We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Columba Hotel

02/07/2017 03/07/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Columba Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,020 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Columba Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 944: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 September 2015

He hotel has a great position right on the front and some potentially lovely architecture, bit it is desperate need of a complete refit. The stair carpets are worn through, the lift is terrible and there was no hot water in one of the rooms we had.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Facstatim
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us; however I can assure you that it is not typical of our service. Your comments have been passed on and where feasible improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards...

cowra
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Great overnight stay with easy walking to pubs and shops, very friendly staff and clean establishment. A lovely breakfast to greet us before we left for the day. Easy access. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank rhyscowra
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. It is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back...

North Bend, Washington
Reviewed 6 September 2015 via mobile

Reviews were mixed but we booked it anyway because of it's location and the hotel that looked the best online was full. reviews mentioned out dated decor, some service problems, etc. but we weren't concerned. All we wanted was a clean room to get some sleep for the night. The hotel rooms, dining area, etc. are CLEAN . . ....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RecoRebel
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We have taken on board your comments with the hotel and will look to improve where possible. Kind Regards Darrell Williams General Manager

Casuarina, Australia
Reviewed 6 September 2015

We had excellent stay at the Columba, only disappointed that we couldn't have stayed longer! Our family room (suite) was spacious with stunning views of the harbour. The breakfast room was excellent with friendly staff.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank ailsa872
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was truly appreciated. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and I have passed your kind comments on to the Team at the hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Darrell Williams

Hong Kong China
Reviewed 3 September 2015

The position of the Columba Hotel is excellent and we were given a car parking space on arrival by two friendly staff. The negatives have been:- The room curtains have shrunk, the reading bed light is needing repaired, the table is wobbly and the shower doesn't work. A friendly staff member investigated this after a whole day waiting for the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rona672
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. Your comments have been passed on and improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams

Reviewed 2 September 2015

Stayed one night and everything was fine and as booked. Had to book a second night a few days later because of ferry delays. Booked a superior double room and arrived about 11 p.m.. We were given a room with two single beds joined together by a clip which did not lock so the beds came apart and they were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul J
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your stay with us. I would like to apologise that you did not enjoy your experience with us;Your comments have been passed on and improvements will be made. Thank you once again for your comments. Kind Regards Darrell Williams

Reviewed 1 September 2015

Asked for a seaview and got it, a lovely refurbished room looking out down to the harbour/sea front. Lucky enough to get a free hotel car park space too! An enjoyable two might stay, would def return!

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ssuzie30
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future Many Thanks Darrell Williams

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 September 2015

My boyfriend and I had an overnight stay recently at Oban's Columba hotel. The staff were pleasant and the service was good - especially Shirley at reception. The hotel itself is old-fashioned charming - the lift is an experience, but maybe not for the claustrophobic! On the downside, we couldn't get the TV to work in the room and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Brenda C
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor.it is greatly appreciated by both management and the entire team. A good review is incredibly motivational for all of us and encourages the entire team to keep up the good work. So once again a big thank you and we hope to be able to welcome you back to...

Amsterdam
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Great location with wonderful views over the bay. Walking distance to the ferry and the whisky distillery. Local seafood and ice cream excellent. Staff helpful and friendly. Parking limited so arrive early. Otherwise, there is paid parking until 6 pm

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret S
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I have passed your kind comments on to the Team at the hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Darrell Williams

Toronto
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Stayed here for one night on our way to Skye. Our room was big and clean and had a lovely view of the harbour. A couple things in the room (a chair/the drapes) were a little worn but we're pretty easy going and the view and level of cleanliness made up for this. Slightly disappointing was breakfast. The quality of...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 970marty
darrell w, General Manager at Columba Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your review, I have passed your kind comments on to the Team at the hotel We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Darrell Williams

304 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (294)
Viewed
View from Room (32)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (54)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Other (102)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
02/07/2017 03/07/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#6 of 13 in Oban
1,699 reviews
0.8 km away
Best Western The Queens Hotel
0.4 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 13 in Oban
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 13 in Oban
412 reviews
0.1 km away
Regent Hotel
Regent Hotel
#13 of 13 in Oban
982 reviews
0.3 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#9 of 13 in Oban
927 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Columba Hotel

Address: North Pier, Oban PA34 5QD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $129 - $263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Columba Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Columba Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Columba Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Columba Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Portland, Oregon
1 month ago
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Columba Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Corner rooms over looking the harbor have a great view.”
shaunc665, 20 May 2017 | Read review
“4 floor facing the pier or the distillery”
AleCast1404, 17 May 2017 | Read review
“A room with a sea view.”
jalogs, 6 May 2017 | Read review
“View of the harbour are lovely”
dunblane_andersons, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“go elsewhere”
angeleyes50, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
No availability for your dates from these sites
Booking.com
* /night
View Deal
Hotels.com
Priceline
Agoda.com
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates