We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Failte Bed & Breakfast

Booking.comUS$102*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$102*
US$102*
US$102*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Failte Bed & Breakfast
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

170 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 135: English reviews
Start your review of Failte Bed & Breakfast
 Click to rate
Banff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very comfortable accommodation with friendly efficient hosts. Would stay here again. Very convenient for harbour area, which is an easy walk in distance, but steep. Great view. Parking in the driveway was very convenient. We had an early ferry, but the continental breakfast was excellent.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank The-Brooker-Barbours
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We hope you will have time to enjoy our full breakfast when you visit us the next time.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

A steady climb up the hill reveals a delightful BnB with a warm and friendly host. Our room had a bay window where we could sit and relax looking out over Oban. Remember to order eggs benedict - a wonderful start to the day.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lraymo_821103
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

I also enjoy our eggs benedict - thank you for your lovely review

COLWYN BAY
Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent breakfast and very friendly proprietor to talk to! Room was beautiful and extremely comfortable. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and look forward to going again in the near future. The B&B was also in good walking distance to all amenities.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ctyson_223508
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We look forward to welcoming you again to Fàilte. Thank you for your lovely review.

Roding
Reviewed 1 week ago

Have stayed at Failte B&B in March 2017, unfortunately only for one night! Over the years I've been to a bunch of places in Oban, therefore I can say - this one is outstanding! Thomas and his wife keep a very clean and comfy place in a very good location. Everything is in great shape with light colours, wooden floors...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Petra H
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We are glad you had a good stay with us. Thank you for your lovely review.

new york
Reviewed 1 week ago

We took a taxi up hill only because we had backpacks and luggage, however the walk up is not bad at all. (Tobermory hills are much worse, more steep, in fact.) Thomas was there to greet us, made us tea and shortbread - lovely. House is full of art work, paintings, which makes it all the more interesting. We had...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank silverrail
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review.

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just spent 3 nights here and it's up there with the best we have stayed in. Tom is a wonderful host and the cooked breakfasts were delicious. The rooms were spotless and the welcome of a hot drink and shortbread was a nice touch after a long journey and returning from a day out to have local chocolate on your...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daveange66
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

We gladly welcome you back. Thank you for your great review.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Failte B&B is an excellent choice. The rooms were spacious, clean and well-decorated. Breakfast was delicious. Our host thought of everything and we were really comfortable. The location of the B&B was great as it was only a short walk to the city centre (albeit up a hill). We would definitely go back!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank anonymousreviewe2017
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Do come and visit us again

London
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely BnB a little up the hill from the town centre and a great base to explore the Oban region. The owners were delightful and helpful with information about the area. The rooms clean and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. Highly recommended.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank L0nd0nBlue
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely review.

Papamoa, New Zealand
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

we loved this B& B. what a fabulous find. the hospitality was fantastic. we were welcomed with tea and shortbread . also given tips as to where to dine and things we should see. all in all fabulous. having stayed in many during our trip to the UK and Scotland we woukd rank this as one of the best. thank...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank klock_581449
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

Thank you for your fabulous review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My boyfriend and I spent a night here last weekend, and can honestly say it's right up there with the best B&Bs we've ever stayed in, and we've stayed in quite a few! In a lovely elevated position overlooking Oban harbour, the Failte is a beautiful house with many original features. It's cosy, comfortable and spotlessly clean. Into the bargain,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
Thomas M, Owner at Failte Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review

It was great having you visit. Thank you for your fantastic review and we look forward to welcoming you again to Fàilte.

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (12)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (2)
07/05/2017 08/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.2 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
779 reviews
0.9 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
406 reviews
1.1 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,679 reviews
0.6 km away
Corran House
Corran House
#14 of 99 in Oban
337 reviews
1.1 km away
Glenrigh Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Comfortable Beds and delicious Breakfasts ... more   less 

Additional Information about Failte Bed & Breakfast

Address: Failte Rockfield Road, Oban PA34 5DQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $103 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Failte Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Failte Bed & Breakfast Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Failte Bed & Breakfast staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms at the front will have the best views. The house is easy to find on satnav.”
Baselscot, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Only saw the one room but would ask for it again. It's the front room with a bay window.”
Q3563OZadriang, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The front room's bay window and view is beautiful, but the back is a little quieter- no cars passing- and has a larger bathroom.”
erino573, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Very quiet location”
karenmN1987CT, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“5 minute walk down to the town for the bars and restaurants”
margarets981, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$102* /night
View Deal
PricelineUS$102
TripAdvisorUS$102
Agoda.comUS$103
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates