We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Watertop Farm

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ballycastle
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Watertop Farm
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

89 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 88: English reviews
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2016

Watertop Farm at Ballycastle is a lovely setting for a touring caravan. Some sites have mains water and waste at each caravan. Good facilities for children to play and a selection of animals to see. Paddywagon trip interesting, great scenery. Very friendly staff and the onsite café great for breakfast or other meals. Only a short drive on to Portrush...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leslie J M
Reviewed 29 August 2016 via mobile

Once again the kids still love it. It would be one of the best places to camp. Terry and patsy welcome you and rember you if you've been before! Well priced for a family of 5 for a weekend away. Lots to do

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We went for a day and joined in in all the activities on offer. Horse riding, rowing boat's, tractor rides etc there was lots to do and the staff were great . Have to give dee a special thanks for taking time with the children some of whom were afraid to get into the boat. He was able to reassure...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Maria k
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

We visited the farm on Sunday the 14th and what a day we had plenty of things to do and enjoy the kids really had fun on the pony trecking paddy wagon quad train and the boats big thank you to diarmaid who was excellent in making our children feel safe on the boats also to Zara for taking them...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lurae29
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night camping with a friend on our travels round northern Ireland. Friendly and helpful staff, lovely site with great, clean facilities. Plenty to keep us entertained through the evening too, resident animals, including six adorable kittens, and an assault course!! Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank lisadakin7
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 July 2016

We spent one night at the farm at the weekend and loved it. It is a basic campsite - but that was part of the charm. There were a lot of midgies about in the evening - that comes with the territory but I would advise to bring some repellent, which we didn't! The farm itself and the surrounding area...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank keentraveller1211
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your very positive review. Lucckily those annoying criters(midges) are not around all the time. Just depends on the weather. Watertop is a good base to explore the surrounding area, and we are very lucky that Ballycastle has so much to offer by way of shopping, restaurants and bars and only 10mins from the farm. Thanks once...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 July 2016 via mobile

The website and Facebook page made this farm seem like a great day out. Unfortunately we were left disappointed. The play park is so small and the equipment has seen better days. Once inside activities such as a 2 minute quad trip around the farm is an additional £2 per person after the entry fees are paid. The biggest disappointment...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrsSCraig
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review

Oh dear, i am so sorry you didnt have a good experience at Watertop. I will try and address the issues you raise during your visit. Our admission charge is £3.00/adult and £2.50/child/senior. This covers access to the farm, the walks, the assault course, the cottage museum, the picnic areas, the small animals and the play park. I do need...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 July 2016

We stayed at Watertop Farm for two nights 6th & 7th July. All around good stay. £25.00 per night -(this includes entry onto the farm which is priced at £3.00 per adult and £2.50 per child) we were a family of four so the farm entry would have cost us £11.00 had we not been staying. So not bad price...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 6390nicole
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

I have been to Watertop for over 20 years. It seems that some travellers dont expect midgies in the late spring and summer ! This is perfectly normal for outdoors in the British isles. Quite simply you need to take precautions before you go... It is not a camping trip in Ireland if there arent midgies... So take precautions and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Serenityjunkie
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review

Thanks very much for your review of Watertop. I get the impression you are a seasoned camper!! Thankfully midges are not always a problem but yes we do have them from time to time. We do try our best to keep the new toilet block as clean as possible but when it is busy we would perhaps need to pay...

Reviewed 10 April 2016

Really enjoyed this site, it is quite basic but that adds to the charm, there is two places for caravans, ours was all grass, weather was ok so this wasn't a problem, might not have been as good in the rain. Kids loved being able to walk down to the barn to see kittens! Will be back again. Ballycastle is...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank J-bel1981
watertopterry, Owner at Watertop Farm, responded to this review

Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review of Watertop. Some people prefer grass some people prefer the hard stands. In our climate its good we have both! Wifi is a problem for us. We have been trying for years to get proper broadband to the farm but it appears we are at the end of the...

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (12)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballycastle
6.2 km away
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
Marine Hotel Ballycastle
#2 of 2 in Ballycastle
559 reviews
23.8 km away
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
The Bushmills Inn Hotel
#1 of 3 in Bushmills
1,498 reviews
6.3 km away
The Old Manse B & B
The Old Manse B & B
#2 of 25 in Ballycastle
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 km away
Carnately Lodge
Carnately Lodge
#7 of 25 in Ballycastle
163 reviews
14.4 km away
The Fullerton Arms
The Fullerton Arms
#1 of 2 in Ballycastle
216 reviews
6.2 km away
An Caislean
An Caislean
#5 of 25 in Ballycastle
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Watertop Open Farm is located 6 miles outside Ballycastle in the Glens of Antrim, Northern Ireland. Watertop offers a great day out for all the family, with a variety of activities on offer, a Tea house for lunch, and camping & caravan pitches for an overnight stay, all set in the beautiful surroundings of the north east Antrim coast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Watertop Farm

Address: 188 Cushendall Road, Ballycastle BT54 6RN, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Ballycastle
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Watertop Farm staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for Hard Pitch”
 of 5 bubbles 6390nicole, 11 Jul 2016 | Read review
“If you are camping and want to minimize midge exposure, go to the bigger camping field”
 of 5 bubbles Serenityjunkie, 26 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Bring Board Games, No Wifi and no Mobile Phone coverage.”
 of 5 bubbles WasItWorthIt, 28 Mar 2016 | Read review
“To cut costs make a packed lunch and pack loads of juice for the kids”
 of 5 bubbles annie355, 17 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Choose a site away from the water tap or you will be 'runnin' all night long.”
 of 5 bubbles Lisa209947, 15 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5