We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Share
Tyndall Street, Cardiff CF10 4BE Wales
Lowest prices for your stay
ibis Budget
US$41
View deal
Booking.com
US$40
View deal
US$40
View deal
Hotels.com
Expedia.comUS$40
Algotels
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (203)
Room & Suite (83)
Dining (17)

About

#36 of 75 hotels in Cardiff
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
GreenLeaders Bronze level
Ibis budget Cardiff is a hotel in the City Centre of Cardiff with affordable prices. All rooms are en-suite, with double bed and a single bunk bed. TV with freeview channels. Snack are available at our 24 hrs reception and Continental Breakfast Buffet for only £7.80. Free WIFI access in all bedrooms and public areas.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Snack bar
Shared lounge / TV area
Show more
Room features
Soundproof rooms
Housekeeping
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Budget
Modern
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Czech and 8 more
1556Reviews40Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 329
  • 580
  • 359
  • 130
  • 158
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
Samantha B wrote a review Jan 2023
Warminster, United Kingdom21 contributions31 helpful votes
We stayed here for a concert at the Motorpoint Arena. It was extremely busy but the service was outstanding. The complimentary tea and coffee were gratefully appreciated. The rooms are very basic but that is all we needed. Clean room, very very comfortable bed. Perfect - will be back
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Eimear B wrote a review Nov 2022
Dublin, Ireland11 contributions6 helpful votes
Hotel's Favourite
Lovely hotel! The staff were amazing & so accommodating with our check-in & when we were stuck with parking. They went above & beyond for us & ensured we were looked after. The place is so lovely & clean & the rooms were perfect for what we needed, not to mention the overnight cost was fantastic! Well done to the lovely hotel & hard working staff. You made our stay very enjoyable!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We are very much look forward to warmly welcoming you again in the near future. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Jennifer N wrote a review Jan 2023
2 contributions
Ok so booked this room because it was cheap and would have been extremely disappointed if I had paid anymore than the £59 we did.. in fact still a little disappointed. Next time will pay the extra to stay somewhere else. Let's start with the positives l. The location is great really near the city centre and local parking we always use when in Cardiff. We were there for a concert in the arena and it was only 6 minute walk so ideal. Although I would not walk this alone, only ok as was with my husband. The staff were really lovely and super helpful and the hotel has a locked baggage storage room which was great as we arrived a lot before the 3 pm check in time. We got back to hotel just after 2:30 and our room was ready....I always think 3 pm is a little late and much prefer a 2pm check in..there was tea and coffee in the lobby which was good as there was none in the rooms. Now.... The room itself.... The bathroom is a funny configuration with a sink in the room a kind of toilet cupboard, where if you were tall you may struggle to even sit on the toilet and a shower cubicle which opens straight into the room with a glass door.. this means ZERO BATHROOM PRIVACY. This was a little uncomfortable even for myself and my husband and I would have been most upset if I had been sharing with a friend. I realise this is probably to make the room feel bigger but there is more than enough space for a small bathroom in fact this layout probably wastes more space overall. I have stayed in smaller rooms with better bathroom facilities. Would t have been as bad for a solo traveller though. Very disturbing if you need to use the sink in the night Otherwise the room was ok with a lot of wear and tear and a big mark on the wall next to the bed where someone had obviously spilt coffee. There is only one set of plugs and these are nowhere near the bed side table making phone charging a pain and nowhere near a mirror so can't use electric hair styling tools either. Overall the whole room is totally inconvenient for a couple or anyone who requires a plug for normal travelling activities. The one thing that was good was lights could be controlled from the bed although I did hit my head on them and accidentally switch the light on in the middle of the night. There is heating but no Aircon. Not ideal really. Overall I'm glad I didn't pay a lot and we won't be staying again if we can help it. It's a shame as have always only had good things to say about ibis/ibis budget previously.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Not suitable if you want privacy in the bathroom or more than one plug.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 6 days ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre. In the first instance, may I offer my sincere apologies for the poor service you received on this occasion and that your experience did not meet your expectations. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Andy S wrote a review Jan 2023
34 contributions15 helpful votes
+ I got too hammered and got lost on my way to the toilet and ended up in the corridor in my pants. The receptionist was good enough to take me back to my room as my wife, also hammered, couldn't be roused to let me in. Room looks like Danish prison cell but the shower was good. - when I called the day before I was told there was a carpark at the hotel for guests. This is NOT the case. There is a car park but it's run by Just Park and isn't anything to do with the hotel. Its not the end of the world so I have no idea why they'd lie about something like that!!!! There's plenty of street parking nearby though. A city centre hotel without it's own carpark is poor in my opinion.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking time to give a review about your stay with us. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Please be assured that this is not a true reflection of the high standards upon which Ibis prides itself. We are sorry that you had to face such an inconvenience regarding the car park. Since this is a private parking lot and we do not publicise it on any website, we always suggest that guests secure a spot in advance or make other arrangements.Again, i would like to express my sincere apology for the misunderstanding. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Damong wrote a review Jan 2023
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom3 contributions2 helpful votes
Slept great thanks, bed is nice, I watched a movie until I fell asleep with the lights on. Daddy told me not to, he knows best. Green walls helps calm the mind and body. Rough walls make my skin feel good
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
born2travelit wrote a review Jan 2023
Cesena, Italy16449 contributions3338 helpful votes
We have spent 2 nights in this tiny but nice hotel. Helpful and friendly reception, great location very close to the train station, to the city center and to the bus station... everything at a small walking distance. Fair price, Very suggested
Read more
Date of stay: January 2023
Value
Service
Sleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your comments of your stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Ceri P wrote a review Dec 2022
Tenby, United Kingdom37 contributions8 helpful votes
The cleanliness was sub-par, the bed was not comfortable, room in a sad state of repair, noise levels from other guests kept us up, the floor outside the shower was not non-slip, so when stepping out after a shower, you have to be very careful, and as a person with mobility issues due to fractured vertebrae, it was difficult, so, could do with a mat at least. The tea and coffee facilities were in the reception, and were very dirty. Even for a budget hotel, it was poor
Read more
Date of stay: December 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Don't stay, unless you are desperate
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to share with us your impressions of the Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nbreezo wrote a review Nov 2022
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom14 contributions23 helpful votes
Visited with my wife, we visited Cardiff International to see a concert, cheap and cheerful good location, short walk to Cardiff centre, we got parking in the ibis carpark through just park app. Staff were very helpful, room was clean and tidy.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Room Tip: Book parking via just park app before you go
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We value you taking the time to provide us with feedback regarding your stay at the Ibis Budget Cardiff Center. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ShelbyMJ wrote a review Nov 2022
England107 contributions148 helpful votes
Stayed for 3 nights during the week with my 10-year old daughter. Excellent location, could walk to everything we wanted to see, close to train station. Staff were so friendly and we were allowed to check in early as there was a room available. After reading some reviews I wasn't expecting much but was pleasantly surprised. Room was clean and bright and big enough for us. We slept well, no noise but that's probably because it was mid week. Breakfast was included which was fine. I do not generally eat breakfast so wasn't too fussed but my daughter liked helping herself and getting little pancakes from the machine. No kettle in the room but we knew that before we went. Free tea and coffee was downstairs at any time. Was a pain when you had your pj's on a fancied a hot drink but we managed. Would stay again if e er I'm back in Cardiff.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
Room Tip: When getting out of the shower you step straight into the room so might not work for everyone.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Kieran F wrote a review Nov 2022
London, United Kingdom38 contributions46 helpful votes
For the price you pay in central cardiff it was pretty spot on. 5 minutes walk from the Motorpoint area which is very handy and free coffee and tea. The rooms were very basic and small but I also had a 3 person room for just myself. The shower wasn’t great but it was hot. No lock on toilet door and a hole in the shower glass is a little risky. Two girls were arguing for an hour between 5-6am and no security came to stop it and the walls were so thin I could hear everything. Check out was at 12:00pm which was good but also the housekeeping came in while I was in bed at 9am which is wrong if it’s before checkout. For the price I’d stay again but it isn’t a place of luxury.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2022Trip type: Travelled solo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Helpful
Share
Response from Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager at ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Ibis Budget Cardiff Centre. I am sorry if your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. At Ibis Budget, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future. Sincerely, Alfredo Rabadan, General Manager
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
US$39 - US$93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
etap hotel cardiff, etap cardiff
LOCATION
United KingdomWalesSouth WalesCardiff
NUMBER OF ROOMS
157
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

IBIS BUDGET CARDIFF CENTRE: UPDATED 2023 Hotel Reviews, Price Comparison and 235 Photos (Wales) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about ibis budget Cardiff Centre
Which popular attractions are close to ibis budget Cardiff Centre?
Nearby attractions include Treetop Adventure Golf Cardiff (0.4 km), Porter's (0.3 km), and Motorpoint Arena Cardiff (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at ibis budget Cardiff Centre?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, breakfast buffet, and reduced mobility rooms.
What food & drink options are available at ibis budget Cardiff Centre?
Guests can enjoy breakfast and a snack bar during their stay.
Is parking available at ibis budget Cardiff Centre?
Yes, paid private parking on-site and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to ibis budget Cardiff Centre?
Conveniently located restaurants include Las Iguanas - Cardiff, Wahaca Cardiff, and L2 Restaurant & Bar.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at ibis budget Cardiff Centre?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Hindi.
Are there any historical sites close to ibis budget Cardiff Centre?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Insole Court (4.2 km), St Lythans Burial Chamber (7.3 km), and Mansion House (1.1 km).
Is ibis budget Cardiff Centre accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access, reduced mobility rooms, and facilities for disabled guests. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.