We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Holiday Inn Express Newport

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Newport
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

555 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 544: English reviews
Start your review of Holiday Inn Express Newport
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visiting South Wales for a relative's 90th Birthday meal and needed an overnight before we departed on holiday. This was ideally located for a nearby restaurant. Easy to find. Decent clean fairly basic room. OK buffet breakfast. Very helpful reception desk staff.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Richard, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review regarding your stay at our property. It is truly wonderful to read that during your visit here for a realtive's 90th Birthday meal, you found the hotel ideally located for your needs, easy to find and my colleagues very helpful. I...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We really enjoy our stay. The staff were brilliant, they made the place feel very welcoming. Our room was modern and clean. We will defiantly use the some hotel again if we return. We stayed over for one night as we were going to a concert in the neon centre. Taxi cost £8.00 approx to the centre of town.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Cerys O, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am overjoyed to hear that the Staff were brilliant and they made you feel welcome I will pass these lovely comments onto my colleagues. I am glad that you found our to be modern and clean and that you would...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Its been ages since sleeping at Holiday Inn hotel, but I love the brand, room is clean, warm. Staff are friendly, helpful. I know that I will always get a comfortable nights sleep and wake up to a lovely breakfast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank markjw4119
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with such a wonderful review regarding your stay with us. I am overjoyed to read, that as a return customer, you were not disappointed with your return visit. You experienced your usual comfortable nights sleep and woke up to a lovely breakfast, I will be sure to pass on...

Forfar
Reviewed 1 week ago

Good welcome from helpful reception staff. Room excellent with a lovely clean bathroom. Quiet location with a large car park. Well positioned for onward travel. Only let down by breakfast coffee machine not dispensing any coffee.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Jean, Thank for your writing a review, it’s always nice to know we are delivering friendly service to our guests. It is wonderful to hear that the Hotel was in an ideal location for your needs, my colleagues were helpful and your room was lovely and clean. I will be sure to pass on all of your feedback to...

Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived to a cot set up. Didn't request it as I thought I'd get charged (bought own incase)but came and it was set up in room already.great breakfast, great location,friendly staff. Big room. Recommend .quiet although on road and close to motorway but far enough to not here anything. Would use again. Free wifi so imagine business trippers would love...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lukekenno
Cerys O, Guest Service Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay. I am glad to hear that the Hotel was in a great location and suited your needs. I am overjoyed to hear that the staff were friendly I will pass on your wonderful comments on to my colleagues. I am glad to hear...

Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

So with hotels in Cardiff charging excessive rates whenever the rugby is on, we looked for alternative locations. We discovered the Holiday Inn Express which is just off J28 of the M4 between Newport and Cardiff, and a £25 taxi fare into the centre of Cardiff. Apart from the excessive charge for the accommodation, we thought this was a good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nevleary
Cerys O, Guest Serivce Assistant at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that the Location of the hotel suited your needs. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our Express Start Breakfast selection did not live up to your expectations. Please rest assure that...

Yeovil, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for the 6 nations Wales v England game. As expected the hotel was full and prices were high, but that is to be expected for a 6 nations weekend. Although full the staff worked tirelessly to keep the included buffet breakfast replenished. We had a room for three adults which was very clean and functional. The hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bexythepirate
Philippa J, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that your room was clean and functional. I am also pleased that the location of the hotel was convenient and suited for your needs. Thank you for your special mention for Tia, it is always great...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed as part of a group. Decent enough sized bedroom and smallish double bed was comfy enough. Shower was ok but lacked power for me. Breakfasts poor and all self service/ but it was quick. Will I be back, doubt it.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yarrum47
Management response:

Dear Valued Guest, Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at our Hotel. I am glad to hear that you found our bed's comfortable. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy our inclusive breakfast, I will pass this on to the rest of our staff, we take all feedback that...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 February 2017 via mobile

Spent night there on the way to day with family in Cardiff, which we did a couple of years ago. A very comfortable nights stay in a large room, comfortable bed and a decent breakfast. It's a shame that the Italian restaurant round the corner seems to have closed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dtaylor65
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review regarding your stay with us. I am delighted to read that the Hotel was in an ideal location for your needs and that you found your room spacious, bed comfortable and breakfast decent. I will be sure to pass on all...

Letchworth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2017

The stay here was nice enough - we also visited the bar for a drink before bed, where there was plenty of comfortable seating to sit and enjoy a pint. The room itself was nice enough, the bed itself was a little uncomfortable and I didn't get the best nights sleep. The breakfast in the morning was disappointing - stale...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tomby1
Kate F, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Newport, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to leave us with a review regarding your stay with us. I am pleased to read that your stay with us was nice enough and that you enjoyed our bar area. However, I am disappointed to read that your experience was not everything that you would have desired, in particular the Breakfast...

92 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (48)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (18)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (44)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Newport hotels
5.1 km away
Hotel ibis budget Newport
Hotel ibis budget Newport
#10 of 19 in Newport
538 reviews
7.8 km away
The Priory Hotel & Restaurant
8.7 km away
Holiday Inn Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
#9 of 19 in Newport
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 km away
Premier Inn Newport Wales (M4, J24) Hotel
4.0 km away
The Queens Hotel, Newport
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Cardiff East Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Choose the good-value Holiday Inn Express Newport hotel for convenient links to the M4 and Cardiff. Holiday Inn Express Newport is 20 minutes' drive from Cardiff city centre and 30 minutes' from Cardiff International Airport, with plenty of complimentary parking .Our handy location beside Celtic Springs Business Park, 6 miles from Newport town centre, puts local companies on your doorstep. You can check email with free wireless Internet available throughout. Make yourself comfortable on a leather sofa in the bar and chat to friends over a beer. Invite 10-55 people to an event in our 5 naturally lit meeting rooms, all equipped with LCD projectors and wireless Internet. Holiday Inn Express Newport offers a free continental breakfast with selected hot items each morning and under-18s stay for free in our Family rooms. It's just 12 miles to sports events in Cardiff's Millennium Stadium and nights out in Cardiff Bay's lively bars. We are delighted all of our guestrooms have now been refurbished and have a completely new look. We have added in lots of extra features including irons, ironing boards and better hair dryers to make sure that you have even more home comforts when you are away from home. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Newport

Address: Lakeside Drive | Coedkernew, Newport NP10 8BB, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Southern Wales > Newport
Price Range: $71 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Newport 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Newport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Newport Hotel Newport
Holiday Inn Newport
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Newport staff and other travellers.
20 questions
Ask a question
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
8 months ago
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom
London, United Kingdom

See all questions (20)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Newport staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The hotel nestles between the M4 and the A48. You must drive from the hotel to do things.”
 of 5 bubbles nevleary, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go higher than the second floor”
 of 5 bubbles Ant1421, 27 Dec 2016 | Read review
“We had a ground floor room overlooking car park so was able to park car outside of our bedroom window. Very peaceful.”
 of 5 bubbles pbmcm1945, 4 Dec 2016 | Read review
“If you are looking for a quiet room ask for one facing the car park.”
 of 5 bubbles giannir, 3 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 37 is right at the end of the corridor so no one walking past during the night”
 of 5 bubbles Y2658XMemmar, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5