We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ranald Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 12 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ranald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

760 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 719: English reviews
Florida
Reviewed 30 July 2016

We stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and sadly it was a bit of a fiasco. I was there with 6 people, 2 in each room. In our room (I think it was 204) we discovered the shower did not drain, the phone did not work and the light above the TV was falling out of the socket. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MelissafromFlorida
Rosyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2016

Stayed here for two nights, members of my party had rooms on the ground, 2nd and 3rd floors. Staff very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately hotel had no wifi due to (I believe) issues outwith their control, this meant there was a little bit of chaos at check in as they could not access their usual booking system. However, staff were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RemyLB
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the Ranald Hotel. I'm so sorry for the confusion, as with most places these days when the internet stops working we're left with no certain alternative. Thank you for alerting us to the issues with the low wardrobe in our disabled access room, we will definitely look into this! I'm glad you...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 July 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in 2 different rooms, as told to expect when booking. First room was quiet, situated at back of hotel with no view. The bathroom door was difficult to open and shut but as only there one night, it didn't seem worth complaining. The second room was a bit noisier, situated at front of hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helensammi
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our bathroom doors are heavier than usual due to these being fire doors. I'm pleased you found our hotel of value for money and we hope you may return in future. Thanks again.

Reviewed 22 July 2016 via mobile

We reserved 2 different rooms and all 4 of us feel the same about our stay. We were extremely disappointed particularly for the amount we paid for each of the rooms. The location is great but that is it. The king size bed was made up of 2 singles and are very hard. The sheets were low quality and the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jill F
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry you all feel so disappointed with your stay, we try our best to ensure all guests have a brilliant time with us. The beds we use are zip and clip beds from hotel bed specialists also used by 5 star hotels around the UK, I'm sorry you feel...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 July 2016 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife a 5 month old kid. Room was clean and the travel cot was good and set up. It was however on the 3rd floor and there is no lift so dragging all the baby kit up there was pretty tough, especially with no parking as you have to park 5-10 min walk away so all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Micksterooney
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from our guests. I'm sorry some aspects of your stay were disappointing. We state on all marketing material that we do not have a lift in the hotel, staff are on hand to help with luggage if needed. We offer ground floor family rooms to...

Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 July 2016 via mobile

I booked here as it is rated third best in TripAdvisor. Maybe I was just unlucky. But I think not. The room was OK for the price. Shame there is no lift as I had to lug heavy bags to the second floor. Help was offered by a young girl on duty but it didn't seem appropriate to take up...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheSelectiveDiner
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald. I'm sorry you felt your stay was disappointing, we appreciate all feedback from our guests. We state on all marketing material that we do not have a lift in the hotel unfortunately. However our staff are on hand to help with luggage. I'm sorry for the inconvenience of your door...

Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 July 2016

The room was small, the curtain rail fell down on closing. There was a blind and it was a tiny window so that was ok. There was a a black hair in the yogurt and the milk was sour. The reception was a small desk next to the breakfast bar and the kitchen was tiny. The two girls working there...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Tastytreets
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. We take on all feedback whether good or bad as we are always trying to improve our service. We try encourage all guests to bring up any issues they have with their stay during their visit in order for us to resolve them. I'm sorry the curtain rail fell...

Chicago, Illinois
Reviewed 1 July 2016

Although the location was a short walk from the town center and the train station, the hotel itself disappointed me. We booked the Grand Plus Room, so I guess I just expected something above average. When we walked into the room, we thought there was a mistake. I actually double-checked with the staff. The ceilings were very low, the room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JSplain
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. I'm sorry you were disappointed with your stay with us. Fortunately we are a relatively new build in Oban therefore have modernised rooms which do not have high ceilings. As our grand rooms are at the back of the building I understand they are not as bright, especially on...

Gretna Green, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

No atmosphere Room dark and gloomy. Shower ran faster than drain could take water away, so had to cut shower time short to avoid flood. Grout around bottom of shower was black. One small room with a counter doubles as reception/bar and breakfast room. Bar poorly stocked. One draft beer. Three white wines on wine list, the one requested was...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Margaret E
Middlesbrough, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 June 2016

Probably the newest and most modern hotel in Oban. Bedroom was just right, enough space, big bed, good sized bathroom. Good tea/coffee tray. Breakfast was good considering the size of kitchen/prep area, baked eggs were fab, great coffee. Breakfast room was quite compact, seating wise. Good location, pity no sea view. Bars and restaurants close by, short stroll to shops...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Diane W
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for such a kind review. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ranald. I will pass your comments onto our team, I hope you can return for another great stay. Thanks again!

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
395 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
990 reviews
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
419 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 12 in Oban
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $122 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
scotland
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not great views but grand double was brillant”
 of 5 bubbles kd2508, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get in early for Breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Matty1977, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inquire about room sizes in advance”
 of 5 bubbles Y2446YZstevens, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor and we did not hear street noise”
 of 5 bubbles 542jessv, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a compact room, but it was very comfortable for a base”
 of 5 bubbles amandamoore15, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5