We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

New House Country Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
New House Country Hotel
New House Country Hotel
Panoramas (16)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

493 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 486: English reviews
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed 2 nights on business. Beautiful venue and very accommodating for our meetings. Nibbles provided. Lovely food and staff. I will definitely be back when the next opportunity arises. Highly recommended

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Juliesargent
Lyndhurst, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David B
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Heathfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Spent a long weekend at this hotel with my car club (Morgan Sports Car Club - Welsh Division). Superb in every way. Plenty of parking. Large. clean and comfortable bedroom. Amazing view of Cardiff Bay from the window. Excellent meals. Staff couldn't have been more helpful.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan S
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us for the weekend for your annul event, it was a pleasure to have you all back again. It sounds like you all had an enjoyable weekend and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you back again in the future.

Wales
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Excellent afternoon tea. Even though the hotel was busy hosting a wedding party the afternoon tea was served in a lovely room. Fresh sandwiches, warm scones and a varied selection of cakes. Good hot tea served in a china teapot. Staff attentive and friendly. Very relaxed and able to stay chatting and eating for as long as we liked. Would...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Redshamrock35
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent visit to the New House for afternoon tea. It sounds as if you had a lovely time and I do hope you will be back to visit us again soon.

Lisburn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Recently stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding including an over night stay. I must say everything was superb from the friendly helpful welcome, the superb location and views, the room and facilities were fantastic and the food beautiful and plentiful. I would highly recommend both a wedding and stay at this outstanding hotel. One minor down side was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Dix42
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us for such an special occasion. It sounds like a good time was had by all! I look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Wirral, England
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Traditional, comfortable, very agreeable hotel. All of the staff have been pleasant, helpful and welcoming. Everywhere is clean and well maintained. We had the first freezing weather of the year and thankfully this big old building was warm throughout. Highly recommend!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank roger1361
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. I am glad you were nice and warm with the on set of the winter months! I do hope you will be back to see us again soon

Bourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We used our Tesco vouchers for this 3 night stay and weren't sure what sort of room we would get, however it was large enough for 2 armchairs and the usual bedroom furniture. It had stunning views and the refurbished bathroom had a very large walk in shower. The bed was very comfortable with soft cotton bed linen. The staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HelenL2743
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your stay with us. It is great that you can currently use the Tesco vouchers to stay with us, however as from 1st January 2017 The New House will no longer be a part of the Best Western Consortium and therefore we will not be accepting Tesco...

Cardiff
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely venue with great views over the city. All of the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very nice. However the room we stayed in was getting old and tired. The carpets in particular were very threadbare and dirty. Not great when you have an 8 month old crawling around. The rooms were pretty spacious, however the beds...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank George E
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay. It is good to hear you enjoyed some aspects of your stay and thank you for the comments regarding other aspects. I can confirm we are in fact renewing the carpet in the room you stayed in next week, therefore some aspects of the...

Reviewed 2 November 2016

I could wax lyrical about staff service comfort surroundings room quality etc etc I can boil it down to two words - JUST GO! Oh yes the Welsh breakfast is amazing, unfortunately we didn't get the chance to try the a la carte but should imagine that is of a high quality also.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Martin F
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer WOW what a great review, thank you so much! I am glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay and hope you come back soon.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Gorgeous hotel with plenty of character. Comfortable beds, large rooms, ground floor come with terraces which are a nice touch. The food was good, as was the breakfast. It's very quirky, the 80's power ballads in the restaurant got a bit draining after a while, the temperature in the communal areas was similar to a tropical greenhouse, there's probably a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dukeofbeeston
Alix S, Front Office Manager at New House Country Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Thank you for writing a review regarding your recent stay with us at The New House, we welcome all feedback. I do hope you will consider staying with us again.

476 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (126)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Other (34)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (342)
Viewed
Amenities (29)
Viewed
Charlotte Room (55)
Viewed
Countess Room Bridal Suite (70)
Viewed
Large Standard Room (46)
Viewed
Dining (26)
Viewed
Standard Room (44)
Viewed
The Hotel (72)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
7.8 km away
Park Plaza Cardiff
Park Plaza Cardiff
#4 of 75 in Cardiff
2,015 reviews
7.1 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
8.7 km away
Novotel Cardiff Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff City Centre Hotel
8.6 km away
Clayton Hotel, BW Premier Collection
10.4 km away
The St. David's Hotel
The St. David's Hotel
#16 of 75 in Cardiff
3,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated on the fringes of Cardiff nestling amongst the Welsh hills, the privately owned 4 star New House Country Hotel & Sequoias Restaurant boasts unrivalled views over the city and beautiful Vale of Glamorgan. The open fires, exquisite furnishings, fully equipped function suites, beautifully restored bedrooms and the stunning Sequoias restaurant combine to create the perfect atmosphere in which to relax and unwind. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New House Country Hotel

Address: Thornhill Road, Cardiff CF14 9UA, Wales (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS New House Country Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Price Range: $140 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New House Country Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your New House Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Cardiff
Cardiff Best Western
New House Country Hotel Cardiff, Wales
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cardiff
#1 Luxury Hotel in Cardiff
#12 Family Hotel in Cardiff
#18 Romantic Hotel in Cardiff
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from New House Country Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from New House Country Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room is good the ones at front of hotel have a spectacular view over Cardiff Bay.”
 of 5 bubbles martinf997, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“rooms at the front have beautful views down towards cardiff bay.”
 of 5 bubbles Stormy234, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms on the south side should have great views towards Cardiff city and the bay area.”
 of 5 bubbles Saltney11, 20 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The front or side of the hotel overlooking the city down to the sea”
  • View from Room 28 down to the sea
 of 5 bubbles sjw11, 8 Oct 2016 | Read review
“We were in Squires, Room 31 with garden view”
 of 5 bubbles MunkeeOxford, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay