We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Waterfoot Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Waterfoot Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

484 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 463: English reviews
Reviewed today NEWvia mobile

The hotel is clean enough but is very dated and could do with a total revamp. Cleaning standards seem to be basic as low levels were dusty, maintenance is very slap dash. The breakfast was good however the menu said "fresh" orange juice, but the waitress filled my glass with orange juice from a carton 😣. I did find it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice H
Derry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Recently visited the hotel for lunch and it definitely did not disappoint. We sat in the cosy snug bar and were attended to by an excellent female staff member who was running the bar. The food was delicious and excellent value for money. Highly recommended and looking forward to getting back sometime soon

 Report
Helpful?
Thank derrybrowneyedgirl
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

only two nice things about the hotel! employee Colleen(I think or similar) was extremely helpful and friendly.. and the hotel lobby/reception. nothing like the photos.. mold in the bathroom (tried to be covered with paint), wallpaper starting to peal.. bed covers stained and bally like thy were over used! so went to reception asked for refund which didn't seem like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank shaannonnn
Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Well, had a really bad experience regarding a booking regarding for my daughters confirmation! .... I was so disappointed with the lack of communication between myself and staff, however, after numerous emails, this was brought to the attention of the general manageress. She immediately contacted me, regarding the issue! She could not apologise enough, she contacted me from her own...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Selina M
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Selina, Thank you taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I am so pleased to hear that my colleague Denise was able to address any confusion. I will certainly pass on your kind words to Denise, she will be thrilled to receive them. We look forward to welcoming you and your family to the Waterfoot Hotel...

Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend stayed in the waterfoot hotel for New Year's Eve. We had a meal in the wine bar first and the food was beautiful, then we went a short taxi journey into the city centre and had a great night. The rooms where lovely and the breakfast the next day was lovely also. I would definitely recommend...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chrissy F
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chrissy, It is lovely to hear from you and thank you for sharing your recent experience on this forum. I am pleased to read that all aspects of your stay impressed you and that you found our location so convenient. I will certainly share your feedback with the team. We look forward to welcoming you and your boyfriend back...

Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The decor was beautiful and the bar and eating area were also quite lovely. Our meal was nothing like the above The starter was soggy and my chilli chicken was dry chicken in a sauce presented in a soggy pitta. I would have complained, especially when my son, who could eat anything after 6 years as a student, did not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Colclough2014
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am disappointed to read your comments about your recent Waterfoot Hotel experience. I have passed on your comments to our team and we will certainly investigate them further. Can I ask you to dine with us again because your experience is out of the ordinary and I am confident that next time you will have a much...

Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Poor service....average food...unprofessional management who dont seem interested in their customers or the improvement of their staff and business. We simply wont be returning. Simple aspects missed such as stock knowledge...cutlery for the table....desserts forgotton....mains wrongly delivered ....no call back...and No apology and No response to complaint.

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Jamie W
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jamie, Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant in regards your recent experience with us. I would like to apologize for the negative aspects you mentioned within your review. I would also like to apologize for the lack of attention your received. Please be assured however each guest is of the utmost importance to us and...

County Londonderry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 December 2016

We booked for a family meal in the restaurant and we were not disappointed we were greeted by friendly staff and shown to our sits.We ordered our meal and it was served very quickly.We all had a lovely meal (clean plates all round.)The restaurant has a lovely atmosphere,customer service is first class, great food. Not sure if you need to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane I
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Diane, Thank you for the 5 star review and for taking the time to share your recent experience on this forum. I am delighted to read that all aspects of your dining experience impressed you and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back...

Newcastle, Australia
Reviewed 24 December 2016 via mobile

The waterfoot hotel has interesting modern decor. It is comfortable and clean with spacious rooms. The restaurant is modern and the bar was well equipped. I enjoyed my one night stay at the hotel and would recommended to others staying in Londonderry/Derry.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten M
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kirsten, Thank you very much for your lovely comments about our hotel. It is always a pleasure to read such positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Waterfoot Hotel. Best wishes, Natasha O'Hea Sales & Marketing Manager

Reviewed 22 December 2016 via mobile

I stayed in the Waterfoot with my elderly mother while we visited friends and had a shopping trip. The staff looked after our every need, they were very friendly and very attent. I can't fault it. I will definately stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carmel V
DaVincisHotel, Sales & Marketing Manager at Waterfoot Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carmel, Thank you for the 5 star review and for taking the time to share your experience on this forum. I am pleased to read that you and your mother had an enjoyable stay and I will be sure to pass on your kind words to the team. We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon to...

95 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (64)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (20)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
2.8 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
1,906 reviews
4.5 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
3.1 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Bishop's Gate Hotel
Bishop's Gate Hotel
#1 of 11 in Derry
406 reviews
4.8 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
1,179 reviews
2.2 km away
Ramada DA Vinci's Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Opened in July 2009, the Waterfoot Hotel is perfectly located under 3 miles from the City Centre and only 6 miles from Derry City Airport. Only 10 minutes walk from the hotel, the fabulous peace bridge allows easy access to the heart of Derry City. Ample free parking with free taxi transfer to city centre offered to all hotel guests. The stylish and elegantly presented hotel has 44 bedrooms, leading edge conference and banqueting facilities, a contemporary restaurant and wine bar as well as a traditional intimate snug bar. The Waterfoot Hotel is the ideal location for weddings, private functions, conferences and meetings. With modern decor throughout and friendly staff a great experience is guaranteed. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Waterfoot Hotel

Address: 14 Clooney Road | 14 Clooney Road, Derry BT47 6TB, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range: $81 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterfoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Waterfoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Waterfoot Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Waterfoot Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Didn't stay over”
 of 5 bubbles 345sheilam, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ambassador Suite 1 is awesome, Room 102 not too bad either!!”
 of 5 bubbles Martysip, 3 Nov 2016 | Read review
“if not travelling for a wedding just check you are not too close to the wedding venue as this could pose a problem with noise at night”
 of 5 bubbles arnoldino, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“There are no good rooms if there is a wedding reception at this venue.”
 of 5 bubbles ifiwereu, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Ask if there is a wedding on and make sure your room is not near it.”
 of 5 bubbles 479kathyw, 11 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5