We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,267 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,263: English reviews
Reviewed 3 days ago NEWvia mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and had a great time at the Smiths Hotel. The staff were all friendly and helpful, the hotel was clean and well presented and the food was yummy. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sally for your review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed all aspects of your recent stay. I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Smiths in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Booked a wedding package with Smiths for our special day on 13th August this year{my birthday} Second marriage for us both so just the two us decided to elope here and marry at The Old blacksmiths Shop . Wonderful day from start to finish. A most memorable day . Lovely hotel with beautiful room, good food and hospitality. Just a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janice S
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Janice for your detailed review, First and foremost, congratulations on your recent wedding! I am absolutely delighted to see that all aspects of your stay lived up to your expectations. Your kind comments have been shared with our hardworking team. I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Smiths in the near future. Kindest...

lytham
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a wonderful stay at the smiths hotel ...very friendly and delightful staff We got married at the old blacksmiths shop which was wonderful I had my hair done which I loved and was amazing .The only complaint I would say is I gad my makeup done and paid £12 to have false lashes put on ..The beautician used...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lisa f
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Lisa for your review, First and foremost, congratulations on your recent wedding! I am absolutely delighted to see that your big day went according to plan. Your feedback has been shared with the staff in Spoilt salon. I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Smiths in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Wanted to get my dinner fillet stake room service £4.00 to be taken to my room and that's alert spending 140 on drinks at the bar 4 star with 2 star thinking don't think I will be back. I just think the service is a bit bad for the money I have paid.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Duncan P
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Duncan for your review, As with many other hotels, we do employ a small tray charge when delivering room service. This is a standard charge, clearly stated on our menu and reiterated at the time of your order. I am disappointed to see this had such a negative impact on your recent stay. At Smiths we do our...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked at the last minute via the local tourist information office. We were returning home from near York and wanted somewhere near Gretna to spend one night. We were delighted with the room, the bed was extremely comfortable. Lovely roast meal on Sunday evening and a choice of cooked breakfast or continental breakfast the following morning. Excellent choice of fresh...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandie G
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Sandie for your review, I am absolutely delighted to see you enjoyed your first visit to our hotel! Your kind comments are greatly appreciated and have been shared with our hardworking team. I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back to Smiths in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

Drumnadrochit, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As on previous occasions I book in at Smith's on route and back to visit family back in Yorkshire. Again this visit did not disappoint. Greeted warmly at reception and a lovely comfortable room (22) on the first floor. Comfy surroundings and bed. Breakfast of freshly poached eggs was brilliant, hot tasty coffee and all staff very helpful from check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ABC123Wakefield
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay with us at Smiths! I hope to have an opportunity to personally welcome you back in the near future. Kindest Regards Duncan

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

One night stay on our way north to Aviemore. Very comfortable and well managed hotel with lovely staff. Food was excellent and the room was very comfortable. Accessibility was pretty good although there were some issues including placing as bath in the bathroom rather than a roll in shower. Overall, a nice place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Cambio2011
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your fist visit to Smiths! Your kind comments regarding our food, accommodation & service are all greatly appreciated. Should you be planning a future stopover, please do not hesitate to contact me direct. It would be my pleasure to personally secure you our fully featured accessible room (complete...

Wexford
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Arrived and payed for our room on arrival without seeing it first, which was a mistake. £316 for a twin room for 3 nights and there was a damp smell in the room and body hair in the bath. Phoned reception and told them the issue and asked to be moved. I was told that there were no other twin...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Amy K
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Amy for your review, I am disappointed to see you did not enjoy your recent stay with us at Smiths. With regard to the damp smell, I would like to apologise unreservedly for any inconvinience this may have caused. Unfortunately, due to difficult nature of the issue and our high occupancy, there were no immediate repairs or room...

dumfriesshire
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked for a Sunday lunch at Smiths and we were certainly not disappointed with our main course and dessert. The starter, pate, was nothing special and a very small portion. The main course was absolutely delicious and we will certainly return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank canadaDumfriesshire
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your recent Sunday roast! Your comments about our Pate are a little disappointing but I am confident we'll find a starter that better suits your tastes during your next visit! Kindest Regards Duncan

Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel with a warm welcoming reception. Restaurant food very good with staff a credit to the hotel. Stayed in a balcony room which was very spacious and wifi connection quick and responsive. Only one snag is that the furniture looked tired could do with a revamp. Other than that very enjoyable would love to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MDee2003
Duncan-GG, Guest Relations Manager at Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am delighted to see you enjoyed your recent stay! Your kind comments, particularly those about the service in our restaurant, are greatly appreciated. Fingers crossed it won't be too long before we see you again. Kindest Regards Duncan

692 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (334)
Viewed
Room/Suite (84)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (35)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (135)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (336)
Viewed
Amenities (73)
Viewed
Balcony Room (32)
Viewed
Bensmoor Cottage (28)
Viewed
Family Room (28)
Viewed
Dining (48)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (28)
Viewed
Suite (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (59)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gretna Green
1.4 km away
Greens at Gretna
Greens at Gretna
#2 of 5 in Gretna
325 reviews
0.2 km away
Gretna Hall
Gretna Hall
#2 of 4 in Gretna Green
845 reviews
1.1 km away
The Gables Hotel
The Gables Hotel
#1 of 5 in Gretna
807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
The Gretna Chase Hotel
1.2 km away
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
Days Inn Gretna Green M74
#3 of 4 in Gretna Green
359 reviews
1.1 km away
Hunters Lodge Hotel
Hunters Lodge Hotel
#4 of 5 in Gretna
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel

Address: Gretna Green DG16 5EA, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Gretna Green
Price Range: $159 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Hotel Gretna Green
Gretna Green Classic Hotel
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Smiths at Gretna Green Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Rooms to the back of the hotel are quite loud with the motorway directly outside”
 of 5 bubbles AmyK790, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“If you are going to get married, I would definitely get a suite”
 of 5 bubbles Nett0104, 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
“They have bungalows for disabled”
 of 5 bubbles 841dawnw, 29 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Comfortable bed, quiet room, food are great with a very reasonable price. Staff are very helpful except the rude receptionist named NIKKI.”
 of 5 bubbles 881cherylf, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“36 for a nice view”
 of 5 bubbles Elizt8, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay