We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Park View Greyfriars Road, Cardiff CF10 3AL Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Hotels.comUS$95
Booking.comUS$95
PricelineUS$95
TravelocityUS$95
TripadvisorUS$95
StayForLong
View all 17 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (629)
360
Panoramas (13)
Room & Suite (313)

About

#12 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Winner of the AA Hotel of the Year award for Wales and located in the heart of city centre closeby to Cardiff Castle and St Davids Shopping Centre. 129 state-of-the-art guestrooms - including superior & executive rooms and suites. Free wifi is included for all residents throughout the hotel. The hotel's Laguna Restaurant and Bar offers a fresh and original mix of local and international flavours and is previous winner of South Wales Restaurant of the Year. Contemporary conference facilities at Park Plaza Cardiff include 9 meeting rooms plus 1 large function room, all air-conditioned and offering high specification audiovisual and technical equipment. All conference rooms, guestrooms and public areas benefit from complimentary high-speed wireless Internet. All residents enjoy complimentary use of the Laguna Health & Spa which offers a full gymnasium, 20 metre chlorine-free indoor swimming pool, , steam room, studio and 8 massage & treatment rooms.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid public parking nearby
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Nightclub / DJ
Highchairs available
Taxi service
Wifi
Hot bath
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Yoga classes
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Fitness classes
Personal trainer
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Body wrap
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Steam room
Waxing services
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Show more
Room features
Blackout curtains
Air conditioning
Desk
Housekeeping
Coffee / tea maker
Cable / satellite TV
Sofa bed
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Safe
Sofa
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Clothes rack
Laptop safe
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Refrigerator
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Show more
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Modern
Green
Languages Spoken
English, French
2965Reviews50Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,595
  • 919
  • 255
  • 107
  • 90
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Tidziwe M wrote a review Yesterday
+1
Had my 50th birthday party at Kuku club and stayed overnight at Park Plaza Hotel as a special treat by my friends and family. I had a very pleasant experience from start to end. I will definitely come again! The reception was amazing...staff were so friendly, welcoming and professional. They went out of their way to help and nothing was a bother. My superior room exceeded my expectation. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I had all that I needed to make my stay pleasant. Breakfast was fantastic- a variety of delicious food on the menu. Comfortable seating and lovely decor in the restaurant. I was able to use the gym during my stay and enjoyed my session. My spa treatment was arranged after check out. The reception staff were helpful in keeping my luggage and a million presents. I waited for my spa session in the lobby sat on comfortable chairs in front of a lovely log fire. I was offered a cup of tea which was fab! I really felt like a princess! My spa treatment was amazing. The staff were similarly lovely. Beautiful and relaxing environment. The reception staff were kind enough to help me getting my luggage in the car when I was leaving- how lovely! I have listed this hotel as one of my favourite places and I will definitely come again in future. Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Room Tip: Check parking facilities prior to travelling
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Nicola W wrote a review Apr 2022
51 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Hotel's Favourite
We were gifted one night stay by a family member for my birthday. While in Cardiff we had a few plans and the location of this hotel is amazing. So much nearby that ultimately you couldn't be unhappy. There are bars and restaurants just over the road but despite this the noise was contained. Upon entering the hotel we needed to leave bags as we arrived earlier than check in time, this wasn't an issue. Upon return and entering our room a balloon, birthday card and birthday cake was left for our arrival. Such a lovely touch. The facilities were great. The bed was comfy. Personally the pillows were a little soft for me but that's a minor gripe. The only thing I can find fault with is how noisy the door shut and that there was a door stopper behind the door which was where the toilet was located but this meant I stubbed my toe on it twice. The toilet was just tucked behind the door so if was in the way slightly. We didn't use the spa facilities but I can imagine it was amazing. The breakfast we did have and all products were fab quality. Coffee was delivered to the table and not as warm as I would have liked but again that's just me being fussy. Reception found me a box to take the cake home, they were just so accommodating. A real amazing stay. Thankyou
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Jeremy Da Fonseca, Guest Services / Front Office at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 3 May 2022
Dear H9119ECnicolaw Thank you for choosing Park Plaza Hotel Cardiff as the perfect place to celebrate a wonderful occasion. We are grateful that our efforts to make your day very special were successful . Your kind comments have been shared with our amazing reception staff; we are glad they were as accommodating as possible. We value all of our guests opinions, and your comments have been taken on board to ensure our service and facilities are refreshed constantly. Thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back very soon. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
welshhappytraveller wrote a review 24 Jan
Newtown, United Kingdom100 contributions34 helpful votes
We booked a Spa Leisure break at this hotel as a celebration for a very special occasion. Unfortunately, our stay coincided with the Beaujolais Day, and the hotel was manic. Our room was surprisingly directly above the function room, and the noise in our room was unbelievable. We approached reception, who assured us it would be over by 8pm. We returned around 10pm to find it was still in full flow, very noisey and drunks in the lifts, and corridors. We again approached reception and requested an alternative room on a higher floor. We had to wait over half an hour for a room and had the inconvenience of packing and moving at a late hour. It was not the relaxing leisure break we had expected and the occasion was spolit. We contacted the hotel to address these issues and to express our disappointment, and we were offered a 'free upgrade' on our next visit. I refused this offer but haven't even had the courtesy of a reply to my second email. We would have had a more relaxing break in the Travelodge across the road.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: Don't stay here when the Beaujolais Day is being held.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor regarding your stay with us in November 2022. On the evening that you stayed, the hotel hosted a large event making use of most of the hotel’s outlets resulting in a higher volume of guests at the hotel than usual for a Thursday afternoon. We of course tried our best to minimise any disruption to our guests to avoid any inconvenience throughout their stay and we are sincerely sorry to hear that you were affected by this event. We had a procedure in place to ensure all guests were aware of this event upon booking but clearly this was not your experience. We are sorry you have felt disappointed with our Duty Manager's decision for an amicable resolution for this incident. Once again, we apologise for any inconvenience and any upset caused.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jessica E wrote a review 22 Jan
1 contribution
Where to begin with this stay.. let's start from the email communication.. I booked this hotel for mine & my partners anniversary stay. I emailed to kindly ask if they offer any special requests such as banners or balloons to the room, I had an email back to say they could offer a free upgrade but subjected to availability which was fine and that this would be spoken about at check in and a bottle of wine to the room. I emailed back to say that was very kind of them to offer this. I was then ignored going forward to any emails. I found this to be very rude and arrogant. We then got to the hotel and immediately instead of hello welcome to park plaza it was have you got ID you look very young.. what a nice thing to ask when I am small and may look young but very insecure about my height due to this reason! I understand there is a policy for ID to be shown at any hotels if its necessary.. but noone else around was asked for ID again this made me insignificant and small. Within the 8 years me and my partner have been together I have never ever been asked for ID upon any arrival at a hotel! Even my partner who has worked in hospitality for 10 years found this to be very rude as there is a way to ask for such thing. Not even one mention about our anniversary or an upgrade option. Got to the room and it was just a card and 2 biscuits for an anniversary gesture not even listened to my request. Went to the pool next as we love a swim and the advert on website states pool is UV heated.. actually the pool was absolutely freezing and the jacuzzi was luke warm and very very salty stung our face we literally left after 30 mins.. we then queried this to the receptionist at the spa she then tried to say they have to keep temperatures low due to the gym and the salts are mineral again for the gym.. we have never experienced this in any other hotels before they all have been perfect temperatures smelling amazing as myself working in a health club I therefore know this jacuzzi should not have been luke warm.. how do you differentiate the difference between jacuzzi and pool? The night time then we were then disturbed by a bunch of people opposite us arguing about them being on cocaine and loosing their phones.. we then reported this to the front desk and security was then sent up.. I suppose that's what you get booking a hotel next to a nightclub so they can let people in who snort cocaine but I get asked for ID good job that is.. Breakfast was so bland jelly undercooked eggs.. black pudding undercooked.. there was very little buffet left and this was 9am!! 2 bacons and 2 sausages left.. waited 15 mins for coffee and tea even my partner was appalled and him being a supervisor for some hotels himself he never seen anything like it.. Upon check out we had the option to complain all this to the duty manager I have chosen not to due to reading more reviews last night on TripAdvisor and google reviews and seeing people complaining about the same stuff and nothing was even resolved.. Very appalled and will never stay with you again other hotels we have stayed in cardiff have been so much better and more polite to their customers and go way above and beyond for you.. this company does not! 4star more like 1star
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
merlot wrote a review 21 Jan
Cardiff, United Kingdom20 contributions8 helpful votes
We went for a family meal, absolutely fantastic from start to finish. Starters and mains where just out of this world. The chef even came to our table to check our order was what we wanted, Staff very attentive and lovely atmosphere. Big shout out to Jacob who was our host for the evening and couldn't do enough for us. Fantastic food, excellent service one of the best places to eat in Cardiff.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
HLWalks wrote a review 19 Jan
Cardiff, United Kingdom135 contributions79 helpful votes
Over the years I’ve stayed here for work, we’ve had events here and the events management is excellent. I see the same staff, so hats off to the management for staff retention during challenging times. The menu is good value, changes regularly and sources locally. The rooms are always spotless, as is the spa and pool. Special thanks to Kelly at breakfast who remembers that I like poached eggs, and Dafydd and Aya on reception for being so welcoming, and checking my parking app is set up right. Thank you for making work trips easier with a home away from home
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled solo
Room Tip: Book a room on the first floor to be near the spa entrance if you like a swim
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Alison M wrote a review 16 Jan
Ebbw Vale, United Kingdom37 contributions39 helpful votes
First time to stay at this hotel and found it to be one of the most relaxing stays we have had, room clean, was some worn areas but it was clean. Pool area relaxing could do with a bit of an uplift, i.e brightening up, found it quite dark. Food fantastic could not fault it, beautiful. Bar area and reception lovely and welcoming, Staff friendly and helpful, would I return Absolutely!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
RichDeVere wrote a review Dec 2022
London, United Kingdom4 contributions2 helpful votes
Still the best in Cardiff! Dined for Christmas Eve, fires blazing in the lobby and then out of this world food and service in the restaurant! The portions are great size, Salmon was great while my mum had the Lamb, which could not be faulted, every mouth full was divine! Thanks to the team for making it a great Xmas eve with my mother. Bravo Park Plaza! 🙌🏼
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest Thank you for choosing to dine with us at the Laguna Kitchen & Bar at Park Plaza. We are thrilled that you and your mother had a great experience on such a special day. We are delighted you enjoyed our ambience as well as chefs amazing food. Be assured we will share your feedback with our wonderful team. We hope you will visit again very soon for yet another great experience and wish to take this opportunity to wish you and your mother every good wish for 2023.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Emma H wrote a review Dec 2022
7 contributions7 helpful votes
No heating in room overnight. It was freezing. Avoid in winter months. My friend also stayed in another room and she also had no heating in the room . When we told the guy at reception, he was dismissive and rude. Just saying that there should be heating in the rooms. So rude.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Emma H, Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on your stay. We are very sorry to have disappointed you on this occasion. I can confirm the hotel has a competent heating system. Although we appreciate that some isolated issue might arise from time to time, our team is always on hand to fix or provide a suitable alternative. We are sad that this issue was not reported on the night as we would have been able to provide immediate relief by changing some of the settings on the air conditioning system and/or provide you with an additional portable heater, should further immediate heat be required. We are also very sorry if you have felt your comments on check-out were not met by our receptionist in the morning, with the compassion and understanding the situation deserves. We will ensure further training in provided in this aspect. Although I can confirm the receptionist on duty did raise your concerns to our maintenance team who were able adjust the settings to a suitable level for our future guests. The hotel is proud of its product and services, and we hope you give us chance to prove our worth to you in the near future. Kind regards
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Russ H wrote a review Dec 2022
2 contributions2 helpful votes
Just be aware of the app for the parking over the road that the hotel ask you to download to get a bit of discount, I asked the guy at the reception to walk me through this so I didn't make a mistake , so all good , left the car park after a couple of nights stay thinking the auto pay was all set up , a week or so later I received a £100 fine , the hotel manager (Mario) said it was nothing to do with them, disappointed to say the least, emails sent to ncp , hours on the phone to ncp with no positive outcome and still the hotel says that the car park that they advise you to park in , that they advise you to download the app on your phone and enter a qr code is nothing to do with them, won't be stopping here again.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Stephanie Millard, Marketing at Park Plaza Cardiff
Responded 15 Dec 2022
Dear Russ Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to Cardiff, we are disappointed that your review is related to an issue you are facing with the NCP car park and not reflective of your experience at our hotel. We are of course sorry that you are facing this issue with the car park organisation but wish to confirm that our business has no relationship whatsoever with NCP other than they have a car park directly across the road which they offer hotel residents a discount. Please note that as stated in all our platform we do not have an onsite cark park, we can only assist all our guest on where to park safety and help with the process to do so, which I am pleased to see our staff have done. We wish you best of luck and hope your case will be resolved to your satisfaction.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$103 - US$157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
park plaza cardiff hotel cardiff, cardiff park plaza
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
129
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

PARK PLAZA CARDIFF: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 964 Photos (Wales) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Park Plaza Cardiff
Which popular attractions are close to Park Plaza Cardiff?
Nearby attractions include Escape Rooms Cardiff (0.5 km), Escape Reality (0.3 km), and Exitus Escape Rooms (0.2 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Top room amenities include air conditioning, a flat screen TV, and a refrigerator.
What food & drink options are available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, paid public parking nearby is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Park Plaza Cardiff?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bigmoose Coffee Company, Corner Coffee, and Revolution.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and fitness classes during their stay.
Is Park Plaza Cardiff located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of Cardiff.
Are any cleaning services offered at Park Plaza Cardiff?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Park Plaza Cardiff offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Park Plaza Cardiff?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English and French.