We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Oban Bay Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Oban Bay Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,628 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,545: English reviews
Start your review of Oban Bay Hotel
 Click to rate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay here was one of the most hit and miss experiences I have ever had, we arrived in Oban earlier than the check in time but the hotel were able to keep our bags safe until later in the afternoon. Upon arrival we were very impressed with the hotel, the quality of the lounge overlooking the bay and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank reddog91
Scotland
Reviewed yesterday NEWvia mobile

My wife and I stayed for 2-nights in a double sea-view room (#27). Room was decent size, warm, clean and with all the required facilities. View over the bay was stunning from room and front lounge. Weather was pants during our stay but it's February! Train 3h) from Glasgow so no parking requirement, which is limited to ~6-spaces. Arrived ~2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HammyScotland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Have stayed in this hotel several times and have never been disappointed. All the staff very friendly and he!pful. We had a very relaxing time and made use of the sauna and steam room and hot tub.food was excellent. Great value for money and will definatly be back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret B
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Margaret B, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I'm really pleased to read that you had a good stay and that you were able to spend some time relaxing. I hope you can visit Oban again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Cupar, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was a nice hotel on the esplanade with fantastic views of the bay from the lounge. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Particularly Mary behind the desk. The only downside really was the room we had at the back of the hotel with a view of the tyres of a car parked right outside our window. Careful which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bob n
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear bob n, Thank you for leaving a review of your recent stay with us at the Oban Bay hotel. I'm glad that you enjoyed breakfast and the spa facilities that we offer. I hope you'll stay again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Macduff, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a good stay room was nice and clean sadly didn't get a room with a view which along with the parking as it was very limited was our only disappointment. We had dinner on the first night was excellent breakfast was very busy had to wait in the bar for around 5-10 minutes which I suppose was ok overall...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jonathon M
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jonathon M, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the food and the service from our staff. Parking is limited at all hotels in Oban but we have two great alternatives nearby. Similarly, sea view rooms are limited too and...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We had a room with a sea view (many don't we suspect) and it was lovely. Staff were GREAT, especially the lady at Reception. Hotel is indeed a “Heart & Soul” venue. Clean, conveniently located and, well, really pleasant. We didn't bring the car - which we suspect was a good plan, as parking seems very limited. Breakfast was superb,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank axhv
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear axhv, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I have shared your kind comments with the rest of the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Have just returned from our stay. We stayed Sunday to Friday with my sister and her husband. My husband and I stayed 4 years ago and had a fab stay then too. This time I accidentally booked DBB, what a bargain. The food is amazing with plenty of choice. The haggis and black pudding at breakfast were the best. Our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dizzyelliott
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dizzyelliott, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. It's great to see that you enjoyed your stay,particularly since our staff seem to have played a big part in your enjoyment of it. I'll share this good news with them and I hope that we can all see you again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel is an a lovely building with so much potential but it's very tired and in need of modernisation. The conservatory on the front is great to sit in during the afternoon as it's a real sun trap and offers wonderful views out over the bay. Our room was reasonably clean but very tired (stained carpets, wallpaper peeling away,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine F
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jasmine F, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your recent stay with us. I'm really disappointed that we have not managed to meet your expectations, especially in areas where lapses in standards could have been avoided. I've shared your comments with the rest of the team so that we can re-focus on our efforts...

Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently. Room was excellent, food was good in the restaurant and the staff could not have been more helpful. The hotel is close to the town centre and was good value for money. Would recommend

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Grace M
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Grace M, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us. I'm delighted that you had such a good time and I will share your kind comments with the rest of the team. I hope you'll have the time to visit again soon. Kind regards David McGhie General Manager

Macclesfield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a second time and was not disappointed. Hotel staff lovely and food good but drinks pricey, two large wines nearly £20. The room let our stay down, basic and bathroom smelt musty. Overall would maybe stay again but would probably look elsewhere first.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally L
Manager_ObanBay, General Manager at Oban Bay Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sally L, Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am pleased to see that you had a good stay and that you enjoyed the food. We do regularly compare our prices with other restaurants, bars and hotels in the area and find them to be very competitive. I am sorry though if there was...

413 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (349)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (42)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
View from Room (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (64)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (50)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oban
33.0 km away
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
Loch Fyne Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Inveraray
2,286 reviews
15.8 km away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
The Ranald Hotel
The Ranald Hotel
#2 of 12 in Oban
759 reviews
1.0 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
395 reviews
0.7 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Enjoying a prime position on the seafront, the Oban Bay Hotel & Spa has great views to Mull and Kerrera. For guests looking to relax and get away from it all, the hotel now offers an outdoor hot tub, spa treatments, along with a small sauna and steam room. In addition, Oban Bay Hotel has a comfortable bar and lounge area from which you can watch the world go by. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Oban Bay Hotel

Address: | Corran Esplanade, Oban PA34 5AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $76 - $264 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Oban Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Oban Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oban Bay Hotel And Spa
Oban Bay Hotel Oban
Oban Bay Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and other travellers.
16 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (16)

Questions? Get answers from Oban Bay Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask if your room is in the old part or the extension at the back. Go for the old part with the views if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles bobn541, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Third floor, sea facing”
 of 5 bubbles axhv, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Check the rest of the menu for your wee supplement for anything you want.. Great food and a great idea”
 of 5 bubbles scottishseven, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room with a sea view is a bonus, but rooms on second floor have a partial sea view.”
 of 5 bubbles 463valf, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Bay view which is nice and sunny in the mornings and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles donaldsonstewart, 26 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5