We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Ranald Hotel

Save
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Membership_Slide_Up_Placement_on_Hotel_Review_Price_Refresh
Watch prices for this hotel.
We’ll alert you of any changes.
Sign up
Overview
  • Excellent53%
  • Very good31%
  • Average12%
  • Poor3%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“baked eggs”(229 reviews)
“no lift”(87 reviews)
“compact room”(19 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Bar/Lounge
Free Parking
Pool
3 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerAttributes":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Reviews (868)
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveller rating
441
248
89
25
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
441
248
89
25
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbaked eggsno liftcompact roommetro hotelgrand roommodern hotelgreat wee hotelpower showerthird floorferry terminalcentral locationbreakfast roomsmoked salmongreat showerhaggisstreet parkingcomfortable bed
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
61 - 65 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Traveled by train, so no need for parking, handy for the ferry, and as we were sailing on the 07.30 boat the hotel provided us with a packed breakfast. The hotel room was clean with a good shower, comfortable bed plus tea and coffee, thats...More

Thank keithy104
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. As we are a small metro hotel we unfortunately do not have any room for a lift, however our friendly staff...More

Reviewed 30 June 2017

It's proclaimed as Oban's only hotel built in recent times and no doubt about that - just a pity the didn't put a lift in as it's a long way up three flights of stairs that are compact (as the whole hotel is) and windy....More

Thank Waynos22
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel. Unfortunately we do not have a car park however there is a number of car park options a short 5 minute walk from the hotel. As...More

Reviewed 29 June 2017

We wanted a location close to the ferry terminal and the oban distillery. The hotel was perfectly located. Rooms quite small but nice. Friendly staff, nice breakfast. No frills but very efficient. No easy parking options.More

Thank johnbwoodmd
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Unfortunately we do not have a car park however there is a number of...More

Reviewed 25 June 2017

I stayed at The Ranald last week, on arrival (late due a train delay) there was someone waiting for me and he kindly carried my case up to the room. My room was spacious and clean with a nice ensuite. I slept well in a...More

Thank Kay D
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review of your experience at The Ranald Hotel. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you can return in future, thanks again.

Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

Very small hotel but twin room was okay. Enough space Good beds Clean and quiet Breakfast not a lot of choice neither places but tasty Staff is helpful Well located for the ferry Good choice in this small town

Thank MiGO2013
Response from Hayley K, General Manager at The Ranald HotelResponded 3 August 2017

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests as it helps us to improve day by day. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I do hope you can return in future, thanks again

View more reviews
Best Value Properties in Oban, United Kingdom
See all 13 hotels in ObanSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Things to do
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$123 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$123 - US$263 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (119)
Room & Suite (117)
Dining (29)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
setterboy
19 March 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Nicola M | Property representative |
Unfortunately we don't allow pets in the hotel. However we can allow assistance dogs.
1
Vote
Michelle934
18 November 2017|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from Maureen B | Reviewed this property |
In the room we had there was no dressing table but there was a large mirror on the wall
0
Votes
scchisolm
25 May 2017|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Steven S | Reviewed this property |
Believe not, so bring your own
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Request a lower room in writing if you have mobility / health problems"
Read review
"Any room at the front of the hotel"
Read review
"If you want a view don’t take ground floor but please not there is no lift if you have a lot of luggage to..."
Read review
"Room 317, 3rd floor, nice & quiet."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing