We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The St. David's Hotel

Show Prices
#17 of 75 Hotels in Cardiff
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The St. David\\
The St. David's Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,501 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The St. David's Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,473: English reviews
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Having stayed here on the 17/2/17 in any deluxe suite this was very poor state the carpets were stained shower was like a pool as water everywhere? Hotel has really gone down hill and needs major up dating ? Won't be returning at this cost of £300 per night

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fisherpro
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear fisherpro Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment, we will soon be embarking on major renovations to the whole hotel so the issues you have identified will be addressed. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice hotel in a fantastic area with lots to do very nearby. Not far from Cardiff bay train station at all. Even on the first floor the views are lovely. But I have to agree with the reviews on here. Incredibly dated and tired in my room. Broken tiles on the bathroom floor....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly251016
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carly251016 Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that the hotel did not live up to your expectations in both décor and the quality of breakfast, your comments regarding breakfast has been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager to discuss with his team and action accordingly. The hotel will very shortly be embarking on...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Have stayed here several times and now out of the hotels in Cardiff I have stayed in Cardiff (we have stayed at Park Plaza, Marriott, Jolyon’s Number 10,Jurys Inn, the Royal over the last few years) this would be our preferred choice. Rooms are comfortable (although not huge), and it is nice to be away from the main mayhem of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IncognitoJones
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear by IncognitoJones Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry you were allocated a room next to a noisy lift and would like to apologise for the obvious upset caused to you. You mention that you are coming back in a few weeks’ time, please contact our Guest Relations department on stdavids.guestrelations@thestdavidshotel.com and give...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had great hopes for this hotel, and the view from the room was definitely met. Absolutely lovely view from the big windows, you cannot beat that. The location is nice, close to some restaurants and interesting buildings such as the parliament. Other than that, this is not really a five star hotel. Our room was spacious but run down...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
London
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Pushing two single beds together and calling it a King room? I don't think so. To make matters worse, the inefficient AirCon meant I was unable to get temp below23c overnight - way too hot. Not worth the money.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gar1952
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Gar1952 Thank you for taking the time to post your rewview. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inefficient air con and the obvious discomfort this caused you. I am also sorry that you were disappointed with the zip and linked bed in your room and your disappointment. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

I had heard that this was Wales' first 5* hotel, and had also read some reviews that suggested it had lost its way a little. Objectively, I decided to attend with an open mind. I'd stay again, and would consider paying ~£80 per night but don't agree this is a 5* property. It is however well located, with much to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jonathan H
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathan H Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Your valuable feedback has been shared with the Front Office Manager to ensure that all trainees are supported at all times. I am sorry that the hotel did not quite meet your expectations and I would like to offer you my sincere apologies for your disappointment in...

Penpedairheol
Reviewed 1 week ago

Over priced bar, did not think it was as polished as some other luxury hotels. cheaper to walk to bars in the nearby bay as suggested by one member of staff. So we did. But didnt feel we got the luxury hotel experience by doing this. lovely views across the bay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kwieca
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kwieca Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am sorry that you found our bar drinks to be expensive and that the hotel was not a luxurious as you would have liked, please accept my sincere apologies for your disappointment. I do hope you will not be deterred from returning to the hotel in the...

Cornwall
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel with fantastic location. Great food selection in the restaurant. we had lovely weather so were able to eat out side overlooking the water. Rooms are large with huge windows to take in the view. Would totally recommend and will happily return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank afrobella
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear afrobella Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you are happy to recommend us. I do hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on another occasion. Kind regards Graeme Barclay General Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Hotel has changed much since I was there last. Staff very welcoming and smiley. Car park fee was a surprise..£15 on top of staying, unusual as car park is with the hotel. On top of a lovely day spent elsewhere having lunch and taking in the opera we got back fairly early about 8.30. Cocktail in a quiet bar at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria W
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Victoria W Thank you for your review. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfall in cleanliness you experienced and also the wait for breakfast your comments have been shared with the housekeeping and restaurant departments to action accordingly. On a more positive note I am very pleased that you found my team to be welcoming and that you...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Came recommended and didn't disappoint. A fabulous hotel, all staff are fantastic, and the room was perfect. I'd read other TripAdvisor reviews that were the unhappy with the level of decoration, so I emailed the hotel beforehand with my concerns. They phoned me straightaway and put my mind at rest, and when we got there they had upgraded us. We...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ju1969
StDavidsH0tel, General Manager at The St. David's Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ju1969 Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. It is always pleasing when you have been recommended to stay somewhere and that we did not disappoint you. I am very pleased that you will stay again and I do hope it is not too long before we see you again....

1,426 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (1172)
Viewed
View from Room (138)
Viewed
Room/Suite (197)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (191)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (16)
Viewed
Bathroom (31)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (573)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (248)
Viewed
Amenities (47)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Bedroom (48)
Viewed
Executive Master Suite (72)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
2.6 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,076 reviews
2.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 75 in Cardiff
2,820 reviews
1.8 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 km away
Mercure Cardiff Holland House Hotel and Spa
1.0 km away
Future Inn Cardiff Bay
1.9 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The St. David's Hotel is situated on the waterfront of Cardiff Bay. Dynamic and contemporary in style, the hotel incorporates an impressive floor-to-ceiling, glass-backed atrium that provides a vision of space and natural light. All bedrooms have private balconies and waterfront views. Just five minutes from the centre of Cardiff, St David's Hotel is adjacent to Mermaid Quay with a wide range of entertainment including The Wales Millennium Centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The St. David's Hotel

Address: Havannah Street, Cardiff CF10 5SD, Wales (Formerly The St. David's Hotel & Spa)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $156 - $401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The St. David's Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 142
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The St. David's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St. David`s Hotel Cardiff
St Davids Hotel Cardiff
Cardiff St Davids Hotel
St Davids Cardiff
The St. David's Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cardiff
#9 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#13 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#17 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
#21 Family Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and other travellers.
37 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (37)

Questions? Get answers from The St. David's Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“would definitely pay more for a high placed room with a better view.”
 of 5 bubbles clairedem15, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in room 401 which was a suit excellent views and facilities”
 of 5 bubbles 940deniset, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Stay away from lift area”
 of 5 bubbles IncognitoJones, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a bay view”
 of 5 bubbles jonathanh929, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Higher floors for the best views. Not sure if all rooms have a bay view.”
 of 5 bubbles MikeRB186265, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5