We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Westgate Street, Cardiff CF10 1DA Wales
E-mail hotel
5 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$114
View deal
Booking.com
US$104
View deal
Hotels.com
US$114
View deal
TravelocityUS$114
Trip.comUS$172
PricelineUS$113
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (339)
Room & Suite (34)
Videos (2)

About

#10 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Welcome to Cardiff’s finest new luxury hotel.​ Echoing all the elegance and glamour of its historic setting, this chic new spot to meet, eat and relax is part of​ the exclusive Celtic Collection.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking nearby
Wifi
Pool with view
Breakfast in the room
Highchairs available
Conference facilities
Body wrap
Newspaper
Indoor pool
Kids' meals
Wine / champagne
Couples massage
Foot massage
Full body massage
Head massage
Manicure
Pedicure
Steam room
Outdoor furniture
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Interconnected rooms available
Seating area
Sofa
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Extra long beds
Walk-in shower
Telephone
VIP room facilities
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Clothes rack
Iron
Private bathrooms
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Radio
Sofa bed
Show more
Room types
City view
Landmark view
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
426Reviews5Q+A73Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 244
  • 63
  • 55
  • 36
  • 28
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
DDD wrote a review Jan 2023
1 contribution
Very modern design polar opposite to Newport’s Celtic, food was very good made all the better by Nacho who met a server us he was a credit to your company. Very accommodating and couldn’t do enough for us.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear D152608, A big thank you for your review and our pleasure to welcome you to the Parkgate. We are thrilled to read such wonderful comments regarding the service from Nacho and that he could not do enough for you during your dining experience in the Sorting room. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Service
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Robert Stephens wrote a review Dec 2021
Cardiff, United Kingdom122 contributions62 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
I booked a Junior Suite at the Parkgate Hotel Cardiff for Saturday 4th December 2021. My Wife Geraldine was attending a Christmas Party nearby and I took the opportunity to meet up with a number of close friends for a drink. Having just celebrated our 40th Wedding Anniversary I pushed the boat out and booked the Junior Suite at a cost of £311. I received a link on the day for online check-in and was surprised to see that we’d been put in a King Double Deluxe Room. I immediately called the hotel and spoke with a charming Customer Service Agent that explained that the system was showing that I’d booked a King Double Deluxe and you can I imagine the disappointment I felt. I explained that I’d taken a snapshot of my booking and I was asked to hold the line. After what appeared like a lifetime the Customer Service Agent explained that she’d spoken with the front desk at the hotel and that the hotel was extremely busy and they would try and sort something out. She explained that she would call me back once she had some news and I told her that I was just about to leave for the hotel, thanked her for her help and basically accepted that it is what it is. On arrival at the check-in desk I introduced myself and had a James Bond moment, we’ve been expecting you Mr. Stephens the Receptionist said. I had an apology for the mix up with the booking and it was explained that we’d been upgraded to a Signeture Suite, The Parkgate Suite. I can promise you that this upgrade did not disappoint us in any way with all the facilities of of an hotel of this class. Geraldine and myself went our separate ways for the evening and I called into the Hotel Bar on my return for a nightcap with my party of friends before retiring to the Parkgate Suite for a fantastic nights sleep. Breakfast in the morning was good however I was disappointed that there was no Smoked Salmon on offer, seriously that would be the only thing I could complain about for our whole stay. I must give credit to all of the Hotel Staff, from the Customer Service Agent through to everyone at the hotel we had contact with. We were made to feel welcome and everyone was polite and friendly. We will most certainly be returning to the hotel and I think I’ll save that little bit harder to actually book a Signature Suite next time.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: The Parkgate Suite is Spectacular.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
4 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Phillippa Kadam, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 12 Dec 2021
Thank you for your 5* review. We are thrilled to learn how much you enjoyed your stay with us at The Parkgate Hotel, and I am delighted to hear that throughout your stay you received such great service from the team. We hope to have another occasion to welcome you back for another luxury stay, and who knows you may even receive another James Bond welcome from the team! Kind Regards Phillippa
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Don764 wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom16 contributions32 helpful votes
So far a one night stay has cost over £1000. Credit card declined 4 times in the restaurant, so the meal was put into our room bill. When we checked bank account the following morning all payments had gone through. Explained this on checkout and they said they would sort it. This was last Saturday and money still hasn’t been refunded. To top it all they have taken another £96 out of our bank for our bar bill which we also paid on checkout. I can’t believe they can just put a transaction through without our authorisation. No one from the hotel has contacted us yet. Disgraceful service
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Check transactions through your card payment
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Don764, Thank you for your feedback. My deepest apologies for the issues you have experienced with the transactions on your card. Please could you contact me directly at receptionPGH@celtic-collection.com and I will investigate and resolve this for you immediately. I do look forward to hearing from you. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
mpruchnie wrote a review Jan 2023
United Kingdom59 contributions37 helpful votes
Went on a Spar package and was really impressed with the treatment in particular. The spar complex is sufficient for the capacity with a small pool with views over Cardiff. It has a stream and sauna of superior standard and limited warm loungers in the Spar. Perfectly clean and well-serviced with a very professional level of staff. The treatment was of the highest standard and I was really impressed with Meron who gave me the treatment and massage which was tailored to me. Very impressive and highly recommended. A wonderful experience
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear Mpruchnie, A big thank you for your review and recommendation. Your wonderful and positive feedback regarding your visit to the Spa was such a pleasure to read. We are thrilled you enjoyed the high standard of your treatment from Meron and I will share this feedback with the team. We really do look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Claire F wrote a review Jan 2023
4 contributions1 helpful vote
Overall this was a good experience. We went for dinner on a Saturday evening. The bar was very noisey at 5.30pm & felt more like a pub. I think it needs some carpeting to reduce noise levels and it would also soften what is otherwise a very stark interior. The restaurant interior was also very harsh - flowers or planting might help. However the food which, after all, is the most important thing, was great. My beef wellington was cooked perfectly. The desserts were also great. It was a birthday treat and we were given free glasses of fizz and an extra dessert piped with happy birthday which made it feel special. Star of the show was our server, Rinal, who was efficient, warm and excellent at her job.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Claire, Thank you for your review and our pleasure to welcome you to the Sorting room for your special occasion. It is so great to read that you enjoyed your food and the service from Rinal and your Birthday drinks and dessert. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jessica wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
Location perfect parking close by with a reduced rate. very disappointing that the spa is £35 extra EACH for one session we were there two nights would have wanted more than one go in the pool didn’t even get the chance for that as we didn’t pre book a space soon enough. Bed only for two nights was £290 which was an offer believe it or not! Very clean and tidy but over priced and over rated experience
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Jessyjaynesmilerr, Thank you for your review. It was great to read your feedback regarding our great central location, parking and cleanliness. The Hydrotherapy infinity pool is part of the overall Thermal Suite experience offered to guests in a relaxing environment and limited numbers to allow guests to enjoy the full spa facilites and atmosphere. This includes heated volcanic zones and massaging water showers, together with our sauna and steam room, and hot stone beds. I do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cheryl F wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions1 helpful vote
An enjoyable weekend at Parkgate hotel, all staff we met were very friendly and helpful, a special mention for Laura at reception and concierge Keith. The hotel is in a fantastic location with easy access to the numerous theatres, shops and sports venues. A new favourite when visiting Cardiff, will definitely be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Room 410 is very quiet
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Cheryl, Thank you for taking the time to review the Parkgate. We were so happy to welcome you for your Birthday treat and your comments concerning our friendly and helpful team on Reception was so great to read. Please do come back again soon. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Amy S wrote a review Jan 2023
Pontarddulais, United Kingdom10 contributions3 helpful votes
The front desk staff were very welcoming and friendly when we arrived an hour before check in, had a room ready and answered all questions well. (I'll come back to this) The room was lovely although no view, clean, spacious and decorated to a high standard. We visited the bar next for a drink, very busy and VERY expensive, one glass of wine and a pint =£18.50. Bar and restaurant were gorgeous just like the rest of the hotel but the meal was a little disappointing. We shared the chicken croquettes to start and then had the Cote de Beouf to share which at £82 I was expecting an experince. Started great as got to choose your own steak knife from a special box but what an anti climax when the meal arrived. The presentation looked ok but it was a few strips of beef over a bone. Lacked flavour and depth. We were each given a plate with chips, mushroom and tomato, again nothing special at all. I have to be honest, the steak we had the previous Tuesday from tesco was much nicer! Desserts and cocktails were great though! Back to the room, the bed was amazing, so comfortable, I want one in my house. Shower was huge but lacked pressure and the second head should be bigger. When we called down in the morning to ask for Breakfast to be delivered to our room (we asked about this on check in) we were told that we could be would need to pay again for breakfast to be ordered to our room as well as a tray charge depsite paying for bed and breakfast in the room rate. Very odd behaviour from a Hotel of this standard and when it cost so much to begin with. Overall it looks nice, staff were friendly but costs, dinning experince and breakfast really let it down.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Amy, Thank you for reviewing the Parkgate Hotel. I do appreciate you taking time out of your day to give us this feedback. It is not our intention for any of our guests to leave feeling dissatisfied with any part of the service they receive, on that basis your constructive feedback will be invaluable to us and I will share your experience with our Food and Beverage team. I do hope that you will return to the Parkgate hotel again in the future. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kath E wrote a review Jan 2023
Porthcawl, United Kingdom3 contributions
Lovely hotel beautiful food and drinks room Stunning just don’t accept room 520 sooo noisy from the spa generator complained and offered ear plugs no thanks other than that no sleep at all the hotel and staff are very nice.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Kathrynej123, Thank you for your review and feedback. Please can I offer you our apologies that you were disturbed by noise during your stay and that we were not able to resolve this and make this right for you at the time. If you contact us directly at receptionPGH@celtic-collection.com we will happily update your profile to ensure your preference for a very quiet bedroom. I do look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
stellastreet wrote a review Jan 2023
Cardiff, United Kingdom45 contributions15 helpful votes
Treated myself to a solo stay in the only room with the 3 sided balcony. What a fantastic room it is and the balcony was much larger than expected. Fantastic views with floor to ceiling windows over to the Rhondda Valleys, The Stadium, Cardiff Arms Park and Westgate Street. The NCP car park isn't so great but you can't have everything in a hotel which is so central! There is also a separate dressing room, with built in wardrobes which is very useful. The spa was absolutely delightful and the staff I came into contact with were all very friendly and helpful. The bed and bedding gorgeous and I would definitely stay here again and especially in this room.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Location
Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Louisa Stride, Guest Services / Front Office at The Parkgate Hotel
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Stellastreet, A big thank you for your first class review. It was such a pleasure to welcome you for your solo trip and so happy you enjoyed. Your feedback regarding the standard of your bedroom, the view, location, spa and of course our amazing team. I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards Louisa Stride Guest Services
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$113 - US$208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
169
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE PARKGATE HOTEL: UPDATED 2023 Reviews, Price Comparison and 381 Photos (Cardiff, Wales) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about The Parkgate Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.2 km), Escape Reality (0.3 km), and The Bootlegger (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Parkgate Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, conference facilities, and facilities for disabled guests.
Which room amenities are available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, blackout curtains, and extra long beds.
Is parking available at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking nearby and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bigmoose Coffee Company, Fresh the Baguette Bar, and Ciliegino Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Parkgate Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool during their stay.
Is The Parkgate Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.3 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are there any historical sites close to The Parkgate Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (3.5 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (6.7 km), and Mansion House (1.0 km).
Does The Parkgate Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the city view available here.
Is The Parkgate Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.