We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

The Clovenfords Hotel

View Deal
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
The Clovenfords Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

174 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 171: English reviews
Start your review of The Clovenfords Hotel
 Click to rate
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Just returned from a two night break at this lovely centrally located hotel. Afternoon tea was fantastic. Clean comfortable rooms and meals were reasonably priced and delicious. Looking forward to visiting again. Many thanks.

Thank Tracy G
clovenfordshotel, Owner at The Clovenfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you its nice to be told when you get it right.

Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Arrived to a warm welcome checked in and found the room to be clean and the bed very comfortable.The usual kettle coffee biscuits were available but also hairdryer iron and ironing board which was very handy. Toilet was immaculate and the electric shower was also more than adequate. The food was excellent and very competitively priced the inclusive breakfast was...

Thank sharon c
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed on a two-night deal in March. Our room was comfortable, clean and spacious and staff were friendly and welcoming. All our meals were really good especially the Afternoon tea which was amazing - the best we've ever had! Would certainly recommend for visiting the Borders.

1Thank rokers19
Reviewed 22 March 2017 via mobile

Had the most amazing two night break at the Clovenfords Hotel last Saturday and Sunday the 18th and 19th March - a treat from our kids!!! Nothing was too much trouble, the staff were very friendly and attentive. Rooms were adequate with comfy clean beds. The whole place had just about everything you need with a very reliable bus service...

Thank Christine R
Reviewed 16 March 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous wee hotel. Very friendly n clean. Good pub food. Room basic but warm and clean large en-suite with full size bath. Was given this as a gift from daughter n partner and really enjoying it. Would recommend

Thank catriona r
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We arrived 30mins later than expected due to traffic, this was no problem to the hotel as we had pre ordered our evenings meals. Evening meals were good size portions and good quality. Rooms were tidy, clean and comfortable with tea, coffee available. Sky+ also available. Staff asked us what time we wanted breakfast the following morning. Breakfast ample and...

Thank Yaslik_11
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 March 2017

I had a booking for me and my wife in the Clivenfield Hotel for the 3rd and 4th of March using a Groupon Voucher given to us by our daughter the booking was made on the phone. On arrival on Friday around 1.30 we were advised that the rooms were not made up and wouldn't be available until after 3...

Thank 12rabG
clovenfordshotel, Owner at The Clovenfords Hotel, responded to this review

On the day the booking was made you would have been informed that no double rooms were available. Check in is 3pm. When you checked into your room you asked for a double which was not available, this seemed to make you upset and from there on in you found faults. The only other rooms in the hotel where a...

Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I had a lovely afternoon tea at the Clovenfords yesterday. Staff were very friendly and service and food were excellent. Nice modern decor and very clean. We will definitely be returning.

Thank Henry C
Innerleithen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Myself and my friend visited today and we were made very welcome and thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon tea we will certainly be returning again in the near future . It is well worth a visit Thank you very much and every future success with your business

Thank 511betty
Reviewed 26 January 2017 via mobile

We went for a meal to celebrate a birthday. The starter was a dish with little on it. The plates were done like a 5 star restaurant with prices to match. Very disappointed overall.If you are hungry try somewhere else.

Thank Heather H
clovenfordshotel, General Manager at The Clovenfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review can you tell me the date that your reviewing as it looks like this was nearly 6 months ago ? (Stayed August 2016, travelled with family) We are currently running a two course meal for £14.50 or Three course meal for £17.50 which I think is good value. We have a new menu coming out...

26 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (23)
Room/Suite (3)
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Bathroom (1)
Dining (3)
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (3)
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Other (2)
14/05/2017 15/05/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galashiels
14.9 km away
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
Dryburgh Abbey Hotel
#1 of 2 in St Boswells
881 reviews
10.1 km away
Burt's Hotel
Burt's Hotel
#2 of 7 in Melrose
296 reviews
8.6 km away
Bay Waverley Castle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Best Western Pus Scottish Borders Selkirk Philipburn Hotel
10.1 km away
The Townhouse Hotel
The Townhouse Hotel
#1 of 7 in Melrose
249 reviews
0.0 km away
King's Arms Hotel
King's Arms Hotel
#5 of 7 in Melrose
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Clovenfords Hotel is situated in the village of Clovenfords in the heart of the Scottish Borders. It is only 3 miles from the busy Borders town of Galashiels. Edinburgh and other Scottish Borders towns including Melrose, Kelso, Jedburgh, Hawick and Peebles are all easily accessible. In the immediate area activities such as fishing (on the River Tweed), mountain biking (Glentress), golfing, shooting and off road driving are all readily available to hotel guests.The Clovenfords Hotel has all the character, warmth and friendly charm you would expect from an 18th century coaching inn. We look forward to extending to you a very warm welcome. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Clovenfords Hotel

Address: 1 Vine Street | Clovenfords, Galashiels TD1 3LU, Scotland (Formerly The Clovenfords Country Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Galashiels
Price Range: $142 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Clovenfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Clovenfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clovenfords Hotel Galashiels
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Clovenfords Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
South Lanarkshire, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from The Clovenfords Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Peaceful and relaxing, don't loose sight this is a historic coaching inn. Accept it's quaintness and features.”
H0lidaygirl50, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Rooms 1 - 5 are quieter”
CatherineGadabout, 26 Sep 2016 | Read review
“My room was to the sweet side, but very quiet. The location is in the middle of nowhere.”
  • shower
  • Bedroom
DetlevCGN, 4 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Some rooms directly above bar which could be noisy avoid”
Anniemo62, 27 Jan 2016 | Read review
“We had room 7, right above the entrance. Lovely big room”
EmmaB0810, 17 Feb 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
US$99* /night
View Deal
View all 9 deals
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates