We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Oban Youth Hostel

Save
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent51%
  • Very good32%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible2%
Travellers talk about
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Free Parking
Beachfront
Non-Smoking Rooms
Kitchenette
Self-Serve Laundry
5 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (180)
There are newer reviews for Oban Youth Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
77
42
13
4
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
77
42
13
4
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenlodge buildingsecure bike storagetv loungeguest kitchentwin en suitegreat facilitieskitchen facilitiesmain buildingshower pressurecommon roomhot breakfastshort walkbeds were very comfortabledining roomlovely viewsea front
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2017

I need up staying at SYHA Oban for 5 nights and really enjoyed my stay. The hostel is clean with multiple common areas (tv area, sitting area, dining room and large kitchen). The staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms were spacious with plenty...More

Thank HaylesSurguy
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth HostelResponded 20 September 2017

Hi, What a lovely review, thanks so much, we really appreciate it. We don't want you to go home either. See you soon. Lorna Padden

Reviewed 18 September 2017 via mobile

Accommodation was clean, comfortable. Staff very friendly on arrival, but mis sold the breakfast which was very poor for £6.50. Dry eggs, cold bacon, baked beans that had obviously sat around for a long time, no tomatoes or mushrooms. My verdict is, stay there, but...More

Thank ClareS670
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth HostelResponded 20 September 2017

Hi, Thanks so much for your post and I am glad your stay was comfortable, I am disappointed to read your comments on your breakfast as we offer a lovely Scottish breakfast which is presented to a high quality, so I will feed this back...More

Reviewed 21 August 2017

We stayed here for 3 nights as a couple. Originally I had booked us a bed each in the male and female dorm as this was all that was showing as available (we booked last minute, 10 days before travelling). However, the next day I...More

Thank Amy F
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth HostelResponded 20 September 2017

Hello, Thanks so much for your lovely review, it really is appreciated and we will pass your kind words onto the team. Lorna Padden

Reviewed 19 August 2017

Like others have noted, this is in a good location but is a bit pricey considering what it offers. Laundry is handy. Wifi very poor. Shower pressure non-existent. A decent budget choice, but may be more suited to extreme budget travellers.

Thank KaperKate
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth HostelResponded 20 September 2017

Hi Thanks so much for posting and letting us know about your experience, we appreciate all feedback as it allows us to continually improve. Lorna Padden

Reviewed 4 July 2017

This place, like many other guest houses, along the esplanade has a gorgeous view of the water and the harbour. The staff were friendly and the cleanliness was reasonable. They have a deal where you can rent the entire lodge with a few families which...More

Thank Y861GKgeorgep
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Oban Youth HostelResponded 7 July 2017

Hello, Thanks for taking the time to post it is very much appreciated. I am sorry to read that you didn't feel the Youth Hostel was value for money, our team and facilities constantly score highly in service standards but we will look at all...More

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oban
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Beachfront
Free Parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Self-Serve Laundry
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$34 - US$229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Kitchenette, Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (61)
Room & Suite (17)
Dining (3)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Deniz T
20 September 2016|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from 5Lauraking100 | Reviewed this property |
Sorry for the delay in replying I'm not too sure about if it's pet friendly
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Rooms in the main building may be quieter. Don't stay in the annexe!"
Read review
"rooms at the front have spectacular views of the bay."
Read review
"Ensuite room had sea views"
Read review
"Best views in the main building, best privacy in the annexe."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing