We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,425 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,380: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The big sleep is a perfectly situated hotel it's only a short walk from train station. The Moto Arena is across the road as is a huge cinema complex and shopping centres. It also has a great market. The hotel is currently going through a refit but does not interfere with yr stay. I've stayed here twice in the last...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you found the hotel clean and the staff great, friendly and helpful. Thank you for taking the time to leave...

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was idea for what we wanted! We had the newly refurbished room on the 10th floor with an amazing view. Staff was very helpful, and only minutes away from the town centre. Would definitely recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LewisJenkins
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found teh staff very helpful. Thank you for taking the time to leave your review...

Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our first trip to Cardiff and we were met by a very helpful and knowledgable receptionist. Sadly I did not catch his name. There was a small problem with our booking but he amended this swiftly and professionally. We were in one of the refurbished rooms (Room 1002) which had a fantastic view and had two huge windows...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lily J
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the service very friendly and attentive. Thank you for taking the time to leave...

Bristol
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We were upgraded to a newly refurbished room on the 8th floor. Room was fresh and light, spotlessly clean, tea & coffee, iron, large led TV, very comfortable bed, superb shower. Staff very friendly, lovely full English Breakfast. Will stay there again. Great price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alan_belcher
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff very friendly and breakfast lovely. Thank you for taking the time to...

Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed in the big sleep over the weekend of the 4th March. Me and a friend were visiting cardiff for the comic con at the motorpoint. Excellent room and breakfast was very reasonable. All in all value for money.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teebo65
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room excellent and breakfast very reasonable. Thank you for taking the time to...

London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I stayed as it was dog friendly, cheap and in the city centre. Location is great. Parking Limited on a first come first serve basis but cheap. 8 a night. Rooms were a bit tired but bed comfortable and shower hot and powerful. Had breakfast which had a good selection for the price and sausages were good. Staff were friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart L
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff friendly and enjoyed the breakfast. As you are aware we are currently...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

There is obviously refurbishment going. I stayed on the 4th floor. The curtains and room were really dated. The water was fine and the bed felt fine. Only staying for one night so got on with it. The rear of the hotel sits on a bend in the railway. All trains brake here and squeal. From 0500 forget about sleeping....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian W
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. Sorry to hear that you found the room to be dated. We are currently undergoing a refurbishment of our bedrooms in a phased manner. Our guests...

Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed last night as we were having a night out in Cardiff. Upgraded to better rooms as The Big Sleep is being renovated. No complaints . Room was lovely and clean and shower in the morning was great .

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dromey123
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. I will pass on your lovely feedback to the team. Thank you for taking the time...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked to stop at this hotel in august 2017 but unfortunately had to cancel it. This wasn't a problem as I had booked using a deal where it was free cancellation up to the day before. However the deal stated I wouldn't be charged anything until I checked in. I booked on 14th Feb, I cancelled on the 17th...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becky10291
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I do apologise for the inconvenience you had with the booking. I can confirm that this has been resolved by our reception manager. Unfortunaley it does...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A regular visitor to the big sleep and always felt that it needed an update and finally they are doing it. Never been unhappy but noticed the big improvement, the room was cleaner, fresher, all round much better. Only negative i can say is that I asked for paid extras in the room but was not there when I arrived...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tigerclaws1
The Big Sleep C, General Manager at The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review based on your recent visit at the Big Sleep Hotel. As a hotel we always appreciate guest feedback whether it is constructive or praise. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found the room cleaner and fresher. I will pass on your lovely feedback to the...

584 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (510)
Viewed
Bathroom (58)
Viewed
Room/Suite (147)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (40)
Viewed
View from Room (17)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Other (238)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (74)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (53)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.2 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#24 of 76 in Cardiff
1,102 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.5 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
879 reviews
0.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cardiff City Centre
0.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff managed by Compass Hospitality opened its doors in Cardiff in 1999 to a deluge of publicity and. The Big Sleep Hotel was credited as "The UK's first design hotel for budget travelers - Travelodge prices, but with more sex-appeal" by the UK's foremost hospitality publication The Travel Trade Gazette. Our hotel ideally located in Cardiff city centre opposite the Motorpoint Arena (formally Cardiff International Arena) and the new St David's shopping arcade. We are within walking distance of the Cafe Quarter, local tourist attractions and businesses. The hotel offers 81 bedrooms come with flat screen TV's, Broadband access, Wifi, complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. We also have disabled access rooms available as well as the car parking is available on a first come first parked basis and is chargeable. We appeal to business, leisure and family travelers for those who don't want to spend a fortune but do need somewhere to stay that's different and delivers big value at small prices. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality

Address: Bute Terrace, Cardiff CF10 2FE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $66 - $241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality 2*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Big Sleep Hotel
Big Sleep Cardiff
Big Hotel Sleep
Big Cardiff Hotel Sleep
The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff By Compass Hospitality Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
8 months ago
Chiltern Hills UK
9 months ago
Narberth, United Kingdom
poppiecat
over a year ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from The Big Sleep Hotel Cardiff by Compass Hospitality staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Higher floors are the rooms which have been refurbished”
  • Pics of room 909
  • Pics of room 909
  • Pics of room 909
  • Pics of room 909
  • Pics of room 909
  • Pics of room 909
  • Pics of room 909
 of 5 bubbles bristol-blondie86, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“1002 is a corner room with a nice view”
  • Huge comfortable Bed (please ignore the maternity pillow)
  • Lovely bathtub and Rain shower head
  • Huge windows on both sides of the room
 of 5 bubbles LilyJ188, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“make sure you get a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles dannyd981, 25 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Splash out on a deluxe room! The extra cost is well worth it.”
  • Very nice bathroom with towels and a twin head shower
  • Very comfortable beds in the deluxe room
 of 5 bubbles hughb92, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a refurbished room”
 of 5 bubbles robertmB9202MX, 4 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5