We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel

Save
Share
Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$147
View deal
TripadvisorUS$147
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$147
TravelocityUS$147
travelup.comUS$148
PricelineUS$147
View all 20 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (740)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (301)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#6 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
voco St. David's is set on the enviable waterfront location within Cardiff Bay. The iconic building design makes a bold statement, with its coastal setting, glass-fronted façade, private balconies and floor-to-ceiling windows. voco St. David's Cardiff hotel offers a luxurious retreat from which to explore Wales' vibrant capital city. Tir a Môr Restaurant, takes its cue from our bayside location and the very best produce Wales has to offer. Within the hotel, the award-winning Spa at St David's offers just the place to unwind, using products by Ishga with a collection of bespoke treatments and therapies, as well as hydro and swimming pools for the ultimate luxury spa experience. voco St. David's Cardiff is the city's most amazing setting for meetings, conferences, weddings and celebrations alike. The hotel has eight contemporary event spaces to choose from - each with exceptional views over Cardiff Bay. Less than two hours from London and close to major transport links, voco St.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Business Centre with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Massage
Baggage storage
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Private balcony
Room service
Safe
VIP room facilities
Iron
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Languages Spoken
English
907Reviews107Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 553
  • 177
  • 111
  • 41
  • 26
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
WalesTraveler wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked a few spa treatments for my fiance as a birthday gift and she could not stop talking about it. She was attended to by a lovely lady named Hema. In her words it was her best facial and body massage experience. Thank you Hema.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
RT98 wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions3 helpful votes
My partner and I came here on Saturday to celebrate my birthday. We love this place we came here last year also. Our room got upgraded to a suite which was lovely and clean. All receptionist were kind and helpful and nothing was too much. We went into town for a meal out and they had booked us a taxi to go in. Breakfast here is outstanding. So much food and everything to such a high standard. Everything was piping hot. Nothing to fault . I had my first full body massage with Kachan. It was so lovely and relaxing. I could have easily fallen asleep! We used the spa facilities afterwards which was lovely. Highly recommend and can guarantee you will definitely have the best breakfast here!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Tourist63147144619 Thank you for your feedback , I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us , your upgraded room and our reception team were helpful and friendly , Breakfast and spa facilities I will pass on your thanks to our Kanchan for looking after you so well . Kind Regards FOH Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Paul I wrote a review Jan 2023
4 contributions9 helpful votes
Firstly, let me start by saying the staff were lovely. Everyone we encountered were polite, friendly and helpful. I stay at many hotels for work both Nationally and Internationally and I personally wouldn't say this is a solid 5 star standard. The building itself of course is 5 star, but it needs the attention to detail and maintenance to be spot on to be a trouble free experience. If you haven't stayed here before you may well absolutely love it, I hope you do and I hope you have a great time. However, if you stayed here under previous ownership and haven't been back since you will see a big difference. From the moment you walk in the reception area has now been painted in a dark colour paint, which would look really lovely if it was decorated to a high standard. As you approach the lifts you will see the patchy painting all around. When entering our bedroom my first experience was to get an electric shock from the lighting system by inserting the room card into the holder to trigger the lighting on. It didn't work first time, then I got an electric shock, then I got it to work. To avoid this issue for the rest of the stay I permanently left one card in it and we just used the other for the door. The room was pretty much like it used to be, except for a different colour scheme paint, again poorly applied. The bathroom had flooring just inside the door that was coming up creating a crack in the flooring and no grout in place. You could see that there had been a leak at some point and no rectification done. Not only damage to the floor but the water had damaged the bathroom door and delaminated it. The shower itself was basic over the shower with little pressure and would go from hot to cold whilst in use. Cleaning standards weren't great either. I realised this when I dropped a couple of things on the floor (tiled area) and in sweeping up with my hands ended up with lots more than I dropped!. The TV was temperamental with their hotel installed software. The guide function didn't work on the control and when you tried changing too many times it froze and you had to restart from the beginning. Robes wise they were hard, not soft and no longer were slippers provided like they used to be. When I went to put a robe on it simply didn't fit or do up it looked ridiculous. I'm 6ft 3 and fairly well built but even if I hadn't been it would have been a struggle. On visiting the spa I asked if they had other sizes and the receptionist knowingly (as if she is asked that frequently) but politely informed me no, there are only a few different size ones floating about. My partner and I frequently visited this hotel many times under old ownership (pre children!) and were disappointed by the condition of the spa. Again the paint job is lazy and shocking when you look around and not akin to a 5 star standard or environment. As you go through the spa you look at the tiles and there are so many cracked and stuck back on, missing grout, bodged up silicone etc. Breakfast was also disappointing. It no longer felt special as before. It is essentially a glorified buffet breakfast, simply a step up from some of the groups other brands such as Holiday Inn express. That said I have had nicer breakfasts there. The fruit wasn't fresh and the cooked breakfast elements either cold, overcooked of flavourless. All these things I'm sure make me sound like a snob, I'm not at all. I simply believe if you are paying a premium price then you deserve the entire experience to be premium. I have and do stay at all star ratings of establishment and always enjoy them for what they are and value for money. With this stay though it was supposed to be a special treat for us and we paid for that, but sadly it didn't deliver. Like I said at the start if you have never been here before you will probably love it, but if you did a number of years ago you may well be disappointed that it is no longer of the same standard. I must reiterate though the staff were great and couldn't fault them one bit.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Paul 1 Thank you for your feedback I am happy that you liked our team during your stay with us . My apologies to you for the shortcomings that you experienced during your last visit. I am deeply saddened to read that you were not satisfied with your stay and experienced shortfalls in our usual high standards of service, It is never our intention for any of our guests to leave us unsatisfied and I can only sincerely apologise for the drop in standards that you were subjected to. We will immediately instruct further intensive training across the required departments around IHG True Hospitality and our 5 star service standards to ensure that you will see improvements on your future visits to the hotel. Once again, please accept my sincerest of apologies for our shortcomings on this occasion and I hope to hear from you very soon. Kind Regards FOH Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
TuckerMrsT wrote a review Jan 2023
Banbury, United Kingdom7 contributions1 helpful vote
A superb break in a fantastic location. An excellent base to explore Cardiff and the surrounding area. Hotel staff were kind, helpful and friendly. Our 5th floor balcony room gave us an amazing view all across the bay. We enjoyed the complimentary spa facilities each afternoon and I treated myself to a Marine Back Therapy Massage with Molly which was divine, and a Manicure with Hema which was wonderful too. If you're looking for a relaxing and luxurious hotel/spa to treat yourselves - this is the place to go.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear TuckermrsT Thank you for your feedback , I am delighted that you had a superb stay with us and enjoyed your treatment with our Hema I will pass on your thanks to her and very much hope that you will come back again very soon . Kind Regards FOH Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ryan wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Great hotel, lovely location right by the heart of Cardiff Bay. All staff were friendly from the reception to the restaurant and the food was excellent in Tir a Mor. The masseuse Hema at the spa was absolutely brilliant - would highly recommend her!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much ryantoddington for providing us with your review and rating following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards – The Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Pompey_Sunseekers wrote a review Jan 2023
Cosham, United Kingdom169 contributions104 helpful votes
Just had 5 nights at this lovely hotel in an amazing location on the edge of the bay. It is nice and close to Mermaid Quay, so easy access to lots of eateries and iconic buildings such as the Senedd and the Pierhead, both free to enter and worth a visit. The hotel is right next to the wetlands area and has incredible views over both the bay and the city. Some very nice walks, we went all the way to Penarth along the edge of the bay towards the barrage, beautiful. Lovely modern relaxed feel to the hotel, the rooms are very comfortable and there is a super spa with good size swimming pool, sauna and lovely warm hydro pool areas. The best bit about the hotel though is the staff, from the concierge, the helpful receptionists, the nice spa staff, the cleaners and in particular those in the restaurant are absolutely amazing. Special shout out to Loretta, lovely lady who was so kind and extra helpful to us, also to Meg who looked after us and gave us some walking tips, and to the chefs Simon and Sarah who prepared cooked vegan porridges and breakfasts for us every morning, which were really delicious. Thank you, we will be back.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: There is a car park just next to the hotel.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Thank you so much Pomper_Sunseekers for providing us with your review and rating following your recent stay with us. I will pass on your feedback to the staff. We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards – The Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
JGG wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Had a wonderful break here with my husband. Rooms are spacious, clean and of a very good standard. Breakfast buffet was amazing - great choices and quality. Staff were polite. The spa was quiet and relaxing. My treatments by Kanchan (massage and facial) were incredible - left feeling incredible relaxed and pampered.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 6 days ago
Thank you so much JGGAway for providing us with your review and rating following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards – The Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rhiannon wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Had half a day in the spa with husband and a 50mins treatment followed by a two course lunch. Spa was lovely and not too overcrowded. Opted for an all over body invigorating message. My therapist was Angeline who had magical hands and used the right amount of pressure…and did a really good job of getting rid of all those knots in my back from sitting at a desk all week with little breaks! Thank you Angeline. Lunch was tasty. Had a decent window seat eventhough there was an unsightly orange Narragansett immediately outside/in sight. The other downside was that my husband ask for a condiment (sauce) when our lunch came and it never arrived. He’s big on hospitality and that was a little disappointing considering the quality of hotel. Other than that, the experience was very pleasant.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear WilliamsRandG Thank you for your feedback , I am pleased that you liked your spa day experience and that our Angeline looked after so well during your visit , I will pass on your thanks to her . Kind Regards FOH Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer G wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Had a spa day with my sister Facilities ok Wasn’t impressed with service really at reception. Facilities were poor for the price in my opinion We weren’t shown the gym at all so didn’t know until we were leaving it existed The food was nice but not amazing Highlight was my massage - was awesome and kanchan was amazing Made my experience so thank you kanchan!!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear F31531Jjenniferg Thank you for your feedback I am happy that the Spa facilities were ok and the food was nice , I will pass on your thanks to Kanchan for looking after you so well with your treatments . Kind Regards FOH Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Terri wrote a review Jan 2023
Gloucester, United Kingdom15 contributions2 helpful votes
As a regular visitor to this hotel, our stays are always good, and this visit was no exception. Tricia was on reception and greater us like old friends and was so welcoming, taking the time to have a chat with us. I had 4 treatments during my stay, all with Kanchan who was absolutely superb. I remembered her from my last visit and specifically asked for her again, she did not disappoint. Our room was beautiful, we were given a large twin overlooking the bay. As always room was very clean, comfortable and well equipped. Geraldo (think that was his name) on the night shift was really lovely, found some Welsh cakes for us and brought them to our room. The room service meal we had was very good too. Breakfast delicious. Just can not fault this hotel apart from the very expensive parking! Will be back again soon
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Guest Services Manager, Guest Services / Front Office at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you so much Getaway61647752570 for providing us with your review and rating following your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear your stay was enjoyable and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards – The Guest Relations Team
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$130 - US$207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
st. david`s hotel cardiff, st davids hotel cardiff, cardiff st davids hotel, st davids cardiff
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
St. David's Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
142
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

VOCO ST. DAVID'S CARDIFF, AN IHG HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 991 Photos (Wales) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Cardiff Bay (0.4 km), Mermaid Quay (0.3 km), and Techniquest (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Yakitori1, Las Iguanas - Mermaid Quay, and Wagamama.
Are there opportunities to exercise at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business centre, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Are there any historical sites close to voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (5.3 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.2 km), and Mansion House (2.8 km).
Does voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the harbour view available here.
Is voco St. David's Cardiff, an IHG Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.