Travelodge Cardiff Central

Travelodge Cardiff Central

Yet another stain on pillow
Traveller (297)
Average double room. Good power socket placement.
Room & Suite (82)
Shopping Arcade 2
Dining (2)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#44 of 67 hotels in Cardiff
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Location
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
3.8 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.7 of 5 bubbles
Value

Everyone needs a place to lay their weary head. For travellers visiting Cardiff, Travelodge Cardiff Central is an excellent choice for rest and rejuvenation. Well-known for its budget friendly environment and proximity to great restaurants and attractions, Travelodge Cardiff Central makes it easy to enjoy the best of Cardiff.

Rooms at Travelodge Cardiff Central Hotel offer a flat screen TV providing exceptional comfort and convenience, and guests can go online with paid wifi.

Close to some of Cardiff's most popular landmarks, such as Motorpoint Arena Cardiff (0.2 mi) and Swalec Stadium (0.9 mi), Travelodge Cardiff is a great destination for tourists.

Cardiff has plenty of seafood restaurants. So when you’re here, be sure to check out popular spots like The Old Custom House, Le Monde, and Youngers Fish Bar, which are serving up some great dishes.

If you are interested in exploring Cardiff, check out a castle, such as Cardiff Castle.

Whether you’re travelling for business, pleasure or both, Travelodge Cardiff Central is sure to make your visit to Cardiff one worth remembering.

Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Wifi
Paid wifi
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Room features
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
2.5 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Centrally Located

Location

Imperial Gate, St Mary's Street, Cardiff CF10 1FA Wales
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 100 out of 100
100
Cardiff-Wales Airport
14.7 km
See all flights
Bristol Airport
34.2 km
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles1,776 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

Travelodge Cardiff Central is often recommended for those seeking a budget-friendly stay in the heart of the city. While some guests commend the hotel for its cleanliness and the convenience of its location close to shopping, dining, and the train station, others caution about the noise from nearby nightlife. The rooms, according to guests, could benefit from some refurbishment to address decor and maintenance issues. Service quality receives mixed reviews, with reports of both friendly staff and less professional interactions. Despite its central location, issues with amenities and inconsistent housekeeping are common concerns among visitors.
Location
Central
Atmosphere
Rowdy
Rooms
Neglected
Value
Budget-friendly
Cleanliness
Mixed
Noise level
Noisy
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
1,776Review22Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 592
  • 361
  • 267
  • 204
  • 354
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Matthew K wrote a review Aug 2021
Wakefield, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
This part of Cardiff is lively pretty much 24/7 so be fully prepared for external noise if you don't manage to get an inwards facing room. I arrived on a Sunday for 3 nights in an inward facing room and have 2 great nights sleep on the Sunday and Monday nights. Tuesday night was a very different story - at 8.30pm a live band struck up in a nearby venue at varying levels of volume ranging from annoying to downright outrageous. It was around 3am before I was aware they'd finally packed up. That said, my room was freshly decorated with a new carpet, everything in good order and a comfy bed. Likewise all was good in the bathroom and although the shower is over the bath, it's a low set bath so not much of a height to climb over to use the shower. Staff were pleasant but they don't have enough fans to issue 1 per room, so keep your curtains shut all day to keep the room cool. The external fascia by the door would benefit from a jet wash and the reception lighting needs dragged into the 21st century to make the place look inviting and give that all important good impression. Be aware 2 tall buldings are under construction behind the hotel, and construction noise begins around 7.45am. The hotel met my needs as an affordable place near the railway station and main shopping area. However, I'd chose somewhere else should I return to Cardiff again.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Inward facing rooms avoid street noise
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
emilyrcarter182 wrote a review Jul 2022
3.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this hotel many times. Mostly in colder months. We stayed there for one night this summer and the heat in there was insane to the point it made us unwell. We only had one night but we’re debating leaving at 4am as it was soo insane hot we were struggling, the only reason we didn’t was we didn’t have the car as we took the train down. There is no AC in the rooms and there was a fan but it was a tiny fan even with it right next to my face there was no cool air, it was blowing hot air around and it was covered in dust and mould. The rest of the room was spotless and very good value for money I would recommend there the pillows were a bit harder then normal but it’s not a deal breaker. Like I said any other time of the year it’s a fantastic stay and great location however during the hotter times (this wasn’t the hottest day either btw) it’s unbareable walking into the hotel a huge wave of heat hits you it’s a lot hotter in the hotel then outside. We even tried sleeping on the floor to cool down more but it was useless. I think aswell because you cannot really open the windows there’s no opportunity for fresh air. I would stay again but not in the summer.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2022
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
TheMissBlue wrote a review Mar 2020
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed here when seeing a concert, we were offered a family room upgrade free of charge, they held our bags so we could get some lunch before check-in. Room was nice enough except the plug got stuck in our sink. And upon checkout they told us they couldn’t watch our bags as there was nobody on the reception in the morning, despite her being there?? Either way, clean room, great location and will probably be back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chrissy309 wrote a review Aug 2020
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just spent five nights with my friend here. About 2 minutes walk from the railway station and handy for buses too.

Hotel lovely and clean and staff very friendly and helpful.

As thing stand with covid at present, things are slightly different. No room service but you leave towels and rubbish outside your door and collect towels, toilet rolls, tea, coffee, milk and sugar from reception.

You are asked to wear masks in reception, in the lift and along the corridoors.

It does get noisy some nights, from the nearby pubs and clubs. So if you prefer quiet, then ask for an inside room.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Rooms facing St Marys Street noisy some nights.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
leeE9582YM wrote a review Aug 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
The location of the hotel could not be in any better place it right where you want it around food and nightlife being based on St Mary's Street it is perfect just for hen do's and stag do's. The sort of place where you don't mind resting if you've had too many to drink. The rooms are very basic and cleansing us is not the priority here the hotel needs to be modernised I am really shocked they do not have bibles by the bedside table the only real benefits to the room is bottle openers attached to the furniture. My stay was pretty disappointing to be honest I booked a small family room and ending up getting a disabled room as it was bank holiday day there was no likelihood of booking elsewhere at such short notice. Considering how much they charge for the room you think they would have put more effort into maintaining the property and cleaning the rooms a bit better underneath the bed there was no chance in hell that room had been hoovered correctly in weeks. The metal dustbins in the bathroom and and the main bedroom were filled with Rust had a very distinctive smell to them and bags that did not fit the bins
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Date of stay: August 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Vicky W wrote a review Nov 2021
2.0 of 5 bubbles
I have stayed at this travel lodge a few times before and never had an issue but this time around I noticed how dirty it was. You’d think with covid at the moment they would be hot on cleanliness but they were the complete opposite. We arrived to our room to find half eaten hula hoops left under the bed, scum around the bath taps and sink, not enough hand soap to wash our hands, dust left on the units, you either need to provide your staff a better Hoover or teach your staff how to Hoover properly as the carpet still had crumbs on it. I understand they’re on a tight schedule to get rooms cleaned but still it’s not acceptable to leave rooms in such a condition especially during a pandemic.
I was travelling with other people and there room was more clean than mine but the heater was broken and definitely a hazard if children were staying in that room, the curtains were also hanging from the curtain pole. The weather was very cold and not having a heater to use after coming from outside was frustrating for them.
We did approach the staff at reception but were told they didn’t have any spare heaters so couldn’t help much with that and would move them to another room the next day…we came away for a few days of exploring the city why would we want to spend the time we had moving rooms?! Yes the rooms are reasonably priced but they still should be clean and have things in working order.
The only positive about this place this time was how near it is to everything but that’s about it.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Fiona S wrote a review May 2022
+1
1.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a dingy, dated, and neglected hotel.

The carpets in the room were visibly worn and discoloured. The desks in my room had graffiti on them and were damaged. The walls had, had a bad plaster work patch up job.

I feel a more thorough cleaning job could have been done on the room and was disappointed that it seems this was not a priority. The surfaces were not the cleanest, I ended up buying some wipes to reclean the room. In addition, housekeeping did not visit my room once during my 3 day stay to even empty rubbish/see if I needed toilet roll etc.

I suffer from chronic back pain so I was disappointed there were no plug sockets beside the bed to allow me to plug in my heat wrap whilst lying on bed. This is something to note if you normally charge your phone overnight by the bedside. There were minimal sockets in the room altogether.

On my final day, housekeeping tried to enter my room when I hadn't checked out. I was in process of getting dressed and had to shout not to enter to avoid embarrassment. I felt it should be common courtesy to knock/announce yourself before just entering the room whilst the guest is still checked in and in addition, this made me feel rushed to get out of the room which is not a nice final impression to have.

The hotel itself is in a good location near lots of pubs, restaurants and shops and just a short walk away from Cardiff Central Train Station. However, I stayed mid week so I'd imagine there may be more noise on weekends.

To finish on a positive note, all reception staff who I come across were helpful, friendly and cheery.

Overall I would not recommend this hotel unless it goes through a refurb and more attention is paid to cleanliness.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2022Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Hollie J wrote a review Jan 2020
2.0 of 5 bubbles
My partner and I stayed here when we came to Cardiff to watch a comedian, so wasn’t looking for a crazy night out...
I totally understand that this hotel is above a nightclub so noise was expected, but from our room you could here exactly what song was on blasting until gone 3am!! I believe extra measures should be taken to provide guests with either sound proof rooms or thicker glass in the windows. The hotel simply cannot just use the excuse that the nightclub is the problem for noise as, I have previously stayed in the Premier Inn in Swansea which is right next to Fiction nightclub and there was absolutely no noise heard. Therefore, I think sound proof measures should be considered. When we arrived we were put on the first floor and at the time it didn’t cross my mind that this would probably the nosiest location as it’s the closest to the club. Overall the staff are lovely none the less but if you want a quieter night in Cardiff I would just avoid! Large headaches the next day from the pounding music.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from TravelodgeUK, Ben from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Cardiff Central
Responded 12 Jan 2020
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your stay at our Cardiff Central Travelodge with us. We're pleased to learn that you liked the hotel team however we are sorry to hear that external noise has affected the comfort of your stay. Wherever possible, we mention on the hotel’s booking page that due to the hotel’s location, external noise may be heard. We have also taken measures within our hotels to try and reduce the impact this may have on a guests stay with us. We strive to make our customers as comfortable as possible and we would like to apologise if on this occasion we were not able to offer you a good night's sleep. We appreciate all the feedback we receive and our Hotel Managers regularly review their TripAdvisor reviews in order to fix any issues raised and pass on feedback to their team. Thank you once again and we do hope you will stay with us in the future.
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kay Morgan wrote a review Dec 2022
Neath Port Talbot, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We use Travelodges fairly often as they are always clean,warm and good value for money.
We tend to stay mostly at the Cardiff Bay one as the parking is free there! However we were attending a show at St David’s Hall so we needed a central hotel and as this one is right by the station,we decided to get the train this time.
We arrived early and knew it was too early to check in but we’re hoping to be able to leave our bags there. The lady at reception Jo,politely explained that they no longer offer this service which we accepted. She suggested we go for a coffee or we were welcome to take a seat In reception and that she was sure the room would be ready in the next half hour.
I do have to mention what a lovely lady Jo was,very friendly and we had a nice chat with her. She really was an asset on reception,certainly one of the most pleasant receptionists we’ve encountered in a while. Keep hold of staff like that Travelodge!
All in all another great stay. One small niggle was the piece that you pull up to activate the shower was missing ,so it was quite difficult to do. I couldn’t do it but luckily my husband could. We would have passed this information on to reception when we checked out,but there was no one present so we just ‘posted’ the key and left.
It would have been handy to let staff know for the next guests. (Room 213 )
This small thing didn’t spoil our stay and we will continue to use Travelodges in future.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Garynd881 wrote a review Jan 2020
Leicester, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I use Travelodge quite a lot so I know what to expect. The location on St Mary's St is excellent, just a short walk from the railway station and near to plenty of pubs and eating places. The reception staff were friendly and the room was spotlessly clean. Considering its city centre location it was nice and quiet. I thoroughly recommend this hotel. My only grouse is that Travelodge as a company still charge extra for Wi-Fi access which nowadays seems churlish and money-grabbing.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
El19742013 asked a question Aug 2023
North Warwickshire15 contributions17 helpful votes
Is it worth paying a little extra and booking a standard room plus instead of just the standard room
Answer from adrianbennett2
Bristol, United Kingdom220 contributions149 helpful votes
You might want too but tbh the building is old so am not sure if it’s worth the money?
Mobile598584 asked a question Aug 2022
1 contribution1 helpful vote
Do the windows open?
Answer from Steve A
Luton, United Kingdom219 contributions114 helpful votes
The same as Kerry M's comment above. I requested a fan for our room as we stayed in June and it was hot and the hotel reception team duly obliged.
Sara B asked a question Nov 2021
Do you have parking space?
Answer from Ben J
Isles of Scilly2 contributions2 helpful votes
I'm pretty sure the answer is no. The location is so central to the city, there is no space for parking on site. The train station is just 2 minutes away and has parking, but I would guess that is pretty short term / not overnight / expensive. If you look at the Cardiff Bay Premiere Inn, there is parking next door and an arrangement with the hotel - it is only a 20 minute walk down the road to the city centre.
caroline m asked a question Nov 2021
llanelli2 contributions
Can you have a later check out time after 12
Answer from Dave
Newport, United Kingdom52 contributions16 helpful votes
yes
caroline m asked a question Nov 2021
llanelli2 contributions
Does the bathroom have a bath and shower?
Answer from Sam
London, United Kingdom111 contributions92 helpful votes
Yes but you wouldn’t want to use the bath, very dirty.
Aaron W wrote a tip 1 Jul
Craven Arms, United Kingdom10 contributions
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Premier inn opposite this Travelodge is so much better and brand new. "
Read full review
Maggi64 wrote a tip Jun 2024
6 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Make sure you check all the rooms around the room, photographing all the damage. Very noisy street. "
Read full review
Travellingdoc wrote a tip Jun 2024
London, United Kingdom11,454 contributions717 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"The rooms at the back ie inner courtyard are quiet"
Read full review
lyncarolmold wrote a tip May 2024
Mold28 contributions72 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Very good value - location excellent too! "
Read full review
Luke Humphreys wrote a tip Mar 2024
Llandyrnog, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Book in advance for the best price."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cardiff area.
PRICE RANGE
S$65 - S$148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
travelodge cardiff central hotel cardiff, travel lodge cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiffCity Centre
NUMBER OF ROOMS
100
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

TRAVELODGE CARDIFF CENTRAL (S̶$̶1̶0̶2̶) S$82: UPDATED 2024 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 306 Photos (Wales) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Travelodge Cardiff Central
Which popular attractions are close to Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.4 km), The Dead Canary (0.5 km), and Lab 22 (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include internet access, reduced mobility rooms, and complimentary tea.
What food & drink options are available at Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and free instant coffee during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ciliegino Restaurant, Corner Coffee, and Fresh the Baguette Bar.
Is Travelodge Cardiff Central located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.6 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are there any historical sites close to Travelodge Cardiff Central?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.7 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.8 km), and Mansion House (1.1 km).
Is Travelodge Cardiff Central accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Cardiff HotelsCardiff Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in CardiffHotels near Travelodge Cardiff Central
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire