We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

TripAdvisorUS$114*
View Deal
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$248*
US$114*
Great Deal
US$130*
US$130*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

742 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 736: English reviews
Start your review of Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed here on our way to the highlands to get married and have to say this stay was better than the last. Lovely room, comfy bed, good foid and great facilities including the pool and spa. We definitely cone back again 😁

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsey S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and my husband booked the deluxe four poster room for a night to celebrate our anniversary. There were a few training staff on reception upon arrival that made check in a bit slow and rocky but was sorted out anyway. Room was, quirky. It wasn't deluxe in our opinion. It was dated as is the majority of the rest...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
Nuthall, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This was our 2nd stay at the Cairndale. The Staff were doubly welcoming and helpful, the room was great. We even had time to enjoy the pool and sauna. Perfect location for exploring the area . The restaurant meal was excellent. I gather vhey have a new head chef

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DaveRyan900
scotland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The pool was great , but the rest of the hotel left a lot of room for improvement . The only lunch availkable was in the pool cafe , and the only hot dish on the adult menu was chicken with haggis - yugh ! There was also a din from the so called cabaret . The breakfast was buffet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank patricia20
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Patricia. I was pleased to hear that you enjoyed our pool facilities. As you know hotel residents get free use of our leisure facilities in the Barracuda Club. At present we only offer a very limited choice at lunchtimes with most people preferring a light lunch or snack. I was sorry that you didn't like our Dish of the...

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I was looking forward to a relaxing night in this hotel before visiting the local area tomorrow. This is not happening as there is currently a karaoke night happening downstairs. IT'S VERY VERY LOUD. The Cairndale needs to decide whether it's going to be a crappy karaoke bar or just simply a crappy hotel. Simply put, I've no desire to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donald N
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Donald, I find it bizarre that you should take time to write a review complaining about noise when it would have been so much easier to just call reception. Had you done this we could have offered you an alternative room. It's impossible to rectify things after the event and whilst some people may find your review amusing I'd...

Southport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel is in great location within 5 minute or less walk of town centre. There is free parking available and our room was spacious and comfortable. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with nothing being too much trouble.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Julie. Thank you for posting such an excellent review following your recent visit to the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We had dinner, bed and breakfast during a short holiday in the South West. There is ample parking behind the hotel. Reception was very efficient and the room was of a fair size and seemed to be recently refurbished. Everything worked and it was very warm during the night.The dinner gave us a choice of menus and the food was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James S
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi James. I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel. We have a lift that serves the main part of the hotel (over 50 bedrooms) and we also have a limited number of ground floor rooms. As suggested it's probably best to request a room in the main hotel if steps are a...

Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

I stayed again with my wife and was not dissatisfied with the service. Douglas on the desk was his usual happy and helpful self. I have known him for a long time so we can have a laugh. The breakfasts were great.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan4896
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Alan. It's always appreciated when our regular guests take the time to post reviews and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the very near future.

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2017

We booked a last minute trip to Dumfries and were lucky enough to find this hotel. Can't praise enough. Hotel is spotless. Food excellent. Leisure facilities included. Staff friendly and helpful. Location perfect. Ok it is an old hotel but this added to it's charm.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jill M
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

Hi Jill. Thank you for posting such an excellent review following your recent visit to the hotel. Your feedback is very much appreciated by everyone concerned.

Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 April 2017

Arrived mid afternoon Friday, check in was friendly and quickly. On entering my room was a little put off by size of room,it was stuffy and hot . We where booked for 2 night BBEM the meal on the first evening this was not to of good standered we had ordered steak and the meat was of very poor quality...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 576jackie47
MatthewWallace, General Manager at Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club, responded to this review

I was sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your visit to the hotel. I was a little confused about your comment about functions in the hotel as you were actually attending our Neil Diamond Tribute night. Our Tribute nights are particularly popular throughout the year and with a total of 91 bedrooms we're often busy with up to 180...

265 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (17)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (213)
Viewed
Amenities (20)
Viewed
Family Room (29)
Viewed
Four Poster Room (25)
Viewed
Pool (10)
Viewed
Dining (30)
Viewed
Single Room (20)
Viewed
Superior Room (38)
Viewed
The Hotel (41)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumfries
2.1 km away
Holiday Inn Dumfries
Holiday Inn Dumfries
#3 of 7 in Dumfries
1,018 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western Station Hotel
3.0 km away
Premier Inn Dumfries Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 km away
Friars Carse Country House Hotel
12.2 km away
Hetland Hall Hotel
Hetland Hall Hotel
#7 of 7 in Dumfries
634 reviews
19.2 km away
Trigony House Hotel
Trigony House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Closeburn
561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Concierge

Additional Information about Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: English St., Dumfries DG1 2DF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Dumfries
Price Range: $149 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairndale Hotel And Leisure Club
Cairndale Hotel Leisure
Cairndale Dumfries Hotel
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dumfries
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Hampshire
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Cairndale Hotel & Leisure Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“The room we stayed in was in annexe, in building next to main building and I think this was quieter and rooms appeared larger”
julietU9143VZ, 28 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room in the main building of the hotel”
118JamesS118, 27 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't take room 84 every floorboard squeaks exesively”
Safetraveler1956, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Superior rooms are spacious.”
Janetp8594wg, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Go for a special offer as they seem to do them regularly.”
Meziepie, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
TripAdvisor
US$114* /night
View Deal
Expedia.comUS$130
Hotels.comUS$130
AMOMAUS$248
View all 11 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates