We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

LateRooms.comUS$118*
View Deal
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

60 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 58: English reviews
Start your review of SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road
 Click to rate
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Entry into the apartment was an issue but got resolved quickly over the phone but speaking to someone in Birmingham when asked for an extra Duvet again someone in Birmingham who said it would be supplied for the next day as the apartments are unmanned but we only there for one night and we ran out of hot water in...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 222shakila
Bicester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

My family recently stayed at the SACO Cardiff location from 17-20 February. The apartment was wonderful; no complaints whatsoever about the facilities. Access was simple once the kinks were worked out. This was the least traditional reservation/admin process for any hotel I've ever used. I made a reservation (pre-paid) on Hotels.com. There are some hiccups there to watch out for;...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gertuitous
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review SACO Cardiff. I am delighted you enjoyed the apartments and the facilities on offer. I am however sorry to hear there was an issue with the administration side of your booking. I have investigated this for you and understand that due to an unforeseen major plumbing issue, your apartment type was changed...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2017

I didn't receive the access code to the apartment. It took us 1 hour in the phone to get in. When we enter, the apartment was freeze. Imposible to sleep there. We were there with 2 small kids. No extra blanquets. Terrible experience.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank martabG1144ZN
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of SACO, Cardiff. It is with your feedback we can continue to make improvements to our service and quality of accommodation. I sincerely apologise for the issues you experienced of gaining access to the property and that the apartment was then cold upon check in. I have checked our system and can see a confirmation...

Grimstad, Norway
Reviewed 16 November 2016

The positives: + big functional appartment, +, good location, + clean, + service minded house keeping staff, + welcome pack with breakfast the first night. However, the service provided from SACO is terrible. We asked for a baby bed for our stay. SACO was happy to provide that for a whooping 90£ extra. When we arrived at the apparparment at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bjos
JennieGM, Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Thank You for taking the time to write a review. Your lovely comments on the apartments are appreciated. However, I was concerned about your comments regarding the baby bed that was supplied to you. We supply travel cots for babies and infants not beds. The travel cots come with a thin quilted base mattress. As you mentioned they can also...

Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 September 2016 via mobile

Great apartment and very tidy and clean. Could be a bit more clear on security deposits for staying. Handy for the town centre. Breakfast freebie a little tight. 2 small boxes of cereal for 2 people for 2 days.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kris t
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We will pass your comments on to the Cardiff team. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit. Kind regards Georgina

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 August 2016

After recently booking a SACO Apartment in Cardiff for July 2017 online we experienced some really funny business. At the time of booking we were asked to pay the whole balance which we did (circa £300 for 2 nights), and no request for a deposit was requested. just over a week later we receive an email stating the booking had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Andy W
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are sorry that you were not able to experience a stay at our SACO apartments. Unfortunately I am not aware of the circumstances which led to your booking being cancelled. Please can I ask that you contact me on ghennessy@sacoapartments.com to discuss further. Kind regards Georgina

Chengdu, China
Reviewed 17 July 2016

These apartments are small but very well resourced. We had the little one at the back first of all which is nice and quiet. It's compact but perfectly fine for two people and has everything you could need. However, there was a small problem in that the blackout blind in the bedroom had broken and so it was too light...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MerionT
JennieGM, Public Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and everything a SACO serviced apartment has to offer. Thank you for your comments regarding the furnishings, it is only with honest feedback that we can continue to...

Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

SACO Cathedral Road Apartments are outstanding! I stayed there for business from November 2014 to May 2015, and also from October 2015 to March 2016. The apartments themselves are very modern and complete, with excellent amenities. It was a great blessing to work with Lezley the manager, and also with Richard and other SACO office personnel. Great folks who really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RobDempsey
JennieGM, Guest Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted that you enjoyed your long stays with us and we will definitely pass on your comments to the staff who we are glad impacted greatly on your stay. We look forward to welcoming you...

Reviewed 4 May 2016 via mobile

It great, incredible appartment excelent location, got everything near, the bed are confortable, the space is great have a good starter pack, milk, water, tea, the cleanning team is amazing leave everything shiny, definitly i will stay here when come to cardiff

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Manu C
JennieGM, Guest Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit. Kind regards Georgina

Reviewed 28 February 2016 via mobile

Apartment was clean and basically appointed so was a little soulless however would definitely stay there again tons of hot water for showering. Everything very clean but Having to pay extra for parking is outrageous and there are not even enough spaces available for the number of apartments!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ann8490
JennieGM, Guest Relations Manager at SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a lovely review of your recent stay with us here at SACO Cardiff. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We are sorry that you were not happy with the parking arrangements we have on site however due to our location parking is at a premium and to ensure that...

29 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (10)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cardiff hotels
0.1 km away
Innkeeper's Lodge, Cardiff
0.2 km away
Lincoln House Private Hotel
0.9 km away
Holiday Inn Cardiff City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
The Town House
The Town House
#16 of 46 in Cardiff
119 reviews
0.1 km away
Cathedral 73
Cathedral 73
#1 of 46 in Cardiff
126 reviews
3.2 km away
A Space in the City @ Quayside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Concierge
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This stunning restoration of magnificent Victorian town houses provides one and two bedroom apartments overlooking Sophia Gardens and Glamorgan County Cricket Ground. The apartments have been interior designed in a contemporary style featuring a large living/dining area (some with sofa beds), fully equipped kitchen, master bedroom with king size beds and separate bathroom. Two bedroom apartments also have king size beds and additional en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 

Additional Information about SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road

Address: Saco House 76 Cathedral Road, Cardiff CF11 9LL, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Cardiff
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Price Range: $152 - $301 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Hotel Cardiff
SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road Wales
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from SACO Cardiff - Cathedral Road staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rear apartments, gate access - no good for take away deliveries”
202carlk, 23 Feb 2016 | Read review
“Avoid the ground floor if you want a quiet stay.”
MichaelI746, 19 Apr 2014 | Read review
“make sure you check out the appartment and the itinary, also if you dont see a washer/dryer ASK where it is, we found ours on the day we left in a cupboard outside the appartment”
MaXteK, 28 Aug 2013 | Read review
“I havent had a bad apartment yet - even those with the living spaces facing the road have located their bedrooms to the quiet, leafy rear.”
662MaggieM, 16 Aug 2013 | Read review
“If you don't have earplugs or you have a child or second person sleeping perhaps avoid the rooms facing the street”
OliverL244, 5 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
LateRooms.com
US$118* /night
View Deal
TripAdvisorUS$118
Priceline
Agoda.com
View all 5 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates