We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Groarty House & Manor B&B

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Groarty House & Manor B&B
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

222 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 197: English reviews
Start your review of Groarty House & Manor B&B
 Click to rate
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Groarty House is in a fantastic location in the quiet countryside. It has amazing views and is a short distance from Derry City and the Donegal border so in an excellent choice for travelling to any part of Ireland. I am currently living in Roscommon and travel to Derry a few nights each month to visit my 84 year old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rosaline584
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to give us a lovely review . It is truly nice to know that our efforts are paying off and that you both enjoyed your stay with us. Look forward to having you stay with us again in the not to distance future, Take care. From all at Groarty House...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 March 2017

We could recommend groarty manor to anyone looking for a home from home break we found mr and Mrs hyndman to be so helpful,kind most of all the best hosts that we have found.so book now go there!!! We look forward to returning very soon.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank aimeemcc2017
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review, It makes such a difference to us and it is incredibly helpful as a way to introduce others to what we do here. I am glad you enjoyed yourself in our home and hopefully we will see you soon. We look forward to your next visit. It was truly a pleasure to serve you...

Wangaratta, Australia
Reviewed 8 March 2017 via mobile

Nice, clean and spacious rooms. The beds even have a top sheet which has been a rarity in our travels but is very much appreciated. The bathroom was very clean and had plenty of room in it. Breakfast was lovely and the hosts very pleasant. Would stay again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ozgirl82
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

ozgirl82 We really appreciate that you took the time to share details about your recent visit to Groarty House/ Manor. We are constantly hard at work doing everything we can to deliver high quality experiences to every one of our customers. Your review makes a difference to us and it is incredibly helpful as a way to introduce others to...

Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Upon looking trip advisor, I seen that it would be ideal for my husband and I. We were staying in the Groarty House (the older building), the Manor was fully booked up. We stayed in the twin room, which was really comfortable and had great views of the City, especially at night. We had noticed a disheartening review, about the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth H
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you Beth for your very positive review. I am glad you both enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you stay with us again.

Reviewed 28 February 2017

It's cheap, but even so it's very poor value for money. Not Clean: Dirty room: The beds are freshly made. I'm not sure what else the room preparation entails. Our ensuite did not look like it had been given more than a rudimentary cleaning. Noisy: Our bedroom was located across the corridor from the dining room and adjacent to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Hi Chris R Can you please let us know the name your room was booked under and the date of your stay so we can verify this review? regards John

Reviewed 27 February 2017 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was comfortable, welcoming and a peaceful beautiful location. Views are amazing, it's well located and serves a fabulous breakfast. Stayed for family christening visit, fabulous

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dianet64
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking a few moments to let us know how we are doing. Reading your review was of great encouragement to us reminding us why we do what we do.

Reviewed 26 February 2017

About 10-15min from the city by car. Nice place and great people running it, if you want to visit derry you should travel by car or get a taxi. Surroundings are very peaceful and quiet so nice place for a getaway.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sara P
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to give us a lovely review . It is truly nice to know that our efforts are paying off.

Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 February 2017

Booked about 5pm for 2 nts as daughter was in hospital , saved traveling home and could be in hospital a lot, Found Groarty house to be very homely, clean , comfortable and warm on a cold wet evening, 10 min fron hospital. Lovely location, plenty of hot water, fluffy towels, bed very comfy and a sheet under the quilt,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Edith E
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to give us a lovely review . It is truly nice to know that our efforts are paying off. I hope that your daughter is getting better now and we look forward to meeting you again in the near future.

Newry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

This place has two accommodation blocks. Groarty Manor looks new, clean and modern and the rooms (featured on the website) look great. Groarty House is old fashioned, dingey, dirty and depressing. Unfortunately we were accommodated in Groarty House. I suspect this was because we got an internet deal. Had we paid the full price I suspect we would have been...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Newry_Bloke
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our property/business. We truly value the opinions of our customers and we apologize that we did not meet your expectations. As we were fully booked that evening, we didn’t have any available rooms to move you too. Providing our guests with the best possible hospitality and service has always been our mission....

Cork
Reviewed 14 February 2017

A very well appointed place ran by Margaret and John and their friendly staff. A fine house. Great comfy room and bed. Tea and coffee makeing facilities,fine breakfast. Lots of fruit too. Its in the heart of the country but just a five minute drive from Derry.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank PalacemanCork
John H, Owner at Groarty House & Manor B&B, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review. It is great to know that we were able to provide you with the highest levels of service.

63 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Derry hotels
4.0 km away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#6 of 11 in Derry
1,947 reviews
10.2 km away
BEST WESTERN PLUS White Horse Hotel
4.0 km away
Maldron Hotel Derry
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 km away
Premier Inn Derry / Londonderry Hotel
4.4 km away
Everglades Hotel
Everglades Hotel
#3 of 11 in Derry
1,210 reviews
3.0 km away
Rose Park House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Groarty House & Manor B&B

Address: 62/64 Groarty Road, Derry BT48 0JY, Northern Ireland
Region: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Londonderry > Derry
Price Range: $86 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Groarty House & Manor B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Groarty House & Manor B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Groarty House & Manor B&B staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay elsewhere.”
chrisrS7190ZI, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room 3 was lovely and quiet and comfortable”
11EdithE, 24 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was ground floor just opposite dining area so lovely”
91andreac, 1 Oct 2016 | Read review
“My room was at the front and the view was lovely. Not sure about the other aspects.”
Geneal0gist, 30 Oct 2015 | Read review
“The bed is too soft for us”
ZulemaG, 12 Oct 2015 | Read review
5 of 5