We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Ranald Hotel

Show Prices
#2 of 12 Hotels in Oban
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Ranald Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

759 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for The Ranald Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 718: English reviews
Cincinnati
Reviewed 24 June 2016

The rooms at this hotel were basic - nothing fancy, small with tiny bathrooms. They were clean, but they were having a problem with the doorknobs. Hopefully this problem has been solved. The hotel itself was very nice, with good food and very helpful employees. We were taking an excursion one morning and had to leave before the breakfast hour....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review of The Ranald Hotel. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and sampled our grab bags! I will pass your comments onto our team, thanks again.

Brevard, North Carolina
Reviewed 20 June 2016

Two friends and I stayed overnight at the Ranald at the end of May. It is an easy walk from the train station and the ferry. The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The rooms were small but that didn't matter to us -- in fact it was rather nice -- and they were very clean, comfortable and quiet. The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Pamela B
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review! I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ranald Hotel. The baked eggs are a favourite with most! I will pass on your comments to the rest of our team. Thanks again, we hope you can return in future for another great stay!

canada
Reviewed 19 June 2016

We booked through booking.com. they advised we had to pay the deposit direct. We called Scotland and were told the entire price was due in advance. We paid. Unbeknownst to us Booking a.com while we advised we'd paid in full canceled. We arrived to find no rooms. We the found the refund, We'd missed it. They offered us a room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Girlphyte
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. We appreciate all feedback from guests. I can only apologise that you felt so disappointed with your stay. The problem with your reservation was due to booking.com not ourselves therefore I am sorry this affected your opinion on our hotel. The boxes were removed for you while checking in....

canada
Reviewed 18 June 2016

The Ranald Hotel is not a big hotel. It is modern and clean but with no personality. Everyone must take the stairs to their rooms and the rooms are small. The parking is on the street and we were lucky to find a spot for our tiny car. The hotel itself is easy walking distance to the centre of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hockney
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. Firstly, it states on our website and all marketing material that we do not have a lift in the hotel. We do have ground floor rooms available for those who cannot manage stairs well. All of our room dimensions are available on our website for you to look at....

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 June 2016

I do not recommend this hotel for more than a one night stay. I stayed with a friend for 2 days then a further 3 in May because it's an easy baggage lug from the rail station and bus stop and ferry port. HOWEVER all rooms are upstairs with no lift; the twin beds are the narrowest I've ever experienced;...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Helia W
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Firstly I would like to point out a few things. Not all of our rooms are upstairs, we do have ground floor rooms, subject to availability of course. Our beds are of standard sizes bought from hotel bed specialists and are used by many 5 star hotels throughout the UK. I'm not sure if you have mixed us up with...

California
Reviewed 12 June 2016

I got two rooms here while we were traveling through Oban with visiting family... both rooms were clean, cozy, the decorating is clean and somewhat modern with a scottish flare. It's very close to the rest of town... a great place to stay, good value! The only downside is that there are stairs only which was a little tough for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie K
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us, Stephanie! We're pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Ranald and found it cosy, clean and modern! We would love to welcome you back again. We do have ground floor rooms available for those who don't manage well with stairs, be sure to check with us for availability next...

Christiansted, St. Croix
Reviewed 10 June 2016

Arrived at this hotel (supposedly a top trip advisor hotel??...makes you wonder, huh?)..and the toilet had not even been flushed since the last guest (disgusting!). The room was obviously not clean (see previous comment), the bed springs hit me in the back all night, and the baked eggs that everyone raves about were awful. No thanks on the recipe.... This...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank ec4stx
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review The Ranald Hotel. We're sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to apologise for you feeling the room had not been cleaned for you. I can assure you all rooms are cleaned thoroughly each day. We encourage all guests to inform us of any issues they have...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Firstly I was astonished at Danna 701s review she/he must have stayed in a different place! The Facts - Location We chose this hotel firstly on location as we were arriving by train late evening . It turned out to be barely five minutes walk from both the train and the ferry , the shops seafront and restaurants. Accomodation The...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank travelbaguk4
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a kind review! I would like to say how happy I am that you enjoyed your stay with us, it's always a pleasure. I'm glad to hear every aspect of you stay was up to a high standard and you had a brilliant time with us. Please don't hesitate...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 June 2016 via mobile

Two of us were on a cycling tour and this was our last night before catching the train to Glasgow. We were told we could keep the bikes in our room overnight if the small laundry room was full. We had to use the room option which worked well for us. We had a ground-floor disabled room which was easy...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank BrianTJ
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you, Brian for such a wonderful review of The Ranald Hotel. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Our staff members are always more than happy to accommodate. I'm happy you were able to Skype your wife with our Wifi. Please do come back and stay again, we would look forward to welcoming you. Thanks again, enjoy...

North Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewed 31 May 2016

This hotel should be shut down. The rooms are terribly small. The window faces a noisy street - and it doesn't close. Mattress is lumpy. There is no lift and the staff are unwilling or unable to help guests who need assistance. Breakfast is meager at best. The staff are surly. Avoid this place. It was a big mistake to...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank danna701
Sarah F, Manager at The Ranald Hotel, responded to this review

We suspect this is a secondary review from a previous tripadvisor member who reviewed The Ranald Hotel, due to the choice of words, similarity of complaints and location. We have spoken with the reviewer in question through several means of contact therefore cannot comment again on this review.

260 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (111)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (43)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (123)
Viewed
Double Room (31)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (29)
Viewed
The Hotel (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oban hotels
0.7 km away
Manor House Hotel
Manor House Hotel
#1 of 12 in Oban
395 reviews
1.2 km away
BEST WESTERN The Queens Hotel
1.0 km away
Oban Bay Hotel
Oban Bay Hotel
#5 of 12 in Oban
1,626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Columba Hotel
Columba Hotel
#7 of 12 in Oban
989 reviews
7.1 km away
Falls Of Lora
Falls Of Lora
#1 of 2 in Connel
419 reviews
0.1 km away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#8 of 12 in Oban
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Oban's only purpose built hotel in decades, ushering in a new era ofmodernity whilst keeping a distinctive local flavour. Add the passion, warmth and dedication of Hayley's team and The Ranald experience was born.Our metro hotel is set in the heart of Oban's Victorian architecture and located just off the main esplanade. We are just a couple of minutes walk from both the Calmac Ferry Terminal and Oban Train StationOur vision at The Ranald was to bring you affordable luxury. Our range of 17 ensuite guest rooms have sumptuous king sized beds, fluffy duck down pillows, flat screen TV's, i-Phone docking stations and complimentary wifi throughout the hotel. Enjoy a relaxing drink in our contemporary lounge bar, perfect for before or after sampling Oban's fine choice of restaurants. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Ranald Hotel

Address: 41 Stevenson Street, Oban PA34 5NA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Oban
Price Range: $122 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Ranald Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your The Ranald Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ranald Hotel Oban, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question
scotland
over a year ago
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago
New York City, New York
over a year ago
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
over a year ago
over a year ago

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from The Ranald Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not great views but grand double was brillant”
 of 5 bubbles kd2508, 30 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Get in early for Breakfast”
 of 5 bubbles Matty1977, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Inquire about room sizes in advance”
 of 5 bubbles Y2446YZstevens, 9 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the second floor and we did not hear street noise”
 of 5 bubbles 542jessv, 21 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We had a compact room, but it was very comfortable for a base”
 of 5 bubbles amandamoore15, 17 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5