We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Booking.comUS$44*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$53*
US$44*
Great Deal
US$53*
US$49*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Aberdeen Youth Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

88 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aberdeen Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 66: English reviews
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewed 24 July 2016

Hands down the worst place we (fam of 5) stayed in during our Scotland trip. My god, we told the kids to keep their shoes on in the room as the carpet was that dirty. The toilet in the hallway reminded me of my student dorm situation - not good, believe me. We were on the 4th floor, no elevator...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Olaf P
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

HI Olaf P, Thank you for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us. Its quite clear from your review your experience was not a good one and would appreciate it if you could contact me directly to discuss these issues further on hopman@syah.org.uk . Regards Dan

Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

If you cannot live without WiFi and a lift to get you to the first floor, avoid the place. If you can live with a peaceful, clean, well organized, well thought, well looked after place, this is for you. A lot of common space, impressive kitchen, TV room, lounge, all nice and comfortable. Only little thing missing : individual lights...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Annie B
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

hi Annie B Thanks for taking the time to review our Hostel following your recent stay with us. Its great to see you had a good time and we have noted your comments regarding Wi-Fi it is something we are constantly trying to improve and value your feedback. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Fraserburgh
Reviewed 19 June 2016

This was our first experience of a youth hostel and we were delighted at what we found. We had an en-suite room and found it most acceptable. We are likely to use this place again as it is low priced and fits the bill for exactly what we need, i.e. a clean, well kept budget room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anhamast
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Anhamast, Thanks fore taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards Dan

Reviewed 13 June 2016

We were pleasantly surprised with our 2 night stay in Aberdeen youth hostel. We had a private room with a sink. Showers and toilet facilities were just next to the room and always clean. There was very little noise during the night, my only complaint was that the room was a little too hot. We took advantage of the free...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CarrieFlyer
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi CarrieFlyer, Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us,Its great to see you had a good time and we hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Reviewed 2 June 2016

Youth Hostel – Aberdeen, Scotland 1 = poor 2 = below average 3 = average (for class / category) 4 = above average 5 = excellent Category: Youth Hostel Purpose: Cheap place to sleep Overall Rating: 3 Value: 3 Cleanliness: 2 Comfort: 3 Décor: 2 Location: 3 Friendliness / Accessibility of Staff: 2 Internet Speed: 0 Desk Space: 1 Closet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bryan C
SYHAHostelling, Public Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Bryan C Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.We value all feedback and will discuss this to see how we can improve our service. We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 14 April 2016

My boyfriend and I stayed at their Double private room for 1 night in this hostel while we're backpacking. The location was okay, not super close to the city centre, yet not super inconvenient to get to. It was right outside a bus route to/from the train station (takes about 10 minutes). Staff was nice, didn't really have much interaction...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
SYHAHostelling, Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Rachel C Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Im glad to see overall you had a pleasant stay and have will look into your comments regarding the lighting. Regards Dan

Reviewed 2 April 2016

I stayed here for 7 nights, in a private single room. The location is excellent and not particularly loud, however the walls are paper thin and you can hear people even having a quiet conversation next door. Room did not have the heater left on when I arrived back that night so was freezing (this is Aberdeen guys, not Spain!)...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank citroen889
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aberdeen Youth Hostel, responded to this review

Hi citroen889, Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay with us.Im glad you enjoyed the location of the hostel and have noted your comments regarding the walls and heating. Regards Dan Osborne

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 February 2016

I booked and got a room to myself. There was plenty of space for my stuff, an armchair and bedside table, lamp and rail to hang clothes. However, I was disappointed with a number of things: uncomfortable mattress that gave me backache after 2 nights; also that there was only one double socket, hidden behind my bed. The room was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Susan S
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2016

A great hostel with all the expected amenities providing a comfortable night's sleep in cosy rooms away from Aberdeen's quite cold and windy climate. It's slightly out of the centre which is not a bad thing

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James P
Greater Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 10 October 2015

My hire car GPS had difficulty in finding this place. However once there it was comfortable and clean. It was also quite secure. I arrived late and had to leave early and was quite comfortable for the time I was there. It is expensive but much less so than other accommodation in the area. Massive kitchen, so ideal for those...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JudiC_adel

13 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aberdeen hotels
1.4 km away
Skene House Rosemount
Skene House Rosemount
#2 of 64 in Aberdeen
738 reviews
1.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Aberdeen City Centre
1.1 km away
Skene House Whitehall
Skene House Whitehall
#1 of 64 in Aberdeen
714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
Ibis Aberdeen Centre
#14 of 64 in Aberdeen
953 reviews
1.0 km away
Skene House Holburn
Skene House Holburn
#17 of 64 in Aberdeen
291 reviews
0.6 km away
Atholl Hotel
Atholl Hotel
#12 of 64 in Aberdeen
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
Room types
  • Kitchenette
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our great value hostel is set in a historic building packed full of character, and has good facilities including family rooms. Aberdeen is a beautiful city, with easy access to the countryside, fishing, golf and pony trekking. City based attractions include cinema, concerts and the arts. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aberdeen Youth Hostel

Address: 8 Queens Road, Aberdeen AB15 4ZT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Aberdeenshire > Aberdeen
Price Range: $35 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aberdeen Youth Hostel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Aberdeen Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aberdeen Youth Hostel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aberdeen Youth Hostel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Run, run and keep running”
893olafp, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Single room was great for solo traceller”
JudiC_adel, 10 Oct 2015 | Read review
“the best rooms are the ones at the building front, where wifi sometimes works.”
Morag_Sea, 18 Jul 2015 | Read review
“You will do lots of walking up flights of stairs for the women's dorms.”
TartanCat57, 11 Jul 2015 | Read review
“None, dont do it”
hugdavliv, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$44* /night
View Deal
Hostelworld.comUS$53
PricelineUS$49
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates