We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

Save
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (30)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“baked eggs”(229 reviews)
“no lift”(87 reviews)
“compact room”(19 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (871)
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
815 results
Traveller rating
441
250
89
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
441
250
89
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 815 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for a convenient overnight stay for ferry. Was surprised at the small hotel in that not typical in presentation- but very informal and efficient. Exceptionally clean and tidy. Lovely light breakfast but lots of choice and cooked to order. 2 very nice staff...More

Thank Cider_sun
Response from Nicola M, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a 5* review. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and would recommend us. I do hope you can return in future, thanks again

Reviewed 10 March 2018

stayed on 2nd floor this time very quiet room girl at reception was very helpful with local info for taxi and somewhere to eat i always feel at home at the ranald as it has a very relaxed atmosphere and staff not rushing you like...More

Thank carol r
Response from Nicola M, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave The Ranald Hotel a 5* review here on trip advisor. I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We aim to provide as much knowledge of the local area as we can...More

Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This hotel is small but has avery friendly attmosphere, very clean and greatly located, this is our second stay. The only problem is that there are no lifts and depending on your level of fitness this could be a problem if your room is on...More

1  Thank Margaret C
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 9 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel here on TripAdvisor. Im glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and even came back for a second time. Thank you once again and we hope to welcome you back...More

Reviewed 3 March 2018

My partner booked us a few nights away in Oban and this was her choice of hotel, Previous reviews of it’s small, it’s pokey blah blah blah, Great wee hotel with nice rooms, comfy bed, cheery staff and super price, I loved it, the bar...More

Thank calumtodd
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review. Im delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay here at The Ranald Hotel. We are in the process of making a brand new cocktail menu so you will need to come back and try it out...More

Reviewed 19 February 2018

We stayed in Oban for the night on the way up north and we certainly weren't disappointed by this lovely find. The hotel itself is stunningly decorated, very modern and cosy. The room i felt was very large; superb value for money. All of the...More

Thank Sarah Charley A
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 1 March 2018

Thank you so much for your 5* review. Im delighted to read your lovely positive comments and I cant wait to pass them onto our team. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Oban
See allSee all
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$123 - US$277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$123 - US$277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (120)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (30)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
setterboy
19 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Nicola M | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't allow pets in the hotel. However we can allow assistance dogs.
1
Vote
Michelle934
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen B | Reviewed this property |
In the room we had there was no dressing table but there was a large mirror on the wall
0
Votes
scchisolm
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven S | Reviewed this property |
Believe not, so bring your own
0
Votes
Room Tips
"At front on first floor."
Read review
"Request a lower room in writing if you have mobility / health problems"
Read review
"Any room at the front of the hotel"
Read review
"If you want a view don’t take ground floor but please not there is no lift if you have a lot of luggage to..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing