funky reception/bar area.... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMR9698
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your room was clean, fresh and spotless. I am pleased to... More 

Llanelli, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked one night on the 5th November as a gift for my new partner going to the arena. The location is the only good thing about this hotel !!! Paid a fortune for one night never again the rooms are shabby staff could not be bothered breakfast basic I have warned you !!!

Helpful?
3 Thank allisonwilliams573
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I am surprised to read your comments regarding the staff bot being... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here with our grandson room quite large and comfortable. Hotel basic but very good location for shopping and the Principality Stadium Close enough to walk in 10 minutes yet far away from the night time noise

Helpful?
Thank roger s
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that although your room was basic, it was comfortable for your stay. We hope we can welcome you again in the... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for one night (thank god only one night ) as we went to a concert just across the road, so when I booked it thought it was a good location with not far to walk. On arrival there was no parking so had to park in the car park down the road, the first room we had... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Hannah J
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay while with us. I am also sorry to read that the newly refurbished room... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived for one night stay. Walked into the room and it was filthy, stains everywhere. The bathroom smelt terrible like a public toilet. Overall not cleaned very well it was very dirty and had not been decorated for a long time. Stayed for around half an hour before walking out and finding another hotel. Would not recommend.

Helpful?
4 Thank sophcarless
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay while with us. I am very sorry that the bathroom smelt like a toilet.... More 

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Broken bed - in 2 pieces on the base and re-screwed together, with plinths of Ply board dropped on top of the broken slats. Therefore an EXTREMELY squeaky bed and noisy nights sleep Broken overhead lights Lack of communication between maintenance and reception when lights were reported (see below) Offered a change of room and kept key resulting in many... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Flutterbean
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay while with us. The bed slats are ply upon a frame to hold them... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booked with the big sleep hotel as stayed there before a couple of years ago and it was good and value for money. But this time the room was dirty dated. The vent in the ceiling was all dirty and had a build up of dust on the vent and on the ceiling tiles around the vent. And the chair... More 

Helpful?
Thank mattl1982
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay while with us. I note your comments regarding the ceiling vent and will pass... More 

Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This was my second time at this hotel.The hotel is excellent. Great value for money. Room is clean and spacious. Breakfast is nice. Guy on the reception is friendly. Location is good. It is near the city centre as well as Cardiff castle. Big shopping centre is 50m from the hotel. View is amazing. I liked everything.

Helpful?
Thank LondonSoul4ever
TBSH G, Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I pleased to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review and I hope we... More 

529 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (470)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (39)
Viewed
Room/Suite (128)
Viewed
Bathroom (52)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Other (226)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (59)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (51)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#25 of 75 in Cardiff
1,030 reviews
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#24 of 75 in Cardiff
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#19 of 75 in Cardiff
859 reviews
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.5 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#20 of 75 in Cardiff
1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $68 - $335 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
5 months ago
Chiltern Hills UK
5 months ago
Narberth, United Kingdom
poppiecat
over a year ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do not stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles rhysm_12, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They are all dirty”
 of 5 bubbles holibob69, 28 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you must stay ask for a room with view over the arena”
 of 5 bubbles allisonwilliams573, 24 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Hotel has an elevator, so it is easy if you have heavy luggage”
 of 5 bubbles LondonSoul4ever, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Make sure the lights are working for guests.”
 of 5 bubbles susancC4039PQ, 24 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay