We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Cardiff Central

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Cardiff Central
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

549 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 543: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Cardiff Central
 Click to rate
Basingstoke
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Considering the price not good value having to pay a lot for car parking and conditions weren't great. The carpets were dangerous the noise wasn't great and wifi was shocking. The only good thing for it was the closeness to the shops.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ormy1205
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here bank holiday weekend for a hen party and it couldn't have been a better location very central exactly what we needed it for. The cleanliness was ok could have been better but overall I would definitely recommend this place if you are wanting to go for a night out

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bec114
Surrey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Convenient location, near to railway station and Principality stadium. Staff on reception were outstanding in helping a member of our party who had tripped and fallen, they contacted emergency services, helped in making the victim comfortable and still managed to check in guests at the same time. Room was clean and comfortable. Some street noise but didn't prevent us from...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bluebell62
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. It’s really important to us that our staff provide a fantastic service to our customers and remain professional at all times so we are pleased to learn that you experienced great service from our staff during your stay. Your comments will be passed on to our hotel colleagues to let them know of the fantastic...

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you are staying in Cardiff and want a bed only this is the hotel for you. It is clean, tidy and comfortable. You are surrounded by a lot of restaurants that offer breakfast, coffe, lunch and evening meals at a variety of prices. Close to the train station yet no noise.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank oatrih
Swindon
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I'm not a Travelodge fan at the best of times but this one was particularly bad. The rooms were tired, dirty and basic. Obviously being right in the busy part of Cardiff, it was very noisy. It wasn't even particularly cheap!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank EmilySEdwards
TravelodgeUK, Poppy from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review of our Cardiff Central Travelodge. We're so sorry to hear about your recent experience and would like to hear more about your stay. May we kindly request you contact us with your review via our website so our customer service team can investigate your visit with the hotel. Thank you again for posting your...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Regularly stay at Travelodge's so I know what to expect, but this particular one is awful. The bathroom was disgusting and obviously hadn't been cleaned properly. There was even water still in the sink! The towels were stained as were the bed sheets. I was sharing a room so we had a collapsible bed. It was incredibly uncomfy and I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil G
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Penryn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Took my friend to Cardiff for a couple of days as a late Christmas present, due to not wanting to spend too much money on the hotel and more on the activities this hotel offered a reasonable price. More importantly, it has the perfect location for whatever you want to do in Cardiff for a weekend, we actually didn't have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank stinet2015
Highbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Clubs are next door so if you want good night sleep , don't stay here, would recommend this hotel just for good night out and somewhere to sleep, bed was ok and the shower , staff were friendly , hotel has bouncers in the nighttime

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank nickbX2696CA
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

We're concerned to hear of your recent experience at our Cardiff Central Travelodge and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last...

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night on a weekend. Room was comfortable but needed updating and had the back view. The price was quite a lot for a double room so was expecting more for my money. However, reception staff and doormen were very pleasant and helpful.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine B
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

If you like sleep in a clean, cool room knowing your car is parked safely then do not use this hotel. Hotel is over a night club that has a licence until 6am so no sleep to be had. Temperature in the room was awful, hot and stale. No car park near by the one Travel Lodge advise to use...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central, responded to this review

We're truly sorry to learn your experience at our Cardiff Central Travelodge and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last stay...

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (63)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (39)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 km away
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
Sleeperz Hotel Cardiff
#21 of 76 in Cardiff
799 reviews
0.1 km away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#17 of 76 in Cardiff
1,162 reviews
0.3 km away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#26 of 76 in Cardiff
890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Hotel ibis budget Cardiff Centre
0.5 km away
Ibis Cardiff
Ibis Cardiff
#23 of 76 in Cardiff
1,110 reviews
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet

Additional Information about Travelodge Cardiff Central

Address: Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Price Range: $79 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Travelodge Cardiff Central 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Cardiff Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel Cardiff
Travel Lodge Cardiff
Travelodge Cardiff Central Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
3 months ago
bristol
over a year ago
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Cardiff Central staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“As high up as possible, ideally in another hotel!”
matthewd453, 7 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor and at the back”
bethf404, 6 Apr 2017 | Read review
“A top floor room is fabulous nice and quiet”
SteveP694, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Great base”
100gaz, 26 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Do not stay here if you want to sleep.”
Nickickick, 2 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5