We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Carmelite

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Carmelite
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

592 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Carmelite
See the most recent reviews
Showing 577: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2016

We stayed one night for a night out in Aberdeen, plus the afternoon at the football. It did not disappoint. We had loved our stay here before and were happy to find they were consistent in standard of service. Our room was lovely, with brass bed and quirky seating. Breakfast was very satisfying with plenty of options. Lively bar.

Helpful?
Thank tally505
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2016

As a supplier to a wedding function at this so called amazing venue I was totally surprised with the manner of senior staff, especially from who we believe is the owner who was unhelpful, arrogant, rude and full of his own importance, (this was clearly visible in front of his own customers) who looked very uncomfortable with the situation. If... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Bob F

Travellers are raving about these Aberdeen hotels

Dundee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for one night through an itison deal( 2 course meal included). Went for our meal and to say service was slow is an understatement. Once food was ordered it did come in good time however the macaroni with a smoked cheese crust was none existent,just a bland macaroni with no smoked cheese. This place also... More 

Helpful?
Thank yvettew10
dumfries
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2016 via mobile

Booked a two night midweek break with an ITISON voucher and was given a quiet room at the back of the building, as requested. Dapper room was compact and functional, food and service were superb, and location was great. The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. Our stay at Carmelite was enjoyable and well worth the money we paid.

Helpful?
Thank queenb50
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to share you positive experience for your visit to Carmelite. I am delighted you had a great time. We look forward to welcoming you back, we always have great deals available, not just with Itison. Feel from to contact me anytime. More 

UK
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016

After a nice starter the mains and dessert were not good, even taking into account the reasonable costs of £15 for a three course meal. My steak (£2 supplement) was flavourless and chewy, and three of my companion's six mussels in his seafood tagliatelli were unopened. The crumble was overloaded with sugar and the topping more like broken biscuits than... More 

Helpful?
Thank drfoody
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Carmelite. I am pleased to read you received positive service, whilst disappointing to read the quality of food let us down. I have discussed these comments with our kitchen team, and although no excuse, I am confident with our Chef back from annual leave, he will be readdressing the performance of his... More 

Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while attending an evening function. Stayed in the Bullnose Suite. Was nice of the staff member on 'reception' to let us check in early and she showed us to our room and explained how everything worked. Room was a nice size tastefully decorated with comfy king size bed and had bath and walk in shower.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Pauline S
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your positive experience generally in our beautiful Bullnose Suite. Our main central heating was not due to be switched on from the Summer till last weekend, as a full service and individual 'bleeding of the system was taking place the previous week. It's always a difficult time of year to decide when to put heating on.... More 

Girdwood, Alaska
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2016 via mobile

The room was nice and good good - loud, but they give you earplugs. Well designed although a bit pricey I thought ... But the bed was comfortable and shower nice so can't really complain - nice coffee shops nearby and centrally located.

Helpful?
Thank AKSkiergirl
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review

I am pleased you had an enjoyable stay with us. We offer a wide range of pricing for our various rooms. From comfortable standard 3rd floor rooms, through to our 1st floor designed and 2nd floor dapper rooms, to our eclectic suites. We are superbly situated in the heart of the Merchant Quarter, which is amongst the night life of... More 

Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2016 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel before and we love the location, central to shops, restaurants and bars. Friendly staff and our room was great with everything we needed and very clean, I would never hesitate to stay here and I look forward to trying out the themed rooms sometime.

Helpful?
Thank Kar679
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review

It's great to read we are your hotel of choice in the city, due to our location, style and service an d staff. Please do not hesitate to let me know should anything change.... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2016 via mobile

My wife and family visited the Carmelite on Sunday night for a meal. The Carmelite is a lovely hotel very close to the Union Square shopping centre. The hotel was pretty quiet but still a nice atmosphere and all staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food was very good albeit quite a small menu with most of us going... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andrew H
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review

I take on board your comment regarding the smaller menu on Sunday's which concentrates on the Sunday Roasts. There are still a wide range of items on this menu, as well as offering the Munchies Menu. We do also have a shorter service period on Sundays, with the kitchen closing at 8pm rather than 10pm, as we do experience a... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2016 via mobile

I went to Carmilite for afternoon tea with the girls...enjoyed our afternoon,great service,reasonable price but the sandwiches were awful apart from the egg ones(who can get an egg sanwich wrong!)...the salmon ones tasted awful and the ham ones were actually thick cut gammon..all the egg went but we left most of the rest...the cakes and scones were lovely....please improve the... More 

Helpful?
Thank FLORIDAFI
GAaberdeen, Owner at Carmelite, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience, on the whole we receive positive feedback from the Afternoon Tea products, although acknowledge may not be to everyone's liking. We are are in the mist of changing our afternoon tea products at the beginning of October, which we do on an annual basis. These will include the sandwich fillings and breads. Hopefully these... More 

279 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (90)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (170)
Viewed
Amenities (26)
Viewed
Other (95)
Viewed
Dining (34)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
0.4 km away
Mercure Aberdeen Caledonian Hotel
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
Jurys Inn Aberdeen
#6 of 62 in Aberdeen
1,653 reviews
0.1 km away
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
Aberdeen Douglas Hotel
#28 of 62 in Aberdeen
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Soprano St Magnus Court Hotel
0.1 km away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#47 of 62 in Aberdeen
290 reviews
0.2 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#16 of 62 in Aberdeen
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Carmelite Bar & Grill
Carmelite Bar & Grill
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Carmelite is neatly positioned in the centre of Aberdeen's Merchant Quarter, which is adjacent to the transport hub of rail, bus, coach stations and harbour. The Merchant Quarter is the "grown up" area of the city, full of independent bars and restaurants, and surrounded by the city's 5 under-cover retail shopping centres. An historical Grade B listed building dating back to mid 1800's, Carmelite has undergone major refurbishment program over recent years, introducing a boutique environment on the ground floor of Carmelite Bar & Grill, whilst the 50 bedrooms offer a mix of "Designer" Suites and rooms on the 1st floor, "Dapper" rooms refurbished end of 2012, on the 2nd floor and comfortable standard rooms on the 3rd floor. These enable attractive rates to suit all budgets. Aberdeen is a commercial city, with limited accommodation mid-week, however weekends offer some fantastic deals making an alternative visitor experience very affordable. The 6 Suites are all different, and very quirky - from round beds in turrets, and gigantic sleigh beds, all designer rooms have cast iron baths, monsoon showers. The "Dapper" rooms have un-cluttered designs with a mix of large monsoon shower rooms, double ended steel baths (some designed with 'no taps'), and black-out window blinds. All the bespoke furniture in these rooms were made by A social Enterprise Company in Dundee, called Dovetail. The 3rd floor standard rooms, although not yet refurbished, offer clean, comfortable accommodation, still with all the usual amenities. All rooms have luxury beds made locally by Social Enterprise Aberdeen Company called Glencraft. Designer "Anatomicals" or "Keiji" bath products, 32/40" LED Samsung Freeview TVs, as well as clocks, iPhone docking stations, tea/coffee making facilities, and most rooms with iron and ironing boards. A room service menu is available during restaurant times.The ground floor also is a boutique environment, quirky with a large open plan lounge and dining area, with informal comfy sofas, a Baby Grand Piano playing at weekends, and a dining 4 Poster Bed. The comprehensive bar menu offers superb cocktails, 12 champagnes, and extensive wine and drinks as well as a bar nibbles food options. Menus cover breakfast and brunch from a "Wake Up till Noon" menu, then an A'la Carte "All Day Menu" available from 12noon through till dinner. There is a Shoppers Menu available till 5pm each day with £8 main courses, and a Market Menu options each evening. There are two event rooms, Library and Balmoral for delegates up to 120, private dining to 50 diners, and Mad Hatter Tea Parties from 20 people. Intoxicating Afternoon Teas are a specialty, as well as Rock & Roll Parties in the 4 Poster Bed. Free wi-fi is available throughout the building, with a PC available for guests' use in the library. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Carmelite

Address: Stirling Street | Merchant Quarter, Aberdeen AB11 6JU, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $106 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Carmelite 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Carmelite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carmelite Hotel Aberdeen
Carmelite Aberdeen, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Aberdeen
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Carmelite staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Carmelite staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to rear might be quieter”
 of 5 bubbles EmmaMaria99, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“My tip - Don't go!!”
 of 5 bubbles 14debbier, 20 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are offered a tiny room ask for an upgrade (you will be charged) or stay elsewhere”
 of 5 bubbles carolinet583, 28 Aug 2016 | Read review
“A room at the rear of the hotel”
 of 5 bubbles Pompeyhaz, 13 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Quiet floors, comfy beds, good price, great food, wedding venue”
  • The curtains have completely blocked out the sun, perfect for a lie in! Cabernet suite.
 of 5 bubbles aureliak429, 9 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay