We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

863 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders
See the most recent reviews
Showing 853: English reviews
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 May 2016

We were on a golfing break with eight of our Irish friends in May staying at the Tontine Hotel in Peebles. The rooms are very comfortable and well furnished with refurbished bathrooms with all the usual amenities. For breakfast there was a wide selection of cereals and fruit and a great range of cooked food. We had dinner in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nat M
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Many thanks "Nat M" a super review for us to reflect upon and we were really pleased to note you so enjoyed your "Golf break". We do try hard to put together a good golf package, working with our local courses here in the Scottish Borders. Thanks for your fine mention of Sarah who does a great job coordinating the...

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

Stayed overnight on a trip down to Wales. The hotel is in the centre of Peebles and is very welcoming and parking is at the rear. Our room was at the rear overlooking the river and was excellent, clean and comfortable with a nice bathroom. The public rooms were pleasant and both the bar area and dining room were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank owen s
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you very much "owen s" for taking time to post a review. Really loved your descriptions of the hotel and delighted you enjoyed "A great stay". Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 May 2016

Not had Afternoon tea here for a few years but i have often raved about it and recommended. Decided to go again and purchased 2 Afternoon Tea's between 3 of us, first thing we noticed was that price has increased but certainly not the quality and size has definitely reduced, although i will say still not the most expensive i've...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sootyghirl
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you "Sootyghirl" for your constructive feedback. Sorry you were disappointed but we will take your comments "on-board". I have to also say that we do often allow guests to "take away" un-finished items from an afternoon tea so we on occasion feel we give too much. A difficult call sometimes but we do strive to give good portions and...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Location was really lovely. We had a room over looking the river which was so nice. The village is lovely just to stroll around, and walking along the river is so relaxing. The hotel and staff were everything we wanted. Loved our room , the bed was really comfortable.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Many thanks "Jean K" a very enjoyable review for the team here at the hotel to reflect upon. Very pleased to note that you so enjoyed your visit to the hotel and Peebles itself!

Western Australia, Australia
Reviewed 21 May 2016

Stumbled across this beautiful hotel whilst travelling around Scotland and I'm so glad I did because it was like a breath of fresh air. Everything was perfect, the location, hotel, staff and food. It was just what we needed as when we arrived we were tired, hungry and grumpy but the Tontine lifted our spirits and we were soon smiling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marie63431
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you very much "marie63431" a super review and we too delighted that you stumbled across "The Tontine", and decided to extend your stay. So pleased you found favour with our bedroom facilities and we are always delighted to receive good feedback about the team here at the hotel. Special thanks from Laura (Lauren) who heads up our Front Desk...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 20 May 2016

I am fussy. However, the Tontine is all that I want from a hotel - friendly staff, helpful, good atmosphere, good rooms..... and most of all... quiet nights. No noise at all. The restaurant food needs some spark to make it more interesting - it just doesn't do much for me. However, the breakfast is very good and throughout my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you "Alex S" for your "Damn good review" which we have enjoyed reading. Some super recommendations, but we must talk next visit and see if we can find that "spark" for you? Very much look forward to your next visit. Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".

Belfast
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for a short break, hoping it would be as good as any time I've stayed here before. Great accommodation, great food, great staff all at a great price. Much nicer than staying in Edinburgh but only a short hop away. So much to do and see in the surrounding area while Peebles itself is a lovely town with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank waltzingmatilda57
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time again "waltzingmatilda57" to post such a complimentary review and for your fine recommendation of activities throughout the area, in and around Peebles. We agree! A great place to visit for a leisure break. Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team.

Cheltenham
Reviewed 16 May 2016

A last minute decision to ride the Glentress Mountain Bike trails made us wonder what sort of accommodation we could get at short notice. Some fellow bikes recommended the Tontine and while they were almost fully booked Lauren managed to squeeze us in. When we arrived we were well looked after, even though we were in our dirty riding gear...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Barnaby T
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

Thank you "Barnaby T" for your review and indeed a great decision to stay at "The Tontine" and to enjoy the great MTB facilities and trails in the Tweed Valley. It certainly was a busy weekend all round, with the start of the "Tweed Love" festival and as you made note we played host to The Royal Company of Archers...

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

We took advantage of The Tontine's incredibly reasonable "Lazy Sunday" offer, which included dinner, accommodation, breakfast, and, for an extra tenner, an overnight break for our dog as well. Having her with us did mean eating all of our meals in their "Shoot Bar", but we found this pub area to be cozy and relaxed. The Tontine is quite dog-friendly...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank volcanoduck
Gordon I, Owner at Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders, responded to this review

A "perfect" review, thank you "volcanoduck" and very pleased that you so enjoyed your "Lazy Sunday" overnight break! Great value we agree. Thanks also for another great mention for the team, so pleased that you found the service and facilities to your liking. Look forward to your return! Kate, Gordon Innes & "The Tontine Team".

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 May 2016

Another short stay in Peebles at the Tontine. It is an excellent hotel and the help and support from the staff are great. I get a good night's restful sleep, which I need, following a day looking after 3 under 5 children for my daughter. I will be back and would recommend it to everybody. Jan B

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jan773

144 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (106)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (38)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (11)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Peebles
0.9 km away
Peebles Hydro
Peebles Hydro
#7 of 8 in Peebles
1,808 reviews
4.5 km away
Cringletie House
Cringletie House
#2 of 8 in Peebles
709 reviews
0.3 km away
The Park
The Park
#6 of 8 in Peebles
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 km away
Mercure Peebles Barony Castle Hotel
0.2 km away
Cross Keys Hotel
Cross Keys Hotel
#3 of 8 in Peebles
202 reviews
0.8 km away
Castle Venlaw Hotel
Castle Venlaw Hotel
#5 of 8 in Peebles
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated in the heart of Peebles, we are a family run hotel totally geared up to providing you with a wonderful break. Known for our excellent service and food, we have 36 en-suite bedrooms, secure storage, drying room, FREE WiFi and private parking for our guests. So if you want to escape for some well earned rest and relaxation, or to enjoy some quality time with friends and family, the Tontine is the perfect place to be. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders

Address: High Street, Peebles EH45 8AJ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Borders > Peebles
Price Range: $112 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Hotel.de, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tontine Hotel Peebles
Peebles Tontine Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Newcastle

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Tontine Hotel Peebles Scottish Borders staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 41 (which we had) or Room 31............. lovely views of the Tweed !”
 of 5 bubbles PortBob, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms to the rear are quieter”
 of 5 bubbles shawbhoy, 15 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the back for dogs have a great view.”
 of 5 bubbles Scampbellous, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We liked the view of the hills and the River Tweed from our bedroom. No noise from the main Hotel public rooms”
 of 5 bubbles mrsrosemaryc, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Some of the classic rooms have pleasant views overlooking the Tweed and hills”
 of 5 bubbles robertbruce45, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5