We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Austins Guesthouse

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Austins Guesthouse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

255 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Austins Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Showing 230: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 October 2016

Clean modern-styled rooms, not too much space, but brilliantly located, at a fraction of the price of a hotel stay, and even bargain-priced for a B&B. Highly recommended. Poached egg for breakfast choice.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John P
Ashford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 October 2016

Booked two nights in superior twin room ensuite for Saturday and Sunday night. Arrived about 4.30 pm to find nowhere to park outside. Owner announced they had stopped issuing parking permits about 18 months ago and we had to park in another street where it was free between 6pm and 8am but we had to get up early and go...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tgpollart
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

Checked in on the 22nd were showed to our room and never set eyes on any other staff the rest of our stay. We were in 1 of the superior rooms which was clean n tidy. Horrible smell from the bathroom. Our stay was 3 nights the towels weren't changed whilst we were there, there is nowhere to put clothes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janet M
Austins11, Owner at Austins Guesthouse, responded to this review

A very unfair and inaccurate review of our Continental Breakfast Menu. So for the benefit of others who may like to take the time to read this, here is what we ACTUALLY offer all our customers for the sum of £6.00 which includes Service and VAT. I think you will agree with me that for £6.00 this represents REALLY GOOD...

Mainz, Germany
Reviewed 17 September 2016

I stayed in a single room with shared bathroom. The room was clean, had a TV and sink. The walls are a bit thin, so I could hear people in the next room but it didn't get too loud. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The location is great, it's not far from the station and the Megabus bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MHeckelmann
Reviewed 9 September 2016 via mobile

I was really impressed with the place. The room was a good size with en suite bathroom and kitchen. Perfect location- close to the train station, close to the city centre. It was very easy to go to the cardiff bay/ Mermaid quay via the boat from the bute park which is 2 minutes away from this place. The price...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nisha j
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Stayed for one night, had a room in the basement of house 2, was very clean! The shared bathroom was also very clean. The room had a tv and a sink, and tea/coffee making facilities. Quite thin walls as I could hear other people quite clearly in different rooms and people outside. Bed was comfortable though. Wifi kept cutting out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank WatPond
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2016

very good price for room,the room was lovely and clean and austins situated near the castle and centre of town.the lady who prepard our breakfast very helpful and breakfast was excellent a very wide choice

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dave19590306
Reviewed 26 August 2016 via mobile

Great Price, Apartment was very clean and spacious, great location and great view of the stadium. Would definitely stay here again, management staff where very nice and very helpful and very quiet location. Would definitely recommend this bed and breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George S
Austins11, Owner at Austins Guesthouse, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review of Austins. I am so pleased you enjoyed your time here with us. It's always good to know we are doing things right and customers appreciate all our hard work. Come see us again soon - you are always welcome at my house.

Kidderminster
Reviewed 16 August 2016

This is a lovely little guest house, ideally located by the river, which has clearly had a lot of time and money spent on making it very special inside as it looks brand new throughout. The immaculate decor and facilities show just how proud the owners and staff are of their business as it gives the likes of Hilton a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mrsc266
Reviewed 29 July 2016

An excellent guest house in the centre of Cardiff. I stayed here with my husband and mother-in-law so that we could enjoy Cardiff and be close to my brother-in-law's graduation ceremony. We weren't disappointed! The property is close to the park, castle and stadium and it took only a few minutes to get into the busy shopping area. We had...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alice202

99 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (75)
Viewed
Room/Suite (33)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (24)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
1.0 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
0.8 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,081 reviews
0.6 km away
Hilton Cardiff
Hilton Cardiff
#11 of 75 in Cardiff
2,832 reviews
0.3 km away
Anchorage Guest House
Anchorage Guest House
#17 of 45 in Cardiff
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Small friendly B&B in Cardiff City Centre. 300m from Cardiff Castle and overlooking the river. The Central Bus and Train Station is a 10 minute walk along the riverbank. All the main attractions including the Millennium Stadium, Cardiff International Areana and all the shops and restaurants are just a few minutes walk from our door. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Austins Guesthouse

Address: 11 Coldstream Terrace, Cardiff CF11 6LJ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $61 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Austins Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your Austins Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Austins Hotel Cardiff
Austins Guesthouse Cardiff, Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Austins Guesthouse staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
1 month ago
Nottingham, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Austins Guesthouse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Sleep Quality was a bit of an issue because of the noice of seagulls. Still its not a thing to complain.”
 of 5 bubbles yomalamarathunga, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“I stayed in room 9 in the twin room”
 of 5 bubbles andybate1967, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Shared room bathroom is 5 star”
 of 5 bubbles Mekongmarcus, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room was in the basement so be careful of stairs”
 of 5 bubbles WatPond, 8 Sep 2016 | Read review
“guest house 2 nice rooms”
 of 5 bubbles dave19590306, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5